We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After traveling for 15 days, Xanadu was a beautiful oasis of palms and vegetation right next to the cream colored sandy beach. We felt we were in a jungle instead of only a 20 minute walk along the beach to San Pedro. We loved our beachfront loft room that was directly on the beach with a deck partially shaded by palms and a view of the Caribbean and thatched palapas. Unlike many places is San Pedro, maintenance was very good and the sand always seemed freshly raked. This did not seem to be the case at many places in San Pedro. The help is so friendly. Ingrid at the front desk is amazing in what she did for us in reservations, recommending activities, etc. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms give you a view of the Caribbean and refreshing breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonken99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were very pleased with every aspect of this resort.
The staff are very pleased to help you and seem to enjoy their jobs
Jamil ,Ingrid and Blanca are hats are off to you.

Even before we got to the resort I had many email exchanges with them. They were very helpful in suggesting and making the flight arrangements with tropic air. They make very useful suggestions on what things to do. The excursions we took were arranged by them and the tour company's picked us up at the Xanadu dock.

We made use of the free bikes and found that we could cycle to San Pedro on the beach. We did rent a golf cart for two hours but we found we did not need it after this.
We stayed in the studio and found it suited our needs as a couple very well.
The kitchen was well equipped and we liked to sit outside on the deck to have our meals.The room had flat screen TV with good selection of English Stations.
The pool was very nice. They employ a lot of people and they are very busy keeping the grounds clean.
We liked the location as it is on the edge of town but close enough to walk to or ride the bikes.
A taxi ride is $5 one way.
Xanadu pays for the ride to and from the San Pedro Airport.
We could not find one fault with this lovely resort.
Well done Xanadu and all the people who work at the resort.
We would love to go back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suntripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Everything positive said by previous reviews are true. This resort has little room for improvement because the entire staff & resort are just about perfect in my book. From the cleanliness & comforts of the rooms to the excellence of the entire staff, this has been the BEST Caribbean stay we've experienced in our many years of visiting all over the Caribbean. From Kathy & Blanca down to the maintenance workers and maids, everyone is very helpful, eager to serve, does their jobs to the utmost and always get it right. All units have complete kitchens + dining, so there's no need for a restaurant on their grounds, but ask about their customized rum punch & get a gallon or more to keep in your refrigerator. We stayed 9 nights in Rm. 2, one of the loft Honeymoon Suites closest to the beach & enjoyed breakfasts & lunches on our ocean-view balcony while going to various restaurants for dinner. The office staff also acts as concierge: booking taxis, tours, dinner reservations, etc. for us whenever requested. They also offer discounts for repeat customers, so we will definitely return here. Snorkeling off their dock & under it reveals hundreds of fish, so bring an underwater camera. The water may be a little murky at times, but 1 day I swam with a rare small school of permit just 10 ft. off the dock. Take 1 of their bikes to explore the island if you don't want to rent a golf cart or walk along the beach for great restaurants and/or beach bars. Their bird sanctuary has a short nature walk up into the tree canopies & the heated saltwater pool is the most relaxing place to end a day after touring. Thanks to the whole staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for a week at Xanadu in February 2013. We had a 2 bedroom suite (#17). It was upstairs which I was very happy about. The unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 and a half bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and an amazing deck with a hammock. We enjoyed breakfast on the deck every morning. The staff was very helpful with anything we needed. The assisted us with booking tours, giving recommendations and directions for places to eat. We rented a golf cart for the week but the hotel also has bikes that you can use. I loved San Pedro and highly recommend Xanadu!

Room Tip: We had room #17 which had a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geralyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at Xanadu & couldn't have asked for better accommodations in San Pedro. The distance from town was just about right, close enough to walk, but far enough out to avoid the bustle. The grounds are beautifully landscaped & impeccably maintained.

To provide us with a room for every night we wanted required time in 3 different rooms during the course of our stay. So, we are able to offer advice from multiple perspectives. All rooms came with full kitchens, stocked with any & every small appliance, newer TV's & private furnished patios or decks outside your door.

Our first room was # 4. It was an efficiency with queen size bed. It really was large enough for my husband & me. It was on the first floor near the pool, though pool noise never was a factor.

The next room was # 7a. It was a one bedroom with a very spacious kitchen & a larger bath. This room was also first floor & near the office & pool. There was enough pedestrian traffic outside our door, that I didn't feel comfortable leaving the curtains open during the day.

Our last room, # 6, was my favorite. It was a 2nd story one bedroom loft. The lower level was the kitchen & living area along with a bath. Upstairs was the bedroom & another bath. The stairs were narrow in a very tight spiral. We decided to leave our larger luggage pieces in the closet downstairs rather than risk a fall carrying them up for such a short time. We loved the deck area of this room, where we could sit & view the pool, beach or Caribbean.

I could go on & on raving about the staff. Orlando bonded with my husband & taught him so much about the people of Belize. Ingrid & Franz conscientiously arranged our activities & made sure our moves from room to room were perfectly orchestrated with the rest of the staff & the other guests. Our vacation to Ambergris Caye would have been so much less without them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ncsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I tried to find something I don't like about this place, but it was impossible.
The dirt track through beautiful palm trees was lush and welcoming. The little office was super friendly and very helpful. Bags were delivered to our room, tropical punch was gulped down in relief and then we were at the room.
We were led upstairs to the most amazing 3 bedroom beachside villa I have ever seen. It’s all circular. The curvy staircase to the upper rooms provided a little fear for our little ones, but they coped very well with them. A lounge room, a fully equipped kitchen, 3 bathrooms and all the modern conveniences like cable, wifi, etc.
Our second night we were moved to a 2 bedroom apartment right on the beach. The ocean was less than ten steps from our door and the views were phenomenal. This too had plenty of rom for everyone and I love the circular rooms, so different and inviting. The kids had a great nap that second day while we enjoyed the sun lounges and hammock on our verandah steps from the ocean.
On our last day in Xanadu we checked out and left our luggage with the front desk, and spent the entire day in the pool. We seriously were having trouble denying reality, that the end was here. The three days of relaxation had our whole family in a super fine mood and our minds, spirits and bodies in pure bliss.
anadu lived up to it’s name - 'idyllic, beautiful place' and I cannot recommend it more highly. You can read all about it on our blog or see more pictures.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms on the beach is A+
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel_with_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm not sure what more things I can say that haven't been said about this Great resort! All the good stuff is true and more! It is located in the most perfect part of the island (just south of town, but not too far). The staff made it a wonderful stay, especially Orlando, we sure miss him! We stayed in suite #12 the week of Feb 3-10. It is a two bedroom with all the accommodations you could possibly need. Check out the pictures so you will know exactly what #12 looks like if you are thinking about choosing that specific suite. We rented a golf cart right at Xanadu for the week, it's a fun way to get around! We went to some great restaurants (Licks, Estels, Wild Mangos, El Fogon, Hidden Treasure, Sunset, FIdos, Bella Italia, Lone Star, Aji) and had the best food ever! If you are looking for an unforgettable vacation, look no further! Head to Ambergris Caye and stay at Xanadu!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
1,000 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
481 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $353 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing