We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Family trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, TN
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Family trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent a week at Xanadu right before Christmas with our 5 adult children. It was great. The property is very clean and the view is amazing. We stayed in unit 10 with my daughter and her husband and by son, his wife, and our other daughter stayed in unit 1. they are across the pool from each other. The pool is always open. It was very quiet and you can swim from the dock or watch the string rays swim by. the staff was aways willing to help. they met us with punch when we arrived and arranged breakfast and sandwiches for a day trip to be delivered from a bakery. I got up early every morning and when i opened the blinds just could not believe the view! The walk along the beach into town only takes 15 minutes, so you don't need a cart. We rented two one day to go to the Norht island, but there were plenty of good places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bulgoggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    113
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
304
539
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pullman, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Xanadu. The people there are amazing. They go out of their way to accommodate your trip and make sure you get to do what you want to do. We loved our room. We had a 2 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom space all to ourselves. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you would need. The groceries were a bit expensive so we ended up eating out a lot after all. I would recommend Xanadu in an instant and will stay here on our trip back to San Pedro someday. This is a great place for couples but would be amazing for families! Thank you Xanadu! We love you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's hard to describe how happy we are with our stay at the Xanadu! First getting there you see how well kept the grounds are, staff rake the leaves/sand every morning and although there are many condos it feels very private.

The rooms are just as meticulously kept, clean and welcoming. We liked having the full kitchen for the option to cook in. And although the Xanadu does not have a resturant on the premise there are so many options that are a 3-15min walk down the beach, I was glad to have to go out! We ate at some really awesome places that I don't think we would have ventured to if we had the option to eat at the Xanadu.

The staff of the Xanadu goes above and beyond to make your stay as wonderful as possible. I LOVED that they booked excursions right there and figured out all the details for you. It was simple and there was options for all the popular sights in Belize.

I could go on and on about how much I loved them, but suffice it to say I would absolutely go back! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The beaches are not private in Belize so choosing a room right at the beach front may not necessaril...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had a wonderful week staying at Xanadu! We found the hotel through Groupon, read through all the great reviews and decided to go for it. I'm so happy we did, the hotel was great! Super friendly and helpful staff made the week so easy to plan out. The rooms are spacious and well kept and the grounds are awesome- you really feel like you are some place exotic! The location is also a big plus, it's just close enough to town that you can walk there if you'd like (or bike or golf cart) but are away from the hustle and bustle.

Wonderful trip and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Xanadu Nov. 8-18, and the whole trip was the best we've ever taken. The Xanadu staff greet you like family upon arrival, and go out of their way to treat you like valued personal guests for your whole stay. The property is gorgeous, the water is amazing, and all in all it's a terrific value. The onsite golf-cart rental makes it easy to get into town, although it is only a 20 minute walk away. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby - we particularly loved The Hidden Treasure restaurant, as well as The Baker (fantastic cinnamon buns and bread). We went on several snorkel and sailing trips - can't recommend Lil Alphonse enough. Most knowledgeable guide we've ever had. Also enjoyed the sailing trip to Caye Caulker and sunset sail with Geraldo on the gorgeous catamaran El Gato. We can't wait to come back - and we will!

Room Tip: We loved the honeymoon loft #3 - although the stairs are a bit of a challenge, especially if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marliss W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Xanadu is one of the friendlier hotels we have visited. We spent 10 days there. The staff is really nice and very helpful. Special kudos go to Arlando - the all-around helper. He went out of his way to treat us like honored guests. He would pick fresh coconuts for my wife and was just plain helpful and friendly. The hotel supplies free kayaks and bicycles for guests. There is no restaurant but the kitchens are well supplied. The chairs around the pool could use an update. The grounds are clean and well kept. The snorkeling off the jetty is OK - nothing special. The free airport / water taxi pickup and drop-off is a nice touch. Highly recommended! Beware the sand fleas!!!!

Room Tip: Try for an oceanside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Quincy, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a week's stay at Xanadu through Groupon. Being a Groupon we weren't sure what to expect but based on the TripAdvisor rating/reviews and other research I did on the resort and the island we felt comfortable with our choice. -And we were right!

Xanadu exceeded our expectations. The staff was extremely nice & helpful. The accommodations were great - it felt like our tropical home away from home. Furnishings were very nice - classic, tropical style so nothing felt dated contrary to a few negative reviewers' comments. We stayed the first 5 nights in room #12 which was a 2BR garden view suite and the last night in #6 which was a garden loft as we decided to stay an extra night & #12 wasn't available. It was actually good to see/compare more than 1 room and i must say both were equally nice in spite of the very different floor plans. The pool was lovely - just the right amount of shade, plenty of comfy lounge chairs, view of the beach, bath temperature water, etc. They even have a friendly resident cat named Dino who lounges around the pool & grounds and welcomes attention from Xanadu's guests. The resort's beach area is very small but nice. However, between snorkel & diving excursions, the pool & all the other beachfront areas on the island we didn't feel the need to sit on the beach anyway. There were also lounge chairs under a palapa at the end of the dock where you could swim & snorkel, which was better than sitting on the beach in our opinion.

As for excursions, we did the Hol Chan & Shark Ray Alley snorkel trip and the Lamanai/jungle river tour. We decided to pay the extra $ to fly to the mainland for the Lamanai/ jungle river tour rather than go by boat and it was worth every penny. You are with a much smaller tour group (approx 6 people) and have a personal tour guide. You also save a few hours and benefit from getting an earlier start to avoid the hoards of tourists from the cruise ships, etc. that are also visiting the ruins. Our guide, Carlos, was very knowledgable and made an effort to point out as much wildlife as he could on our 1 hr ride down the river to the Lamanai ruins site. Lunch was a tasty traditional meal of home-cooked stewed chicken, rice, beans, cole slaw, etc. We were back at the resort by 2:30, which gave us plenty if time to do other things that day.

Another thing I'd recommend getting is a golf cart for the whole time. There are plenty of taxis but it makes more sense to have your own wheels so you can come & go as you need and it enables you to fully explore the island top to bottom. We had a 1 day rental included with our Groupon so that helped a bit. Warning: the roads are BUMPY!!! And the north & south parts of the island are still quiet un-developed so things are really spread out & increasingly isolated the farther north/south you go.

The fact that Xanadu doesn't have any restaurants or food on-site was not a problem. Marina's market as well as a bakery & a deli were just off the resort's premises. There are several other markets, produce stands, liquor stores, etc. scattered throughout the island. Having a full kitchen in our suite made it so much easier to bring home snacks or leftovers. As for restaurants, Ambergris Caye is definitely not lacking in options. I was amazed at the number of options - and the quality of most. Definite places to check out: Wild Mangoes, Hidden Treasure & Elvi's for dinner. (Approx. $15-$25USD entrees) Estelle's on the beach for breakfast and The Lazy Croc BBQ for lunch. The Palapa Bar is a must for drinks. (If Jimmy Buffet were hiding out in Belize this is where you'd find him) And the Chicken Drop at Wahoo's in the Spindrift Hotel Thurs night is a event you shouldn't miss. Get there right at 6:00/6:30 to buy your squares. They sell out fast! (Look it up if you don't what I'm talking about)

We were there at the tail end if the rainy/slow season which might explain the seemingly quiet atmosphere at night. However, based on the restaurants' hours and the fact that San Pedro was dead by 10:00 pm it seems as if the night life starts & ends on the early side. A lot of restaurants are only open till 9:00 so plan on getting to dinner no later than 7:00 if you want to have a leisurely dinner.

We will definitely come back to Xanadu. It seems as if they offer deals on their web site and returning guests get. 20% discount if you book directly through them. Hopefully they'll do another Groupon or other Groupon-type of offer, though, as it was SUCH a great deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
8.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing