We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xanadu and Belize a perfect match!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank melindsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank beanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank remi123446789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Stayed: August 2006
12  Thank MsGCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank carrera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Travelguy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

We decided to stay at Xanadu in our 4 night stay in San Pedro after doing alot of research. The other resorts we considered are: Ramon's, Captain Morgans, Victoria House & Journey's End. While in San Pedro, we made sure we checked and toured those resorts as well and decided we are very happy with our decision in staying at Xanadu.

The good points: 1) Interesting architecture, they have employed the MONOLITHIC DOME ARCHITECTURE which have been tested to be hurricane/tornado proof. It also enables the rooms to breath in a way that the temperature inside is more than desirable. It also renders it to be considered a GREEN BUILDING for those travelers who are concerned about the environment. 2) The rooms are very clean and well maintained. They have a welcome package of a jug of drinking water, coffee, sugar, etc. Everything you might need in a kitchen is there. 3) The showers work well! 4) The location is of great convenience to everything. 5) Free bikes and kayaks!!! 6) They are good in booking tours for you. 7) The staff in the resort are all very friendly and quite knowledgeable. 8) They have a nice pool and I love the hammocks!

The less than good things to keep in mind: 1) Mosquitoes everywhere (Belize in general is full of mosquitoes!) specially in the resort office. Keep in mind to spray bug spray before coming near that office. The biggest bites I have had happenned while booking a tour in the office. 2) NO restaurant or bar in that resort, hence the full service kitchen in each suite. Although there is a grocery by the resort entrance. And since they are conveniently located near town, you can just try the myriad of restaurants that are good but quite expensive. 3) The beach is not for snorkling nor swimming (this applies to all of Ambergris though).

As long as you come vist Belize for the right reasons... such as: adventure, scuba diving, snorkling off shore and not expect to go there for culture or the beach, then you would absolutely love it! Well, ecept for the mosquitoes. Be DEET ready!

8  Thank Jhoiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduIslandResort, Susan Glaze, Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2006

After reading the two reviews dated Aug 9th, I thought I'd drop a quick line to let everyone know we've recently enclosed AND airconditioned our front office so no more mosquitos!! My apologies to those of you who were "eaten alive" while booking your tours. Also a quick thanks to everyone for your support on this medium. We do appreciate hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay with us! Looking forward to seeing our old friends and making some new ones at Xanadu! Susan Glaze, Manager, Xanadu Island resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 55 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
484 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $353 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing