We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic stay on Ambergris Caye...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Come and Join Us!
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Magnolia, Tx.
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay on Ambergris Caye...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Everything positive said by previous reviews are true. This resort has little room for improvement because the entire staff & resort are just about perfect in my book. From the cleanliness & comforts of the rooms to the excellence of the entire staff, this has been the BEST Caribbean stay we've experienced in our many years of visiting all over the Caribbean. From Kathy & Blanca down to the maintenance workers and maids, everyone is very helpful, eager to serve, does their jobs to the utmost and always get it right. All units have complete kitchens + dining, so there's no need for a restaurant on their grounds, but ask about their customized rum punch & get a gallon or more to keep in your refrigerator. We stayed 9 nights in Rm. 2, one of the loft Honeymoon Suites closest to the beach & enjoyed breakfasts & lunches on our ocean-view balcony while going to various restaurants for dinner. The office staff also acts as concierge: booking taxis, tours, dinner reservations, etc. for us whenever requested. They also offer discounts for repeat customers, so we will definitely return here. Snorkeling off their dock & under it reveals hundreds of fish, so bring an underwater camera. The water may be a little murky at times, but 1 day I swam with a rare small school of permit just 10 ft. off the dock. Take 1 of their bikes to explore the island if you don't want to rent a golf cart or walk along the beach for great restaurants and/or beach bars. Their bird sanctuary has a short nature walk up into the tree canopies & the heated saltwater pool is the most relaxing place to end a day after touring. Thanks to the whole staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    110
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
279
524
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for a week at Xanadu in February 2013. We had a 2 bedroom suite (#17). It was upstairs which I was very happy about. The unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 and a half bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and an amazing deck with a hammock. We enjoyed breakfast on the deck every morning. The staff was very helpful with anything we needed. The assisted us with booking tours, giving recommendations and directions for places to eat. We rented a golf cart for the week but the hotel also has bikes that you can use. I loved San Pedro and highly recommend Xanadu!

Room Tip: We had room #17 which had a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geralyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at Xanadu & couldn't have asked for better accommodations in San Pedro. The distance from town was just about right, close enough to walk, but far enough out to avoid the bustle. The grounds are beautifully landscaped & impeccably maintained.

To provide us with a room for every night we wanted required time in 3 different rooms during the course of our stay. So, we are able to offer advice from multiple perspectives. All rooms came with full kitchens, stocked with any & every small appliance, newer TV's & private furnished patios or decks outside your door.

Our first room was # 4. It was an efficiency with queen size bed. It really was large enough for my husband & me. It was on the first floor near the pool, though pool noise never was a factor.

The next room was # 7a. It was a one bedroom with a very spacious kitchen & a larger bath. This room was also first floor & near the office & pool. There was enough pedestrian traffic outside our door, that I didn't feel comfortable leaving the curtains open during the day.

Our last room, # 6, was my favorite. It was a 2nd story one bedroom loft. The lower level was the kitchen & living area along with a bath. Upstairs was the bedroom & another bath. The stairs were narrow in a very tight spiral. We decided to leave our larger luggage pieces in the closet downstairs rather than risk a fall carrying them up for such a short time. We loved the deck area of this room, where we could sit & view the pool, beach or Caribbean.

I could go on & on raving about the staff. Orlando bonded with my husband & taught him so much about the people of Belize. Ingrid & Franz conscientiously arranged our activities & made sure our moves from room to room were perfectly orchestrated with the rest of the staff & the other guests. Our vacation to Ambergris Caye would have been so much less without them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ncsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I tried to find something I don't like about this place, but it was impossible.
The dirt track through beautiful palm trees was lush and welcoming. The little office was super friendly and very helpful. Bags were delivered to our room, tropical punch was gulped down in relief and then we were at the room.
We were led upstairs to the most amazing 3 bedroom beachside villa I have ever seen. It’s all circular. The curvy staircase to the upper rooms provided a little fear for our little ones, but they coped very well with them. A lounge room, a fully equipped kitchen, 3 bathrooms and all the modern conveniences like cable, wifi, etc.
Our second night we were moved to a 2 bedroom apartment right on the beach. The ocean was less than ten steps from our door and the views were phenomenal. This too had plenty of rom for everyone and I love the circular rooms, so different and inviting. The kids had a great nap that second day while we enjoyed the sun lounges and hammock on our verandah steps from the ocean.
On our last day in Xanadu we checked out and left our luggage with the front desk, and spent the entire day in the pool. We seriously were having trouble denying reality, that the end was here. The three days of relaxation had our whole family in a super fine mood and our minds, spirits and bodies in pure bliss.
anadu lived up to it’s name - 'idyllic, beautiful place' and I cannot recommend it more highly. You can read all about it on our blog or see more pictures.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms on the beach is A+
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_with_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm not sure what more things I can say that haven't been said about this Great resort! All the good stuff is true and more! It is located in the most perfect part of the island (just south of town, but not too far). The staff made it a wonderful stay, especially Orlando, we sure miss him! We stayed in suite #12 the week of Feb 3-10. It is a two bedroom with all the accommodations you could possibly need. Check out the pictures so you will know exactly what #12 looks like if you are thinking about choosing that specific suite. We rented a golf cart right at Xanadu for the week, it's a fun way to get around! We went to some great restaurants (Licks, Estels, Wild Mangos, El Fogon, Hidden Treasure, Sunset, FIdos, Bella Italia, Lone Star, Aji) and had the best food ever! If you are looking for an unforgettable vacation, look no further! Head to Ambergris Caye and stay at Xanadu!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had such a lovely relaxing time at the Xanadu. A special thanks to Orlando and Jamil for introducing us to the local flora and fauna and advising us the the great local food. We are going back next year and bringing more friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in # 19. While a bit away from the ocean, it had a lovely little patio, so quiet and peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The buildings blend into the natural look of the oceanside. Kayak out, on complimentary kayaks, and as you come back in you will notice how well Xanadu blends into the island. The grounds themselves are gorgeous. Plants and trees labeled for identification, the pool blends into the landscape perfectly. The staff was as friendly as can be making this a must stay at resort. Note that there is no food and drink on the property, but rest assured there are excellent places all within walking distance. We ventured off our trip advisor food list and still were not disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannetto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
8.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing