We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sooo relaxing and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Come and Join Us!
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sooo relaxing and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our suite, #1 had a panoramic view of the beach and sea. The kitchen was so fully equipped. The staff could not have been more helpful. Tip!!! Don't overpack. You can go anywhere dressed casually...not casually elegant. The fishing and snorkeling, beach walks, people...so much fun. We also really liked San Pedro airport. It is charming with a lovely aquarium. Lived Xanadu

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    110
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
279
524
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Xanadu with our 2 year old son in January. We also brought our nanny so we got a two bedroom unit. The room was beautiful and quite spacious for the four of us! The property was great because we could bask in the sun and still find plenty of shade for our little guy. As far as beach reviews...there was great sand, lounge chairs and palapa shade on the beach...and one only had to stroll ten paces to the left to walk into clear water. And a nice 15 minute beach walk to Ramon's Village for lunch also brought us to a fantastic beach for swimming. The more shallow wading beaches at Xanadu were perfect for a toddler...and us grown ups loved swimming off the pier. The grounds were great because with all the walking paths, bridges, streams, etc...our toddler was very entertained. He also loved the geckos! The pool was super clean and had a great shallow section for little ones. everything about this resort from the rooms to the grounds to the location on the island is super easy with kids. I do recommend this place for adults too, in fact I think my toddler was only one of three kids there at the time (so it wouldn't be an annoying atmosphere for non kid folks!). We walked, biked and used a golf cart for transportation...I don't think you need a cart the entire time...but for at least part of the stay it is nice to explore with it. We loved Wild Mangos for dinner and the breakfast place right next to Crazy Canucks (Melt maybe?). Food in general was great...including the coffee and banana bread from Marina's market at the resort entrance. The staff made this an A+ review because they were flawlessly friendly! I loved that this place only has 18 rooms...the staff really knew and helped us. The people of Belize seemed genuine overall, and the staff here was no exception. Also...we did a private charter with "el gato"....sailing and snorkeling all day with our toddler...totally amazing....a must do! We stayed here four nights and Caye Caulker 3 nights and it was a perfect Caribbean vacation for those who don't like the overbuilt, overpriced Caribbean islands where you don't get to experience the local culture. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in 9 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Griffystamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Wonderful staff, great location, and beautiful views. Very clean premises, as well as the suite we stayed in. Great vacation. Great place.They have complimentary bikes you can ride into town, as well as complimentary kayaks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

What a great way to start a relaxing holiday! 2 couples shared a two bedroom apartment and loved it. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a pool view and the gardens were beautiful and always tidy. All the staff were exceptional to the point the grounds men got us coconuts to have for breakfast. Its south on the island and far enough to feel out of the hustle and bustle. I would be here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

A group of 4 of us stayed at Xanadu in July and had a wonderful time. We stayed in room 10 and wasn't disappointed at all. The room was very clean and very big! Also had a phenomenal view of the beach and water from the room and patio. The pool was great and well kept. What was nice about the pool was that is was rarely full. With the size of the resort and people doing excursions, you rarely had to fight to find a chair or place to swim. The view of the water from Xanadu were breathtaking. Our favorite spot to lay and relax was under the hut at the end of the pier! The front desk crew are one of the best I've dealt with. They set up excursions for us (all were private with fantastic guides) and gave great suggestions for dinner (and made reservations for us). This was my first trip to Belize but know it won't be the last and know when I make the next trip, Xanadu will be the place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAF1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

You have nothing to worry about accept perhaps the weather – nothing you can do about that. Everything else is doable. For the first few days we walked to town (3/4 mi) along the beach. We checked out the shops and had a nice lunch across from the San Pedro Church. On Sunday we took a cab into town and went to mass at San Pedro Church. We loved the children’s singing. We then walked to the north end of the island crossing over the bridge and enjoyed a drink at Palapas but preferred to eat elsewhere. So we walked further north to the Croc enjoying the flora and fauna along the way. People on bikes waved and smiled as they passed. Xanadu has complementary bikes at your disposal. We chatted with two young ladies from Mississippi who had just come from yoga. At the Lazy Croc we enjoyed great BBQ. We saved enough money for a cab back into town but none were around. Fortunately a local family offered us a ride on their golf cart. It was getting hot and we had drunk our last bottle of water with lunch. Back in town we stopped for a drink at the Blue Water Grill. We had had a nice diner here on the night we arrived. Eating out is great if you have the budget. We don’t so preferred to have breakfast and dinner in our 1 bedroom suite. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots and pans, coffee maker, kettle toaster and blender, not to mention the flat screen tv. They even had some basic provisions, coffee, tea and water on our arrival, which I wasn’t expecting. We had used a grocery service to stock some provisions prior to our arrival. It is pricey but was relaxing to have a few provisions without having to search out the town on arrival. Being our first visit to Xanadu, I didn’t know that Marina’s market is so very close and the prices are good. A cab to town is $5 US. And a $2 tip is welcome. Xanadu picks up the tab for the arrival and departure as well as any rides to and from the resort for tours you have arranged with them; again tips are your responsibility. We took in the Lamania tour and the Cave tubing/Zoo tour. I had specifically requested Vitelino Reyes cave tubing tour and Jamel did not disappoint. In fact we were given a private tour. Just my wife and I and Abner from V. Reyes tours. On a few mornings we swam in their heated pool. The resort has pretty much everything accept meals. They have snorkel, kayaks, bikes; punch mix, beer, water – just ask, they may have it. The staff is great. Jamel was very helpful in arranging our tours and information about the island. Orlando cut us a couple of coconuts. We really enjoyed the coconut water and meat. All the staff will greet you with a smile. Your contract will include 8% as a service charge - this is for the workers behind the scenes (i.e. grounds keepers), a few extra dollars for housekeeping is appreciated. We had great weather, when it did shower we were on the mainland touring, so missed it. We can’t wait to return, and there is a 20% discount for return vacationers.

Room Tip: Ask Orlando to cut you a coconut. And don't forget to show your appreciation. Do you have a tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StinkyandStinkpretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Xanadu Dec 26-31 2012, in a 2 bedroom suite, right on the beach...and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. It is located south of the airport, about 3-4 minutes by taxi or golf cart. The room was great. It had two full bathrooms and a complete kitchen (and I mean complete). The kitchen was so well stocked with equipment that I could have prepared a Thanksgiving dinner and made daiquiris too.

The staff really makes the stay here pleasant. They are very polite, helpful and willing to go the extra mile to assist you. If you need assistance with local arrangements or dinner reservations, be sure to ask them, they'll help you more than you'd expect.

The place was clean and well maintained. It had a small boutique feel and felt secluded, though it is right on the main road. There is a grocery store across the street and a few steps south, easily walkable. It had a nice pool, though not large and no diving. The dock extended into the ocean and local snorkel tours would pick you up right on the dock. The beach was sandy and they had a few cabanas. The water is almost waveless, because of the reef, and so there is seagrass everywhere. You can wade out, but if you want to swim, go to the end of the dock.

Overall, this place was great. The kids loved it and we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor unit for easy access to the beach or upstairs for a more view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
8.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing