We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in San Pedro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in San Pedro”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I tried to find something I don't like about this place, but it was impossible.
The dirt track through beautiful palm trees was lush and welcoming. The little office was super friendly and very helpful. Bags were delivered to our room, tropical punch was gulped down in relief and then we were at the room.
We were led upstairs to the most amazing 3 bedroom beachside villa I have ever seen. It’s all circular. The curvy staircase to the upper rooms provided a little fear for our little ones, but they coped very well with them. A lounge room, a fully equipped kitchen, 3 bathrooms and all the modern conveniences like cable, wifi, etc.
Our second night we were moved to a 2 bedroom apartment right on the beach. The ocean was less than ten steps from our door and the views were phenomenal. This too had plenty of rom for everyone and I love the circular rooms, so different and inviting. The kids had a great nap that second day while we enjoyed the sun lounges and hammock on our verandah steps from the ocean.
On our last day in Xanadu we checked out and left our luggage with the front desk, and spent the entire day in the pool. We seriously were having trouble denying reality, that the end was here. The three days of relaxation had our whole family in a super fine mood and our minds, spirits and bodies in pure bliss.
anadu lived up to it’s name - 'idyllic, beautiful place' and I cannot recommend it more highly. You can read all about it on our blog or see more pictures.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms on the beach is A+
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_with_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
330
565
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm not sure what more things I can say that haven't been said about this Great resort! All the good stuff is true and more! It is located in the most perfect part of the island (just south of town, but not too far). The staff made it a wonderful stay, especially Orlando, we sure miss him! We stayed in suite #12 the week of Feb 3-10. It is a two bedroom with all the accommodations you could possibly need. Check out the pictures so you will know exactly what #12 looks like if you are thinking about choosing that specific suite. We rented a golf cart right at Xanadu for the week, it's a fun way to get around! We went to some great restaurants (Licks, Estels, Wild Mangos, El Fogon, Hidden Treasure, Sunset, FIdos, Bella Italia, Lone Star, Aji) and had the best food ever! If you are looking for an unforgettable vacation, look no further! Head to Ambergris Caye and stay at Xanadu!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had such a lovely relaxing time at the Xanadu. A special thanks to Orlando and Jamil for introducing us to the local flora and fauna and advising us the the great local food. We are going back next year and bringing more friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in # 19. While a bit away from the ocean, it had a lovely little patio, so quiet and peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The buildings blend into the natural look of the oceanside. Kayak out, on complimentary kayaks, and as you come back in you will notice how well Xanadu blends into the island. The grounds themselves are gorgeous. Plants and trees labeled for identification, the pool blends into the landscape perfectly. The staff was as friendly as can be making this a must stay at resort. Note that there is no food and drink on the property, but rest assured there are excellent places all within walking distance. We ventured off our trip advisor food list and still were not disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannetto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Extremely glad we chose Xanadu as our hotel, and went with their Must see, Must do package! Both were a home run!! I can see why many that return to San pedro return to Xanadu.

Hotel:
We stayed in Loft #6, lots of room, 2 flat screen Samsung TV's, 1 downstairs in the main living area and one upstairs in the loft (bedroom) 2 bathrooms: 1 downstairs had a tub, while the one upstairs as a shower! Both come complete with large Shampoo, conditioner and soap dispensers. Our king size bed was super comfy. #6 is just off the beach which is nice as the people walking by can't see in--as their are many windows! But from our balcony--complete with comfy hammock, we could see the water and the hotel pool. Kitchen is fully stocked and I mean stocked! Blender was great for mixing slushy type drinks!! The only downfall of this room, and not that big of a deal, is the loft style bedroom. With me getting up early (0530) and wife sleeping in, the openness of the "loft" can lead to bit of a noise issue--using microwave. But not that big of a deal, guess I could have gone outside and enjoyed the beautiful big deck that had a table chairs and used the free WIFI out there. Overall a great room, very comfy and we loved the location.

Hotel Amenities:
Free Wifi, kitchen Very well stocked (microwave, blender, pots,pans, table settings, measuring cups, bottle opener, etc etc) A fairly large pool, with plenty of lounge chairs. They even have lounge chairs out on the "beach" and on the private dock.

I say "beach" but its not really a beach, beach! You do not see people swimming right off shore as there is the "green grass" that is anchored to the soil, all along the majority of the island. very few places have a true beach and if they do, it is very small area. 1 hotel just up from Xanadu that had a tiny beach area was Ramons Village resort, BUT it was right across from the airport, and the flights coming into and leaving the island start at 0630, so can be a bit noisy! One can go swim off Xanadu's private dock.

Another nice feature of Xanadu is the pool area is off from the beach, so people walking up/down the beach are not bothering you. Some of the resorts up/down the Island, people walking by, would interfere with your relaxation, not the case at Xanadu. But they do have a few lounge chairs right near the path, so one does have a choice.

Hotel Location:
When booking a hotel on San Pedro, one has to consider location and how you plan to get around. If you want to rent a golf cart and get around, then maybe location does not matter so much! We prefer to walk and this is another area where Xanadu is great. Was only a 10-15 min walk into the heart of San Pedro! And its a very nice walk, in the sand, and flat, and there was always a nice breeze blowing. It was a very enjoyable walk, did it at night and always felt safe.

Excursions:
We did the Must see, Must do package and it was simply awesome!! Not sure if you get a special deal by doing the package, but what is nice, the staff set it all up for you AND when you arrive, they phone and re-confirm everything again with the person running the tour! As we were told, tour operators can forget, so its a great service provided by the hotel!

1) 8 hour cart rental! We did that on the 1st full day there, so we could drive around and see what there is to do.

2) Day excursion to visit Xunantunich Ruins, go Cave Tubing and do a Zipline tour. Included the airfare on Tropic Air back to Belize City. Our Tour guide was Leo. I reviewed this already, so you should be able to locate it! Zipline was a bit boring as it was only 5 lines and very tame ones at that! The ruins and Tubing were awesome and Leo was one of the best guides I have ever had! Full of interesting information

3) ½ day snorkel at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. Great time. Recommend to do it in the morning. We were picked up at 0900 on the Xanadu dock and dropped off shortly after 1200. We brought our own gear. But Xanadu does provide some and so did the tour operator (Lil Alphonse) Highly recommend a lot of water proof sunscreen (especially on top of head) and a water proof camera

4)Day excursion relaxing on a catamaran. We originally thought this was going to be the worst of our excursions, BUT turned out to be one of the best! So relaxing on El Gato and we went to Mexican rocks for more snorkeling and got closer to the Belize reef, again for more snorkeling! The lunch they provided us on the boat was mouth watering! Lobster tails, mixed in with fresh veggies and in another dish was fish fillet with veggies! fresh salad and home made tortilla shells. Again lots of sunscreen is required and a water proof camera. Just so relaxing to be out on the water, with a nice breeze. The areas where we snorkeled wasn't as crowded as the Shark Ray Alley/Hol Chan.

STAFF:
As they say, save the best for last. Through email I dealt mainly with Blanca and Ingrid and they are true professionals. answered my many questions promptly. In person they were great, always had a smile and they truly cared that our stay was going well. I forget the young gentlemen name at the front desk and he was super as well. When employees walked by they always said hello. One felt they genuinely cared how your stay was going.

I truly can't say enough on how much we enjoyed our stay at Xanadu and how much we enjoyed the island. We had a blast on our excursions, walking around and just being plain lazy. I enjoyed taking that 3 minute walk to the Bakery for fresh/warm cinnamon buns each morning (closed Sundays) I miss it so much! lol

TIPS:
Lot of Sunscreen
Water proof camera (they are not as $$ as you think, my Panasonic TS20 did a good job))
The Convenience store thats a bit further(15 feet) down the street has more selection than the very close one)
One can dress very casually at all times
Use of American $$$ is fine. 2 Belize = $1usd
I would stay away from the rooms right on the "beach" not quite as private, but they do have very good window coverings and the foot traffic is not that bad

If we were to return to San Pedro, would not even bother trying another resort, Xanadu would be our only choice, we had that great of a time there, much of that is due to its location, and even more so, it's excellent employees.

Room Tip: Loft #6 was great, but keep in Mind the loft style means a bit more noise from down below, reaches t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flames9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our suite, #1 had a panoramic view of the beach and sea. The kitchen was so fully equipped. The staff could not have been more helpful. Tip!!! Don't overpack. You can go anywhere dressed casually...not casually elegant. The fishing and snorkeling, beach walks, people...so much fun. We also really liked San Pedro airport. It is charming with a lovely aquarium. Lived Xanadu

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Xanadu with our 2 year old son in January. We also brought our nanny so we got a two bedroom unit. The room was beautiful and quite spacious for the four of us! The property was great because we could bask in the sun and still find plenty of shade for our little guy. As far as beach reviews...there was great sand, lounge chairs and palapa shade on the beach...and one only had to stroll ten paces to the left to walk into clear water. And a nice 15 minute beach walk to Ramon's Village for lunch also brought us to a fantastic beach for swimming. The more shallow wading beaches at Xanadu were perfect for a toddler...and us grown ups loved swimming off the pier. The grounds were great because with all the walking paths, bridges, streams, etc...our toddler was very entertained. He also loved the geckos! The pool was super clean and had a great shallow section for little ones. everything about this resort from the rooms to the grounds to the location on the island is super easy with kids. I do recommend this place for adults too, in fact I think my toddler was only one of three kids there at the time (so it wouldn't be an annoying atmosphere for non kid folks!). We walked, biked and used a golf cart for transportation...I don't think you need a cart the entire time...but for at least part of the stay it is nice to explore with it. We loved Wild Mangos for dinner and the breakfast place right next to Crazy Canucks (Melt maybe?). Food in general was great...including the coffee and banana bread from Marina's market at the resort entrance. The staff made this an A+ review because they were flawlessly friendly! I loved that this place only has 18 rooms...the staff really knew and helped us. The people of Belize seemed genuine overall, and the staff here was no exception. Also...we did a private charter with "el gato"....sailing and snorkeling all day with our toddler...totally amazing....a must do! We stayed here four nights and Caye Caulker 3 nights and it was a perfect Caribbean vacation for those who don't like the overbuilt, overpriced Caribbean islands where you don't get to experience the local culture. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in 9 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Griffystamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing