We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time at Xanadu!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A Great Time at Xanadu!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We spent two weeks at Xanadu in May 2008 and had the best time! The resort itself was absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The staff made sure it looked that way the entire time we were there. The service at the resort was fantastic. We got to know everyone on a first-name basis and when time came to leave, we felt we were leaving family behind.

One of the nicest things about Xanadu is that you don't have to have all of your activities planned before you arrive at the resort. Just go to their full-service tour desk and they'll help plan your day for you. They had prices and descriptions of various activities in your suite as well as at the office for you to review. It was easy and everyone (Stacey, Ingrid and Susan) was so friendly and helpful, offering suggestions and tips as to where to go and what to do.

The maintenance crew was very friendly and helpful. We became good friends with Orlando and Alex. One day we mentioned to Orlando that we wanted to taste fresh coconut. He was able to get one down from a tree, opened it up and let us taste the coconut milk and the fresh coconut. (The coconut milk was especially good in our pina coladas!). Thanks Orlando!!!

We went fishing one day with John Murray. We barbecued the fish one evening and invited staff over to enjoy a barbecue. Not everyone was able to attend, but Martin, Stacey, Ingrid and Orlando were able to come and we had a great evening.

Hopefully one day we'll return for another vacation at Xanadu so we can revisit our friends.

  • Liked — Friendly, professional staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Redding-Retirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
345
573
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We just returned from a two week long stay in Belize and could not have been happier with the Xanadu resort. The first week we spent diving on the Sun Dancer II, and the second relaxing and lounging around San Pedro. The last day on the live-aboard was cut short due to the first tropical storm of the season, and lucky for us - Xanadu was able to accommodate the four of us a day early (with a complementary room upgrade so we would not have to switch during our stay! )

The resort has a great pool area, access to bikes/kayaks, free internet access, and on-site laundry. The rooms are nicely decorated and kept spotless by housekeeping.

The kitchens are well equipped if you like to cook and there is a supermarket at the entrance to the resort. If you prefer to eat out there are plenty of options within easy walking distance of the property. They do not have a bar/restaurant on-site, which means lots of peace and quiet.

We walked around a fair bit and all agreed the Xanadu was the nicest property on the island.

All tours/golf carts can be booked through the resort and can be added to the room bill (very convenient). We did the snorkeling tour with Alfonse: Highly recommended- if the weather had been better I would have gone back to Hol Chan to dive the site, but even just snorkeling was fantastic.

We also booked a dive with Ecological divers. I was not impressed with the operation- they were disorganized at the dock, late getting out, and all divers were treated the same as the two novices on the boat. The conditions were not great due to the storm and may have been a factor, but the hand-holding was a bit much. I will try another dive shop next time.

I don't know if I will go back to Belize anytime soon (so many places to go...), but If I do It will be to stay at the Xanadu Resort.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Velour99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My daughter and I recently stayed at Xanadu for 3 nights, and really did not want to leave. It was beautiful!!! Awesome location; very helpful and friendly staff; fantastic accomodations--I could go on and on! We usually go someplace different every year for vacation, but are considering returning to Belize again next year just to stay at Xanadu. The resort also offers a very nice selection of tours. Ask about the snorkeling trip to Hol Chan and Shark-Ray Alley with Alfonse. It was amazing!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank syoungUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Four of us stayed at Xanadu in May. All I can say is that everything went perfectly.The winds even laid down so we could make the 3 hour boat trip to the Blue Hole and do three dives. The staff has all the answers and will assist you with everything you need. The resort is well maintained and is beautiful. It is also secluded from the main road and from town. Everyone has a golf cart and access to San Pedro is best by either boat or golf cart. Rentals are available on-site.

Bottom line ---- I can think of nothing that we were lacking.

  • Liked — Location, pool and landscaping
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2008

After my 1st stay at Xanadu in October, 2006 I was so impressed by the property, the staff, and the overall experience that I returned in October, 2007 and have just booked a 3rd stay for this year. I can't say enough about how helpful and friendly the office staff is---Stacey, Susan, and Martin are ready to answer any questions, give recommendations on restaurants, tours, spa visits, make all of your reservations; in general go out of their way to make you feel like a valued guest and that it is important to them that you enjoy your stay. The individually decorated units have absolutely everything you could want for your stay. I have stayed at Xanadu with my husband and another couple, as a "girlfriend getaway" and by myself because I could not bear to leave --- and each time had an equally wonderful time. The pool area is beautiful, private, and quiet--feels like your own little slice of paradise. I have read several reviews that say all that is missing is a bar--please don't ever ruin the peace and quiet of the pool at Xanadu by changing a thing! It's wonderful to be able to walk a short way down the beach to a bar, restaurant, go into town to shop, etc and then come back to relax in a peaceful setting with only the breeze thru the palms and the sounds of the ocean and birds as background noise. I know that Xanadu has many repeat guests and during my 1st stay there it became obvious why-- it is a beautiful setting, the units are like a home away from home, and the staff will quickly make you feel like part of the Xanadu family.

  • Liked — The pool area, the private patio/veranda for each unit
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marcas43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

I had read so many reviews on Xanadu before we went down to Belize and I was so excited to go there since 99 percent of all people who had written reviews were so positive in their descriptions of the resort and their experiences there. The only down side to reading as many positive reviews is that you have the niggling worry that no place could live up to everything people were saying and we would come away disappointed in some way.

Well, it turned out to be a completely unfounded worry! Even before we left Canada we had been emailing Xanadu with questions with regards to diving excursions, how to obtain groceries, how to get around the island, and more mundane things in regard to necessary vaccinations, the monetary units used, etc. Always and amazingly I would get a response and complete information from either Susan or Stacy within hours. They were so quick to help and were a well of information, taking away in minutes any concerns we had. Both of them are terrific at their job and sincerely nice as well.

The resort is beautiful, and set in a tranquille natural setting just a fifteen minute walk south of the island town of San Pedro. It is a quiet oasis and for those of you wanting a place to relax it is perfect. The rooms were absolutely lovely, have everything you could possibly need, and always kept spotless. The only critique we ever heard was that Xanada didn't have a restaurant or lounge on site. This amazes us that anyone would complain about this, in that they are only a few minutes walk along a beautiful beach from some really great restaurants and bars. By not having a lounge they keep it a place of relaxation for those who want to enjoy the beauty of the setting, relaxing by the pool, or reading on your patio overlooking the ocean and the reef. There were many other nights however that we got dressed, walked up the beach and/or took a cart into town and had some great meals. We'd recommend:

Elvi's - Jamaican Jerk Pit - Terrific Jamaican food and fun on a Wednesday night when they have a Reggae Band playing as well. Reasonably priced too.

The Sunset Grill was amazingly good, Martin, the Resort Manager and resident computer Guru (thanks for all the help Martin!), recommended it. The seafood there was amazing.

My personal favourite however was going to the Palapa Bar and Grill for pulled pork sandwiches, 14 hour baked beans, and a couple of beer in a fun atmosphere right over the ocean...you KNOW your in Central American and loving it! Thanks to Stacy for THAT tip :).

My husband loves to dive and had eight dives all together including some tunnel dives and he was in heaven. Again all the people at the resort knew who the best people to book with were and made all the arrangements, and you got picked up right out front on the pier. Easy. He said the people at EcoLogic Divers were about the most professional he'd ever gone diving with. Thanks to all of them for making it such a great experience.

Is Ambergris Caye a place to go if you want singles bars and wild night life, probably not, but if you want a vacation where the people are incredibly friendly, the island is still relatively unspoiled and truly beautiful, and a place where you are not being hounded by people always trying to sell you something, this is a piece of heaven.

Thank you so much to everyone there, Martin, Susan, Stacy (a fellow Canadian :), Alex - (gardener extraordinaire since the beginning), Orlando - jack of all trades :) (and somebody who made us both feel very much at home by always being so willing to answer our questions, and telling us stories of Belizean life), Shelly who kept our condo immaculate and always had a minute to smile and chat, Ingrid who works out of the office and helped us so much in the little things you need to keep your holiday running smooth, and John.

Helpful?
3 Thank Willowee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed at Xanadu for the first time in February 2007 and had such a great time rebooked for April 2008. Stayed 2 weeks each time and really enjoyed the resort. The people make the difference. Stace, Susan, Martin, Alex and all the staff. Friendly, cooperative, appreciative of our presence and made all the additional bookings and suggestions to make the trip a success. John and I did 13 dives with Ecologic Divers and again the experience was wonderful.

The golf cart and bikes a plus. Couldn't find a bad restaurant on Stace's recommendations.

Facility was in great shape and much attention appears to be placed on its condition.

Dave Smith
Plano, Texas

  • Liked — Beach property & people
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing