We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Xanadu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As long as you go in knowing that this lovely little spot does not have big resort amenities like restaurants, bars, and spa treatments. The rooms are amazing, there are a multitude of places to eat nearby, and everything one could want in a kitchen to prepare meals at "home" if desired. Great access to tours and San Pedro town. We loved our morning coffee at the end of their private pier.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

My sister & I spent a week here. The resort, suites & staff were all wonderful & Belize is beautiful! We were upgraded from a 1 bed, 1 bath studio to a 2 bed, 2 bath with a full kitchen, living room & dining room. The view from the patio was amazing & the hammock was perfect to relax in! Will go again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivoryschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was on the fence between a 3 and 4 on this one, but just felt that a 3 would have been unfair.  Our first impression here was not stellar. We had room 15 booked at it was very musty smelling.  I'm very sensitive to smells and while they said it was probably just the smell of the cleaning supplies they use, I know musty when I smell it.  I was very surprised that no one else had commented a single word on the smell.  The staff was really wonderful about our complaint and changed our room for us the next day and we ended up in an upgraded 2 br ocean front room. It was like night and day.  This suite, probably bc it was up front by the ocean, getting a nice breeze did not at all resemble the smell in the previous room.  I'd like to think that our second room was more the rule than the exception but I'm not sure. The suite was lovely, clean, well stocked,etc. Our biggest complaint there was the beds were very uncomfortable. The mattress was so worn down that it was folded on the sides ( meaning when you actually sat on it the top of the mattress met the bottom of the mattress.  They put a thick therma foam topper on it which helped a bit but was still pretty bad.  We slept in the room with the smaller bed bc it was slightly more comfortable but it wasn't great either. This room, as nice as it was, was at the end of the resort next to a pathway and dock where all the riff raff hang out all day and into the night. From around 6 am until 10 or 11 at night, there was constant noise. On one evening there was an extreme amount of profanity and a fight that broke out there.  Unfortunately there's not a whole lot the resort can do about this, but they did try. Our air condition did not always function up to par but overall was pretty good.  The staff was nice but I didn't see anyone going way out of their way to accommodate a guest either, no special touches for our anniversary, no one serving fresh coconuts to guest as is common in many hotels. But certainly very nice , very polite and willing to help with anything you ask for. The pool is nice and the setting is nice, parts are a bit cheesy, like a plastic frog fountain the shoots water into the pool, but mostly just natural and nice. To get into town is about a 30 minute walk which we really enjoyed...made us feel better about the eating ,but it is a long walk and it is hot. They have bikes but if you're a tall guy like my husband, the bikes will not work for you, they are just far too small. Golf carts are pretty pricey and as we love to walk that's what we chose. There's no beverage service, or food service but they do have a cooler where you can buy drinks at a reasonable price, beer, water and sodas .  All in all we really enjoyed our time here.  I would never stay in room 15 again and would probably make sure I get one in the front that has some air circulation to minimize the risk of another musty room.  I would not call this place a resort but certainly a nice option in San Pedro.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here the first week in September 2012, and, based on the other Trip Adivsor reviews, had very high expectations. These expectations were exceeded. First of all, the booking was a breeze. We had to change things around several times based on additional friends wanting to come and flights being changed. These changes were made with ease every time. Every member of the staff was extremely helpful, professional, and fun! They were very helpful with setting up excursions and would call to make sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were beautiful and immaculate with excellent air conditioning. The pool was awesome, and it was a nice place to hang out during the hot afternoons because it is well shaded by trees. The grounds were very nice (make sure to check out the little nature walk in the back of the property) and the swimming area off the dock was a great touch. I read many reviews complaining that there was no restaraunt on the property. I find this pretty silly, because there are many restaurants within walking distance and several that will pick you up and take you home for free. On top of that, there are free bikes that you can use.

I highly reccomend the 'must see must do' package if you are there for a week or more. Both snorkel trips were phenomenal and the cave tubing was very cool. What impressed me even more than the natural beauty of Belize was the passion of the guides for their home country. They were all very knowledgeable and made sure that we learned a lot and had a great time doing it. They were also VERY generous when it came to food and alcohol.

Every aspect of our vacation was fantastic. This is truly a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdavies6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a five night vacation August30-Sept4, 2012. The resort was very comfortable and unique. We stayed in a second floor room right on the ocean with a great view of the beautiful water. The room was spacious and everything you could need. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We loved exploring San Pedro on the golf carts you can rent. The food was great. We ate at Blue Water Grille, Hidden Treasures, and Ramon's and they were all excellent. Be sure and book an excursion with Prince at Cave Tubing, Belize. One of the guides, David, that took us cave tubing and exploring Mayan Ruins was a great guide. He was very informative and also very entertaining. We are definitely planning to return to San Pedro, Belize!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marsha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We loved staying at Xanadu. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The resort property is small and charming with a nice pool area. We stayed in Loft #6, which was very spacious and comfortable for just two of us. The little porch was great for hanging out in the evening to enjoy a cocktail or whatever you fancy. The water excursions we went on picked us up right on the resort’s dock - super easy and convenient. The tour desk was able to arrange every activity we wanted to do at the times we wanted even though it was off season. The complimentary bikes were really nice to use for exploring. We only wished we didn’t have to return them by late afternoon so we could have used them at night but no big deal. It was a nice walk along the beach to the center of town from the resort so that was how we went into town in the evenings when needed. Really liked that they make an effort to be green and eco-friendly. If we were to stay in this area in the future we would definitely stay at Xanadu again. It was just right for our first visit to this wonderful island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbie_avl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Came here on our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The staff here was wonderful and accommodating. The tour that you can book at the front desk were reasonably priced and very fun. Hol chan snorkeling was very fun with Everit, our guide. Sunset cruise on a sailing boat was very nice as well. The sail boat was 'authentic' to say the least but I actually preferred it that way. Great place to stay, overall.

Tips: don't rent a cart and use the free bikes or walk. A thirty minute walk on the beach gets you to downtown and there are a few places a stones throw away if you don't feel like walking much. Get the 'premium' Belikin beer rather than the regular. Buy them from the Xanadu front desk by the case. Premium has 60 ml more in the bottle and for $3 US more you get what you pay for. It saves you money in the long run.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ScottL674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 55 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
484 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $353 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing