We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect If You want to save your money for better things. Clean and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect If You want to save your money for better things. Clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Weren't sure how good it would be because it's SO much cheaper than everywhere else on the island. But it was great. Cindy showed us to a room round the back (the 'Red room') and although the bathroom is a bit ramshackle it doesn't matter at all as it's clean, new towels daily, hardly any bugs in there. Tv, air-con and fans. We had laundry done at $17 a bag. Asked Cindy about tours and she booked us a snorkeling tour instantly with SEAduced that afternoon; we were the only 2 so had our guide Silvan to ourselves (only bze$30 each), it was fantastic. There's a lovely pool and some chairs. They rent out golf carts as well! Brilliant find in San Pedro - thanks to Cindy! Backpackers (and everyone else's) Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megaphra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    143
    58
    17
    25
See reviews for
30
161
118
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Just in front of the hostel they have built a new hotel, it looks like a henhouse but it is definitively the best place for backpackers in San Pedro, it's clean, close the the beach (if you want a seaside room you got the pay at least twice the price) - keep in mind that it looks much better on internet pictures...as usual - but they haven't invest on water systems for toilets, I spend 5 days there's and it smell AWFUL, we have to think twice before going to the toilet. On the beging they say there was a problem with our room only, then we find out that the whole building had the same problem. We try to look for another place..but as I told you...for the same price you cannot find something good enough there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDMChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

I just returned from my 10th trip to Ambergris Caye. I was on a tight budget this time, so Pedro's Hotel special of $35/night plus tax, suited my needs perfectly.

I stayed in Room 9 in the new 30 room hotel - directly across the street from his bar and Backpacker Inn. This room is on the first floor.

What sold me on his hotel is the small pool to cool off, the great pizza and bar, and AC in the hotel rooms.

There were a few things that I had to adjust to in the room. 1) The strange floor paint (bubbles had erupted) that actually exfoliated the bottoms of your feet (a new spa treatment while you walk). 2) There was no light over the sink and mirror, just the celing fan light in the center of the room over the sleeping area (there was a light in the private bathroom). 3) The bedframe is super high. For me, an average height woman (5'5") I had to jump up to get on the bed. Since I was traveling alone, I had the second single bed to use as leverage to get on to the bed).

None of these issues were a big deal, and in no way took away from my experience.

Pedro is Pedro, he enjoys running his bar. Cindy is very helpful, although I wasn't in need of much since I've been visiting for many years. Walter is a sweety and you'll see him everywhere; building a fence, tending bar or cooking.

Thumbs up to Pedro for offering a great place to stay at a very affordable price. I was able to enjoy several day tours without going over budget. Thanks for the great week! Gela

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyGBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

The best part of this place is the pool. This might seem a bit silly, but the pool post-ocean swim is decent and makes your hair feel less gross.

We originally booked into one of the hostel rooms. When we showed up, Peter was pretty laid back, he didn't bother getting off the couch when some other dude led us up to him...in fact, our arrival seemed like a huge inconvenience . He didn't expect us...but he did remember he had my credit card information from booking. His aloof behaviour, as we realized after a few nights, was part of his charm. He talked us into staying in a room that was newly renovated (ie. under construction). When we first walked in we thought the floor water coated with soapy water. We soon realized it was the paint finish. The room was hot and had no ventilation or breeze what-so-ever. After two nights there we moved over to 'The Blue Room'. And were very pleased. It was a lot more comfortable. If you can afford 45 American, then go with this room. If not, get another room and just deal with the heat. Ambergris is beautiful. Go to the north part of the island on a bike ride!

At one point, the lights in the first room stopped working and when we notified Peter, he sighed, uttered a few curse word, disappeared for ten minutes and came back with a pack of bulbs. He is quite the character.

The Sports Bar was nice. Peter kept on promising us pizza..... No pizza.

Stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

great place to stay in s.pedro and save money, all the personal is perfect and can satisfied all your requests!...and very good pizza (word of an italian guy!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliverosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of the Pecos, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

I just finished a week in San Pedro staying at Pedro's. Peter, no relation to San Pedro (I'm guessing) is the owner and he is a charming combination of Jimmy Buffet and Donald Trump. Cindy will be your go-to girl for anything during your stay. She's not going to try to flog any tours or services, but whatever you are interested in, she can arrange--diving, snorkeling, fishing, etc.

I stayed in the Hotel which is across the street from the Bar/Hostel. You have to understand that in San Pedro there are very few bargains to be had. There are resorts, and there are dumps, And then there is Pedro's Hotel, where you get a better room than some of the "resorts" for less than some of the "dumps." The whole place is scrupulously clean--and I am picky. The hot water is hot. The a/c is cold.

The bar is awesome! Hosting a great mix of laid back locals and guests, there is just no way to describe the good vibe I got there. Great pizza and shrimp, too! Great for the solo traveler.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric-from-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Easily the best bargain in San Pedro. The owners are very friendly and helpful giving advice and setting up trips. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and sit atop a great bar with good food. It's a popular place to meet up with other young travelers passing through Belize. I had a great time there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#8 of 31 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Property: Pedro's Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing