We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

We chose Xanadu because of it's #1 raiting on Tripadvisor and from all the comments. We were deceived. Why hasn't anyone mentioned all the trash on the beach and in the water. What about the beauty of the Carribbean Sea missing?

I was in shock over the lack of beautiful beach and sea. After a few day adjustment period, my husband and I were able to relax. My husband is a big scuba diver, which is the reason we chose Ambergris Caye as our destination. After extensive research I learned that I was not going to find any luxurious hotels for my family (myself, husband and 3 daughters ages 4 1/2, 8, and 10) and another family to call home for 8 nights. Because Ambergris Caye is considered one of the top dive sites, we would suck it up.

We were in a 3 bedroom/2 bath unit on the 2nd floor. Our friends were next to us in a 2 bed. loft set up. The masterbedroom in our unit had a knee wall separating it from the living area. Pull down blinds were there for privacy - no wall. Needless to say, any intimacy was difficult. A thin spiral staircase leads up to 2 real bedrooms. However, I experience much anxiety over my children sleeping upstairs. I was concerned that they would get hurt coming down, especially during the night. Luckily this did not happen. The accommodations are basic and clean. The kitchen is fully equipped, and there is a market very close by. Even so, it would have been nice if there was a coffee bar. snack hut/tropical drink type set up out near the beach and pool. While relaxing if you were hot, hungry, or thirsty you had to go to your room to satisfy any desire. We like being served water and other refreshments while chilling by the pool/beach. It enhances the vacation experience.

While I state the things that were missing for us, I must give Kudos to Robert, Stacey, and Susan. Their communication with our party before our travels to Xanadu were exceptional. Robert is extremely helpful and caring. When my friend and I were on the beach with the 5 kids (the guys were diving) and a stranger approached, Robert was there checking out the situation. He must have a hidden camera, because he never missed a beat. We felt very safe. Our children enjoyed him. He cut down coconuts and opened them for them and helped them collect shells and look for hermit crabs.

Xanadu provides free internet access. We had some trouble and it took 3 requests before Martin came up for a look and fixed the situation. I should also point out that a bolt holding a planting partition which holds the hammocks of the 2 connecting units came out of the wall while my friend was resting on his hammock and my husband got on our hammock to relax. I immediately called the front desk to let them know. Martin said he would come have a look, but we did not see him that evening. I had to mention it again the next morning.

I walked along the beach (which has a lot of garbage) to see the Victoria House. We did not stay there because we were told it has no beach. Their beach is at least 3x the size of Xanadus. There were massage tables on the beach and my daughter and I witnessed a couple having manicures on their patio. This probably would have been more my speed. They also have several little pools, a pool/beach bar, and a restaurant.

We did eat at some good restaurants and one terrible one -at Mata Chica. I think it is called Mambos. While a very cool atmosphere, some of the food was not edible and the service was horrible.

We like Sunset Grill the best. It's on the lagoon with big Tarpin fish swimming around. They feed the Tarpin, which the kids really enjoyed. We also like Caramba, El Patio, and Elvis.

Don't miss a snorkel trip to Shark Ray Ally with Russell and I can't remember the other guys name. He was great. We held the sharks, pet them.

  • Liked — having a refrigerator
  • Disliked — the water coming out of the showers and having piles of water on the floor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank haut-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
324
560
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

We were stressed and exhausted from a busy and cold winter in England followed by a 24 hour long journey when we finally arrived at Xanadu; so, was it worth it? Yes, absolutely. The suites are clean and well equipped, the beds and pillows are soothingly somnulent and the staff are prefossional and helpful. As there is no restaurant it was good to organise our own lazy breakfasts and in the evening walk barefoot up the beach to find a restaurant or bomb along in our rented golf buggy.
Seeing the resident Toucan on the first morning right outside our room woke us to a perfect start and everything got better and better. Stacey organised two trips for us - Shark Ray Alley with Alphonse and a day's Manatee watching. We shall never forget HOLDING shakrs and rays with Alphonse and a close encounter with a moray eel (he is the best guide, so ask for him by name). The second trip was an all day with a different company (dude guides though) and we came across some dolphins. The guides stopped the boat and we were all quiet as watched these wild dolphins dancing to Van Morrison singing Brown Eyed Girl.

Go now before everyone discovers that this is how all tropical beach holidays should be.

  • Liked — The suites are self catering so good for families
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joanna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Tx.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Xanadu Resort for 1 week and it was paradise. All the staff was so helpful and so friendly. Most of the people on the island were real nice. We had great meals and almost everything was within walking distants. We found the Sausage Factory and the Coffee Cafe just down the road from our room. We liked it so much we have booked our suite for next year already plus rooms for our daughters and their husbands.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank granny37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

Xanadu is an incredible hotel in the heart of paradise. For any one who loves nature, Belize is a must see. Of all the hotels we saw in San Pedro, Xanadu is by far one of the best. The staff members all go out of their way to make your trip incredible. The grounds are gorgeous, too. The snorkeling was best we have seen yet to date. Better than Cayman Islands, St Thomas, or Mexico. The best part of it is that all the tours start from the hotel. A boat comes to pick you up in the morning, and returns you back in the end. All tours can be ordered from the front desk, so you do not have to worry about paying each tour operator separately. This makes it so eary.

The front desk staff are incredible. Stacey, Sue, and Martin just do what ever you ask them in order to make your stay perfect, before you even get there. Our flight to Belize got changed and cancelled five times. Sue changed our connecting flight, for free, every time without a single compaint.

The housekeeping staff even washed our dirty dishes every day. What a service!

  • Liked — Location, the grounds, and the service
  • Disliked — The internet service was slow at times, but that had more to do with the Internet Service Provider.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

Xanadu was great! They arranged some great snorkeling, fishing and boating trips for us. The trip to Lamanai was incredible!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radgast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vega, nv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

My husband and myself just returned from 13 glorious days at Xanadu Island Resort. This resort is the most exotically tropical property we have ever visited (and we are seasoned travelers). The entire resort was built into the jungle and is absolutely gorgeous! We had Condo 15, which is surrounded by trees, singing birds, a great view of the ocean---#15 was absolutely perfect for us! We called it our “treehouse” with all the modern amenities! We spent 2 to 3 hours every morning on the deck, drinking coffee and enjoying the view. The condos themselves are clean, furnished tastefully and the kitchen has everything you need to cook a 6 course meal! Housekeeping does a superb job, even going so far as to wash the dishes. The pool area is heavenly! We spent many peaceful hours reclining by (and in) the pool reading our books. We looked at many other properties on the island, however, not one could compare to the pool or the grounds at Xanadu. The Staff is the absolute best! Stacey assisted us prior to and on the day of our arrival (she left on vacation thereafter). She is great! Sue scheduled all our tours (with personal guides who did a wonderful job), coordinated our golf cart rental, made recommendations for restaurants, set up water-taxis, and took care of us as if we were family. Sue went above and beyond the call of duty! She is fabulous! Robert is a very special asset to Xanadu! He is there to make certain every detail with your condo, your golf cart, the grounds, etc. are satisfactory for you. He will even BBQ your fresh caught fish for you! Robert always had a smile on his face, kind words to exchange, would patiently answer all our questions, and help in any way he could. We grew very fond of Robert. We highly recommend Xanadu Island Resort as “the” premier resort on Ambergris Caye. It was a magical vacation and we have already decided we are going back next year and staying at least 18 days! We love Xanadu!

  • Liked — Pool and resort grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lasvegaspamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

Just got back from Belize, where we stayed a week at the Xanadu. We had a great time. The grounds are beautiful maintained by a great bunch of guys. We loved sitting out on the pier watching boats go by and saw tons of wildlife including rays, schools of fish and a great variety of birds.

Went snorkling with Alphonse. He was great and taught us so much.

The property is in a perfect location. Away from the busy downtown but an easy walk to the great bars including Crazy Canucks and BCs. Ate at some great restaurants including the Reef and Mangoes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing