We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

Susan, Stacey, Ninja, Alex, Robert etc. etc...the entire staff were just wonderful. We were married at Xanadu and Susan arranged a perfect wedding. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is awesome, and the staff are the best. I would recommend Xanadu to anyone interested in coming to San Pedro. We looked at a number of resorts during our stay and Xanadu is by far and away the most peaceful and convenient. They don't have a bar. At first I thought this was going to be a drag but honestly it makes the place so much better - no stragglers. Buy your booze from the provisioning store or drop into one of the local bars nearby. It's like being in a secluded little resort in the middle of San Pedro (which is mighty hard to find). We walked to downtown nearly everynight and had a great time. And take Susan's advice on the tours. We took two of them and they were both better than anything else we found in Belize. After two weeks of touring The Cayo and Placencia we missed her tender, loving care. Enough? Stay here. Seriously.

  • Liked — The Staff, the location, well the whole thing.
  • Disliked — not a thing.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jmullenla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
318
554
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

What a GREAT resort! The hospiatlity was wonderful and warm. Every detail was handled with ease all the way from scheduling our stay to booking our excursions. The resort was pristine, very clean and welcoming. The staff was excellent! We would definitley visit again and would highly recommend Xanadu to anyone planning a vacation in San Pedro!! Thanks for a wonderul time! It was a trip we'll cherish for a lifetime!

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelbug205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2007

I recently returned from my first trip to Belize and had the great fortune of staying at Xanadu Resorts. I cannot thank Susan and Stacy enough for the amazing treatment, hospitality, and charm they offered. While Xanadu does not have a restaurant or bar onsite, it is close enough to all of those, and it offers a quiet and relaxing retreat from the party of Ambergris Caye. I would definitely stay here again and cannot recommend this resort highly enough!! These guys really went above and beyond and the accomodations were incredibly comfortable, clean and impeccably maintained.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jmitchla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

My family just returned from a great visit to San Pedro. Xanadu Resort was a great choice for lodging. The rooms were great and well-tended, the grounds and pool were extremely comfortable and inviting, and all of the staff were wonderful. We felt very well cared for there, a part of the community. It was great to have everything you might need taken care of by the very capable staff at Xanadu (Stacey, Susan, Robert and everyone!), whether it was arranging for tours, suggesting and securing dinner reservations, getting a golf cart, biking, or kayaking. We would definitely return to both Amerbrigs Caye and Xanadu.

  • Liked — The Staff and the Ambience
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COTourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

This IS a nice place to stay. On the beach, with a small private pool, complimentary bicycles, a short walk to San Pedro and a pleasant and generally helpful staff.

It doesn't compare to the Banyan Bay resort (where I've stayed) a couple of doors south, however. Not as spacious, as luxurious, or as new. Nor does it have a beach front restaurant -- a mixed blessing, to be sure.

So what's keeping me from waxing poetic about Xanadu?

Two things:

1. I felt like the mantra was maximize revenue or control costs, or both. Guess I'd rather pay an extra $25 a day and not be charged $3 US for the use of fins for a half day, or for local phone calls, or be threatened with a $20 US charge if a beach towel isn't returned. I understand the resort is in business to make a profit -- and have no problem with that -- and that controlling costs is good business. But when that seems to be the focus, well...just doesn't sit right with me.
2. Lack of information. We booked a trip to the mainland -- and shame on us for not asking two important questions: how long will it take to get there (which means it will take that long to get back) and how much time will we spend doing what we're paying to do? We left at 7 am and returned at 6:20 pm. In between, we were taken on a quick tour of the ruins (our tour guide told us he was told to hurry!) and we did a quick 29 minute tube ride through an underground river (during which our guide exhorted the group to "paddle faster" because the river was running slowly.) All told, we traveled almost 9 hours (2 by boat and 7 by crowded, semi-airconditioned "van') for right at two hours of activity, plus a hurried lunch. When we arrived at the cave tubing site, we were informed (for the first time) that we would be fording a river and would need to wear shoes to do so. We declined to wear our running shoes for this purpose...and were seriously considering abandoning the cave tubing when lo and behold! we learned we could rent water shoes for $5 (BZ) a pair. Suffice to say the "shoes" had soles, if little more. Total cost for this trip for four: $750. When I complained about the day long trip the next morning via the resort's feedback form, Stacey promptly and voluntarily deducted 20% of the charge. I promised to provide her with more details (I had described the trip as "dreadful") because I think the tour operator (Suya) is responsible for the hurry, hurry. I fault the resort for not telling us about the trip details...but then I didn't ask, either, did I?

The staff is pleasant; the resort is neat and clean; the facilities are comfortable; and the guests seem to be either older couples or younger folks with youngsters...if I hear "marco/polo marco/polo" from anywhere near a swimming pool one more time in my lifetime, it will be once too many!

So would I return? Maybe. Would I discourage others from Xanadu? No. Tepid seems to be the word.

  • Liked — beach location
  • Disliked — a bit cramped...but who wants to stay inside in belize?
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2jbsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

We stayed at the Xanadu for a week in one of their one bedroom apartments. The staff (Stacey especially) were very helpful and always willing to advise us on trips and where to eat. The accomodations were very clean and comfortable. We shall go back. The only negative I could find was the cushions on the poolside chairs were a little thin and after sitting a reading by the hour by the pool my bum got a little sore. Life should always be this hard :-) if you need a taxi ask for Lelo - he is great.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TomPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

From the friendly/helpful staff (Susan, Martin, Stacey) to the great groundskeeper (Alex), to the comfortable large units, wonderful pool and great location on the beach...we couldn't have asked for anything more.

The bikes they provide are in great condition (including a basket for your purchases in town). We couldn't take advantage of the kayaks or snorkel gear as it seems to be white-capping every day...but appreciate the fact it was all provided without additional charge. The book exchange in the office "library" was nice as I found I had more time to read and not enough books!

Modern applicances, plenty of hot water (and water pressure), internet connectivity (for those that have to stay in touch), porch furniture, palm trees for shade, it all made for lovely, relaxing stay.

On a side note, food is very expensive, even at the local markets. If you plan on eating in, you might want to bring along non-perishables, coffee/tea/lemonade, chips, breakfast foods, pasta, package sauces, etc. When gone, it leaves you room to carry back your purchases!

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, close to beach, nice pool, walk to town.
  • Disliked — Nothing...no complaints at all.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Catalina42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
8.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing