We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Nice Micro-Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two-bedroom / two-bath suite on the third floor, unit 9, for 2 nights.

Pros
- Spacious
- New-feeling
- Fully equipped
- Porch with table and chairs, lounges, hammock
- Quiet part of town, but close enough for easy access
- Free bikes
- Free kayaks
- Cart rental HQ on site
- Sailboat rentals next door
- Restaurants next door and within a 5-minute walk
- Market next door
- Books and DVDs in office
- Nice-sized pool
- Fantastic service

Cons
- No bar or restaurant
- No spa / jacuzzi

Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

I travelled with my wife and our two teenage sons, and we were very impressed with the Xanadu. The people who work there are kind and conscientious, the rooms are great (lots of space, and well-equipped kitchens), and the views are phenomenal. No restaurant or bar on site, but you can just walk North on the beach for a few minutes to eat at other resorts, or go on the road and walk South for a few minutes for some great local food, grocery stores, and even a small bakery. Very highly recommended -- the next time we're in Belize, we're going back there.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank PaulBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I can't believe that I never wrote a review for this little piece of heaven! It's been almost a year since our visit, so I am reminiscing about our wonderful 5-night honeymoon experience at Xanadu. I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff was. Ingrid, Blanca, and Orlando were all very helpful (Orlando even lent his personal fishing pole to my husband for a few days!). We stayed in 7b, a one-bedroom suite. It was always very clean and quiet. The pool was fantastic as was Xanadu's pier. They were helpful with recommending restaurants and with booking excursions. We booked a snorkeling trip through them, and it was fantastic. I highly recommend the trip to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley with Alphonse. Xanadu is located perfectly for privacy and yet, you're close enough to walk to a lot of places. Overall, I would definitely go back if I had the chance!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank all4literature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff cannot makeup for major construction at the resort during our stay. Xanadu management made the decision to schedule major construction in our building without notifying us prior to arrival. The noise was continuous from 9 AM to 6PM the last three days of our stay. We literally could not be in our room due to the noise, debris and commotion. Three complaints later, a note was taped to our door advising that the palapa needed replacement due to earlier rains. However, this does not make up for the construction at the property entrance, the construction to lay additional security lines and the construction to enhance a garden area. Xanadu made no effort to compensate us for this disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Very little beach front, so try to get close to shoreline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After eight days at Lamani and Pook's Hill this was a great place to unwind and prepare to return home. The staff is incredible. Blanca seems to know everything and really cares about the visitors. When she couldn't make change for American paper currency she gave my husband a $1 so we could buy three eggs for breakfast. My husband's back was very sore after bouncing around on mainland "roads" visiting ruins and caves. The staff was most helpful in our attempts to locate a massage therapist. We are recommending the resort to my brother-and-sister-in-law as they are avid divers.

The full-sized kitchen allowed us to buy food and prepare most of our meals during our stay.

Having a laundry facility on-site made unpacking at home a delight. It was great putting clothes away clean rather than dumping everything into the dirty clothes basket.

Room Tip: Room 7-A is on a corner and the path to the back units goes by the porch. We had some folks use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtm221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are finishing a 3 day stay here, a family of 4. We booked a 2 bedroom suite but they upgraded us to a 3 bedroom two story penthouse, very nice . The best part is the HUGE private deck overlooking the beach. Service has been wonderful, everyone has been friendly and helpful.

The location is great, away from the busy town center but within walking distance to a grocery store, bakery, produce stand, restaurants, even a spa! Takes about 25 minutes to walk the beach to the center of San Pedro

My only dislike is the dark gray microfiber couches, sorry but they distract from the island ambience of the apartment.

Room tip: ask for a second story unit on the the north or south edge of the property, very private. We had #11.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Back for a second stay and it felt like home. Same friendly staff at a great location. Very nice accommodations with no crowd. We have already booked for next year. The kitchens are fully equipped. Anything you want or need is but a request to the staff away. Grounds are spotless. Pool is relaxing. Kayaks available free to use. My wife and I travel the world and never go back to the same place....except Xanadau Island Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdick57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
483 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $353 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing