We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd stay--Another Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2nd stay--Another Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

The first time I stayed here was for six weeks but this past time was only for a bittersweet short two weeks. Firstly, the staff is wonderful: Cindy and Peter are very welcoming, selfless people who will answer to any request you have. Walter--what isn't great about Walter? Wonderful local who will point you out to the best restaurants and bars. Is also willing to take you to them on the golf cart! This was my first time meeting Paul, but he was also a pleasure. He even opened the office after it was closed for my convienence. Mary and Victor are also amazing employees. The staff is reall what makes this such a memorable stay.

The Inn is the cheapest place on the island and has everything you need while on your trip. Peter has also made several upgrades since last year (security cameras, wall decor, TV, end table, and lamp). Housekeeping is very trustworthy. I've had my laptop, Ipod, Iphone, and other valuables and nothing has ever been taken or mistreated. Overall, I have nothing bad to say about Pedro's and would choose them over a resort anyday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    145
    60
    17
    25
See reviews for
31
164
120
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WInchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had an amazing time at Pedro's hotel. Staff was amazing (especially Cindy), made us feel very welcome and went above and beyond any requests we had. Rooms were very comfortable and even better, fantastically priced! We really enjoyed the scuba diving and there were loads of things to do on the island. A real unforgettable trip of a lifetime ;0)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annadekretser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llantwit major, wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a few times as I'm a keen scuba diver and I think the value for money it offers is great ! There's loads to do on the island and the staff at pedros can help you with any of the trips you want to do !

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverdean5814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Everyone's so helpful with excursions, giving directions to places and helping u do whatever u please while on the island. Not only is the staff wonderful but also other travelers who stay st Pedro's inn are very fun!! Pool table, poker room, the bar, swimming pOol and hammocks. Best place to stay in Belize by far!!! Wendy

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyRay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I wish I could write good reviews like everyone else, and quite frankly I do not know how pedros got mostly good reviews unless most people didn't meet the owner.

The manager was the first and only rude person we came across in Belize, an English man named peter. we had the most rude welcoming from the very pompous owner, who made us feel as if we should bow down to his crappy service and behaviour. He squashed three of us into one twin room, our 3 suitcases couldn't even fit in the room so we had to move furniture into the bathroom. He told us he was going to put a fridge in our room. A day had passed and I went to ask him when will it be put in the room. The man then went on to shout at me saying I have attitude! He then went on and on about how I should be grateful to get a fridge as its not part of the service, he then went on to correct me on how I should have asked for the fridge! I barely got in an edge way to say I didn't ask in a bad way and he then interrupted me saying how he has thirty years of experience of dealing with attitude and the tone in my voice was edgy and how he doesn't appreciate it!

I was so disgusted by how he spoke to me, he ruined my day. I didn't pay all that money to be treated like a child being wrongfully told off by a pompous teacher. He is a very rude and disrespectful man that I tried to avoid for my whole stay. You can't complain about the rude service to the manager in this hotel because the rude service is coming from the manager. It's a hit or miss if you meet him. Best to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nutmeg321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
I would like to take a moment to respond personally to this review. There are a number of inaccuracies that need to be addressed about your stay with us at Pedro's Hotel.

1. You requested that the 3 of you stay in one room. It's disingenuous to complain after the fact about something that you asked for. All of our rooms are the same size and layout, so we can only do so much when 3 people request to be in the same room. And if you felt squashed in the room before receiving your fridge (which is not standard in any of our hotel rooms), I can't imagine how you felt after the fridge was placed in the room for you.

2. We offered to move you from Pedro's Hotel to another resort in order to accommodate you better, which you refused.

3. All of the staff went out of our way for you in multiple regards, and asked you every day you were with us if there was anything we could do to improve your stay. None of these issues where brought up to any of our staff.

4. You say the owner was rude which maybe he was but only as you walked into his office complaining about stuff that had nothing to do with him or the hotel but somehow it was deemed by you that he should be personally for all your woes and troubles.

We also fixed multiple issues for you that had nothing to do with your stay here, and helped to organize your travels elsewhere, where you repeatedly complained about a lack of service in every regard. Apparently it wasn't just Pedro's Hotel that you have an issue with. We provided detailed instructions and bookings for your travel by water taxi and bus to San Ignacio, which you disregarded. We cannot be held responsible if you choose not to follow the advice provided, and have issues with your hotel bookings elsewhere (which we had nothing to do with).

It seems that the entire country of Belize was not to your personal satisfaction. Unfortunately in a case like this there is nothing we could have done to make your stay an enjoyable one. You, and your two colleagues, are the only students from the organization that planned your trip that did not have a great time with us, as the organizer of your trip has assured us. As you seem to have even more issues that that organization than you do with Pedro’s, it leaves the impression that your review is more to attempt to gain a refund on the entire program than it is an actual problem with your stay at Pedro’s Hotel.

We always endeavour to make every guest feel welcome and taken care of. While we are not perfect, if there are ever issues, we do our upmost to fix them immediately when we are made aware of them. As you can see from other reviews, the level of service provided to our guests by our staff members is one of the defining characteristics or Pedro’s, and most guests are surprised at the level of service provided by a budget lodging option. If at any time you had made us aware of your issues we could have fixed them immediately. Unfortunately that did not happen in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed at Pedro's for 5 nites in a private hostel room with shared bathroom. The room is very basic with 2 single beds, a fan and glass shuttered window with screen. Pedro's has a small pool with nice lounge chairs, an area with hammocks under the trees, a pool table, small restaurant, poker room and bar. They rents bikes and kayaks, and have cold and hot drinks for sale in their office. I would recommend this place if you want an inexpensive clean basic room so that you can drop your money on other past-times like diving..pick up for diving is right across the street at the pier!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robincpcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great place. Nice people, nice bar, clean rooms and good pizza. Cindy is great in replying to your emails and reserving your room. You won't miss your early diving trips since its proximity to the airport wakes you at the exact time you want. I think its a plus to the hotel. If you're a cry baby take some earplugs, otherwise enjoy. Checked out early so I could visit some Mayan ruins and got a partial refund since other people checked in. Stay at Pedro's and dive more. No regrets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Property: Pedro's Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing