We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go ahead and book... You won't regret it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go ahead and book... You won't regret it!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

After having spent 5 nights in one of the best hotels on Ambergris Caye (courtesy of a wealthy friends husband!) I had to find something on the island within my budget which is tough there, as it is generally very expensive. I found Pedro's on hotels.com and, as it was well priced, went ahead and booked. I was worried about the transition from five star but I needn't have been. Not only was everyone so much more friendly than where I had been, the beds were really comfortable and the showers were as good if not better in terms of heat and water pressure. Both massively important elements to me personally. I was also pleasantly surprised when Peter personally booked my flight off the island and arranged to have me taken to the airport on a golf buggy. Totally unexpected within the price I paid. I would highly recommend Pedro's if you are travelling on a budget. Now i only wish I had stayed a bit longer and tried the pizzas! 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    145
    60
    17
    25
See reviews for
31
164
119
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

After travelling in Mexico and Guatemala the prices in Belize and particularly Amberghis Caye were a shock. Pedros is a well priced hotel in an expensive resort. The formula is just what you need - very clean (daily maid service with clean towels), hot showers and a comfortable bed. Air on was efficient if you needed it. The bar is welcoming and serves great pizzas. There is a nice pool area with loungers. Without exception the staff are very helpful and can book snorkel,trips, hire bikes (a bit rusty) and ferry tickets.
Top tip - go to Ramons Vilage nearby for the best beach and great smoothies. You can use the loungers for the price of a drink.
A very peaceful stay for a couple of more mature backpackers.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge. Ours was in the room before we could get back to it! Excellent service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I am returning to Pedro's 4th yr. All i can say is come see it, stay a night (Or two) and make up your own mind. Best thing is the staff.better than most so called 5 star i have stayed in. Cindy, Walter, Gloria and her girls,and even Peter. The bar is just fun, Holem'Poker Room, and last but not least, the best dam Pizza on the Island.Going in Feb.2013, glad i booked early,but Peter always seems to find away.

Room Tip: All rooms are almost the same, you get the bed configuration you need. Oh Kids loved there. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldtimer1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Me and a couple of friends stayed here for a week during our gap year and it was fantasic. Great staff and friendly atmosphere. They lay on some awesome trips for you and the scuba diving in this area is some of the best ive ever done. The pool is a little small but its not a problem with the sea so close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked to stay for 5 days & ended up staying for 2 weeks in the hotel. This place is great. The rooms are VERY basic...(bring your own wash cloth) but CLEAN. They are cleaned daily and housekeeping does a really great job. The AC works really well too.

The location is great. It's only a block to the beach, and a couple blocks from downtown. We walked almost everywhere.

All the staff are great, very helpful, knowledgeable & will even take you out into the town. They will also book all your trips for you! We rented bikes from them and a golf cart too. They booked all our snorkeling trips for us as well as our trip to the mainland. They have a list there at the hotel of all the excusions. They really go out of their way to accommodate their guests. They really want your Belize experience to be a great one.

Wifi access, that we used by the pool every morning and usually evening. It was a nice way to begin and end the day lounging by the pool and checking in on facebook... lol.

The staff is fantastic. They go out of their way to make sure you're happy and comfortable. And they're just cool, down to earth people. We kind of felt like extended family when we left. Maybe that's because we spent so much time in the bar :) Fun place!!! Great food! Not "bar" food... really good food. The first night we had lobster! It was excellent! They also have really good shrimp! They will also go out of their way to accommodate any "food" requests that you have. After eating out for over a week all I really wanted was some clean "grilled' fish and a salad... the owner (Peter) called and placed an order for fish for that evening....... I had grilled fish and salad that night. Amazing... what hotel does that? Mine did! :) Kisses, Peter! Thank you!

Also a "not to miss" is their pizza. Best on the Island. I'm not even a pizza person... and LOVED it! Wow! Great pizza!

If you're looking for a great place to stay in Belize, in a great location close to town, this is the place.

Thank you to all the staff who made our vacation so special. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Horrible place --construction of 2 story going on while I was there --no room internet access- pool was filthy leaves and sawdust and pump not working-nails all over the ground with the construction going on--Noisy-- bathroom deplorable-- Cannot flush tissue paper down toilet sign says to put used tissue paper in trash can---unsanitary-the owner Peter Lawrence a complete idiot-no wifi in rooms--noisy -after seeing the dump I tried to cancell and get money back for 3 day stay and was told no problem but was still charged on credit card and Peter lawrence renigged oin his word =-- would not stay in this dump -- $ 20dollars more get you a nice condo room on the beach---

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60864Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedrosInn, Owner at Pedro's Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about this experience. We are even more sorry that you did not inform us of the issues you had at any time during your stay, as we would have done everything we could to rectify the situation for you. While it’s true there has been construction recently both our rooms and pool are maintained at the highest level of cleanliness. Wifi is not available in most rooms, and is not advertised as such.

We ask guests not to flush paper products because the community sewer system cannot properly handle paper products, and you will find that most accommodations in San Pedro (along with 99% of Central America) asks the same – from 5 star resorts to budget hotel like ours. We don’t advertising wifi being available in the rooms.

As we told you, since you booked your stay through an online agency, you must deal with the company that you booked through when seeking a refund. You did not tell us that you were leaving, and then subsequently called yelling and swearing at the owner. You told the owner that you told ‘a girl’ that you were leaving when we don’t have any females working in a position to be told. Our general manager has been off on maternity leave for the last 2 months. We would have been happy to work with you if we could have gotten a straight answer from you through all of your cursing and yelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Will come back and stay here. Nice staff, good food in the bar and very willing to make your stay enjoyable! The owner is English and was a good host. They have a pool which made for a nice start to the day. What I saved in my room, I spent on great excursions. They can hook you up too with that! A splendid holiday all round!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elan5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Property: Pedro's Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing