We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“belize, eco-Tourism or Eco-Disaster? Read about Xanadu and San Pedro!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“belize, eco-Tourism or Eco-Disaster? Read about Xanadu and San Pedro!”
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We arrived at San Pedro in a light airplane (10 seater?) which was great fun, however as soon as we got into the taxi to take us to the hotel, my heart sank! We were hoping San Pedro would be the highlight of our Belize holiday (see our reviews on Pooks Hills and Hidden Valley Inn) however Ambergris Caye was anything but the unspoilt Island we expected.

As we drove to the hotel, we notice that every square inch of land is either being built upon or up for sale for development. It reminded me of the Costa Brava in the 1970s.

We did then arrive at Xanadu Resort Hotel. It's a nice small hotel with a beautiful pool area and we were fortunate in having one of the rooms overlooking the sea. It was well equipped and nice and clean. Whilst we spent a week there, our highlights were the fishing/snorkelling and visiting the small town itself.

The service at the hotel was good, however they appeared very put out when we wold them we'd booked our own fishing/snorkelling trips (saving ourselves about 25% against their costs).

The resort is at risk of ridiculous over-development and whilst the pictures you'll see of the hotels are accurate, what they wont show you are the building sites surrounding every hotel and the filth everywhere where all the rubbish collects. I was shocked when I asked what I could put in recycling that they said 'Nothing'! Apparently it all gets dumped on the island?
When we were snorkelling we came across a load of buidling blocks dumped in the sea.

If you're going to San Pedro, go soon, as it wont be worth visiting in 5 years time. What a shame. Eco-Disaster I'm afraid.

  • Liked — Location/ well equipped / lovely views / nice pool
  • Disliked — Not particularly classy / keen to get you to take their tours rather than self booking.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuartJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduIslandResort, Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2007
We are so happy to hear that this reviewer as most of our reviewers has agreed that Xanadu is a nice small hotel. It is true that the island is experiencing a major boom as most of the Caribbean Islands are. Almost every website you visit to research your trip will mention the new properties that are being built. Progress is indeed a necessary evil and while we all look back to the nostalgic days of a small fishing village the demand has fed this progress. We are happy that San Pedro is not like other mega resort areas and as such you do not have a concrete jungle of high rises, fast food chains and discos to deal with. San Pedro still retains its small town charm and Xanadu, located just south of town remains small, quiet and casual.

We would like to address the reviewers comment about booking tours direct. We do not mind guests booking their tours directly should they wish. At Xanadu however we only work with reputable and licensed tour operators who use reliable and safe equipment and licensed staff. We do not charge our guests any more than the tour operators published rates and offer the convenience of billing the tours right to the guest’s room. In addition we know where our guests are and when we can expect them back to the resort safe and sound. Most of our guests that book tours direct realize that our primary concern is for their safety and will let us know who they are going out with and when we should expect them back. This is very important. Please always remember that you get what you pay for. If you bargain shop for tours, specifically dangerous sports such as diving, make sure you are going out with a reputable company with licensed guides and properly maintained equipment. Or for your convenience and peace of mind, just inquire at the Front Desk. Also note that we will not book tours for our guests if we have been advised by our safe and reputable tour operators that the weather is too dangerous. There are operators looking for a quick buck who will take you out, but the safety of our guests is our number one concern.

One other comment, where the reviewer states “The resort is at risk of ridiculous over-development…”, we assume that he/she meant to write, “The island is at risk of ridiculous over-development…” as they stated earlier in their posting that Xanadu is “a nice small hotel”. Xanadu is a very nice small hotel with only 18 suites. Over-development at Xanadu will never be an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
330
565
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Just returned from a four night stay at Xanadu. First off the service is top notch, Sue, Martin and Stacey were great scheduling trips and answereing questions. The Pool area is fantastic, the view from the dock is great as well. We stayed in room 14 which is a three bedroom. The air-conditioning worked great, the kitchen was nice but the furnishings and the bathroom were average at best. The sofas and bed were lumpy. The other rooms we could look into did look nicer, and it is possible we were in the worst room b/c we booked only three weeks in advance. We did two days of diving and the dive operaters they hooked us up with were great (Ecologic and Aqua Dives). Overall I would stay there again but there were other places that looked better.

  • Liked — The service was excellent
  • Disliked — The furnishings were average at best
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hartnet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2007

My husband and I got married at Xanadu in May 07. We stayed there for a week, along with several guests from US, Brazil and England. The staff were absolutely fantastic, the place is a beauty. Comfortable, relaxing, clean, romantic - you named it. The ceremony and party were all arranged via email, with final touches once we arrived. The management at Xanadu made everything so extremelly easy and beautiful, we couldn't ask for more. It is now August and our friends and family still talk about the Resort. What else to say?? Would go back there every other week, if I could.

  • Liked — The service and the ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marisol-Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Stacy and Martin were great! Very helpful setting up diving and snorkeling - the tour operators were outstanding. Room was very clean and extremely comfortable. Perfect location - easy walk to restaurants and into San Pedro. The pool area is beautiful and the view of the sea is breathtaking...

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valwillms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We felt like this was the perfect place to stay on the island. It's not too far from San Pedro, but far enough away that it's quiet (no airplanes, no crowds). The pool area is small, but very pretty, and there's a lovely pier/palapa where we brought out cocktails every night. Stacey and Martin were extremely helpful in booking tours and restaurants, as well as providing information about the island. (They even arranged a delivery of a case of beer for us.) If we ever make it back to the island, we would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Liked — Beautiful pool area.
  • Disliked — Rooms are fine, but not spectacular.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Xanadu was the perfect place to stay on Ambergris. Just far enough from the main part of town to be peaceful, but close enough to not be isolated. We brought our 4 year old daughter and she had a fantastic time swimming, picking up hermit crabs, looking for lizards, petting the cats... The rooms are very well equipped and groceries are available just outside gates. We mostly interacted with Stacey and Martin and they were very helpful booking tours etc. We will definitely return.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank drlandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Our visit to Xanadu was the second leg our of vacation in Belize. Su and Stacey are wonderful and very helpful. We so enjoyed getting to know them - they definitely made our trip wonderful. We renewed our wedding vows for our 10th anniversary - they both made our day very special - just a special as when we originally got married. We had a beautiful ceremony in the late afternoon along side the water. They set up a beautiful arbor and outlined the "stage" with conch shells and orchids.

Stacey and Su were both helpful in arranging dive trips for us - no problems and easy pickup on the Xanadu pier. We dove with Ecologic Divers - really enjoyed this group more than Amigos Del Mar - felt like we had a more personal experience.

We enjoyed the use of the free bicycles - rode all the way north on the island - quite an adventure riding on beach and take a dip in the ocean to cool off. We also enjoyed the use of the free kayaks - nice diversion one afternoon.

We had No. 6 - an upstairs loft - the room was nice and the kitchen set up worked well. There are 2 local markets that we were able to buy food for breakfasts and lunches. Our only concern with this particular room was the refrigerator cycling on and off - seemed a bit loud and woke us up a few times during the night. Otherwise, absolutely no complaints.

The cost of the cab ride to and from the airport are part of your room charge - good to know especially coming from the airport - we paid the taxi driver when Xanadu would have - Stacey reimbursed us the $5 - no big deal - just good to know.

We thoroughly enjoyed a stay at Xanadu and can't wait to return!

  • Liked — Small resort, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing