We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in more ways than one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Paradise in more ways than one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I vacations at Xanadu for the week of December 3rd through the 9th. We really were impressed with all the little details as well as the overwhelming natural beauty of the resort. They have gone to great lengths to keep the nature preserved with still providing a luxury experience. The kitchen was set up with every amenity that you can imagine and the apartment itself also had everything you could possibly want and need. The robes were a very nice touch. The pool was heated which was also a nice difference. So many places advertise “heated pool” but it never is, this was. These are all wonderful things, but you can receive these things from most 4 star accommodations but what really sets this place apart is the staff. Everyone that works here is so very nice and helpful and interactive. Our stay was so enhanced by the people. There was never a time in which when we were walking around that there was not a “hello how is everything”. The housekeepers were so attentive and did a great job and the office staff made sure that all the side-trips we wanted to take were set up with meticulous timing and we had a great time. The trip packages were professional and very reasonably prices and were so enjoyed. We do have to single out a few of our favorite employees that were of a especially great help to us. First Ingrid was so great and put up with our continuous barrage of questions; she was always there with helpful suggestions and made sure our time on the island was spent well and then there is Orlando. Well he was there with a helping hand and gave us suggestion on some great eateries and also allowed us to have fresh coconuts and just was always so friendly. We also met the on-site property manager which was very refreshing and as a property manager myself I can tell you that the facility maintenance was kept up and there were always some improvements that were taking place. It can be a daunting task to up recreational facilities, but they have done so and more. We could not recommend this resort any higher and we did go and look a couple other properties while we were on the island, and we can only say we think we made the best decision for our vacation and would stay there again. Thank you Xanadu for our week in paradise.

Room Tip: second floor #6 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
324
560
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

we stayed at xanadu at the beginning of december. Excellent stay overall ! only bad thing we need to leave the place to come back home ! Resort is really clean and well maintain. The staff very helpfull and friendly will fill all your need. Buy tours at the front desk you will have no problem at all, dont buy outside resort even if it's cheaper not worth it ! Pool is really nice and always warm. You have also a nice dock.we book room number 2 excellent choice ! will come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diver065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

The people here at this resort are genuinely good people. They aren't trying to sell you anything, or put on airs with you. They welcome you as if you were family, and the feeling continues throughout your stay. Everyone deserves a medal, but honorable mention goes out to Blanca, Ingrid, and Jamil (just for starters). It doesn't matter which room you get, you will be impressed. full kitchen with full range stove and oven. 2 bedrooms with bathrooms in each room. you could split this room with another couple and still enjoy your privacy.

Room Tip: You must go to Estele's for breakfast at least once. Have a Bloody Mary or Mimosa with your mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have to first qualify this review by saying that my wife is very particular about hotel rooms. Therefore, I was a bit apprehensive about staying somewhere that was not one of the usual 5-star chain hotels that we use (we like to know what to expect). I needn't have worried. Xanadu is truly "a vision in a dream". We loved the place. It was pouring rain when we arrived in San Pedro Town by water taxi (Xanadu will arrange a taxi to pick you up at the water taxi or the airport - complementary), but I think this was the best way to get the first glimpse of Xanadu which is situated in a rain-forest like piece of land about two kilometres from the town. Jamil greeted us - - by name (he had no idea of when we were arriving, by the way). He immediately gave us each a towel to dry ourselves (because of the aforementioned rain). Then, Ingrid came out with two glasses of fruit punch to welcome us. This was the start to a very pleasant two night stay. The rooms are large and spic and span clean. Full kitchen, dining room, living room, two bathrooms, an amazing upstairs sleeping loft with the biggest king sized bed we'd ever seen and a veranda outside the door with table and chairs and a hammock. Take out a couple of the complementary bicycles to ride into town (or rent a golf cart, but in keeping with the eco-friendly theme, we used the bikes). Take out one of the complementary sea kayaks - or just sit under the palapa or on Xanadu's small beach - or by the pool under the palm trees. There's even a small "nature walk" on Xanadu's property - you have to check that out. I have to mention the heated pool. Every night after dinner we would go for a swim under the stars. The pool was like a gigantic hot tub and, although we saw many people around the resort during the day, we were totally alone at the pool after dinner. This is nothing like the big all-inclusive resorts - it's so much more special. We were not planning to visit Belize again (we were visiting our daughter who was living in Belize City for 6 months) but we may have to change our minds just to stay at Xanadu again!

Room Tip: "try to get a room on the 2nd floor, the upstairs sleeping loft is really cool!!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We went to Ambergris Caye for the first time and picked Xanadu as our place to stay. I am thrilled that we did! We stayed in loft #2 for 6 nights and then moved to the 2bdm unit #1 right below for 2 nights as we needed to accomodate a wedding party that was gathering there. What really made this place stand out was the staff. From before our arrival both Ingrid & Blanca helped with any questions we had and getting the reservations booked. Once we arrived we met the rest of the incredibly helpful and friendly staff. What can we say about Mr. Orlando! He was fabulous with all the things such as preparing the BBQ, showing us how to feed the beach iguanas a hibiscus flower, and that the tree ones don't like flowers so much. He talked about life and family and was just awesome. We had some problems with a couple of burned out lights and that was fixed in record time and with a smile every time. We decided to rent one of the golf carts and they took care of that without a hitch. We actually had 3 carts while there as the first one dropped a strut just as we pulled into the drive of the resort one evening, and the next one had a flat, and every time things were just taken care of without any argument or hassle. AWESOME!
Our rooms were beachfront so we had fabulous sunrises on the deck and patio, lively conversation with the local souvenir vendors walking up & down the beach, a great view of the sea and could see the waves crashing out on the reef barrier, and visits from the house kitty, Dino, at night. We even had a visit from a local doggie we named Rusty for one night too that was apparently an escapee from the house behind the resort. The kitchen was equipped with everything one would need for basic meals, the stove in unit #2 was a bit old and probably could be replaced, but unit #1 had a new flat top that worked well. The beds were really comfy, the TV worked great (we did have to keep up on football afterall), and the bathrooms were clean and worked well. We learned to shop for different foods at different stores - be careful of expiration dates on everything, if there is one. We found the local sausage factory that had really fabulous chicken/chardonnay/apple sausages, but the meat everywhere left a bit to be desired. We ate out 4 of the 8 nights and we liked Ramon's especially since it is on the beach, we didn't like Rico's, and my hubby took me to the Blue Water Grill for my birthday dinner that was really very good.
Again, we were so appreciative of how lovely all the staff were. We'd come from Miami on an overnight and stayed in a hotel that the staff were surly and rude. This was just so wonderful, THANKS! It really makes the difference.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Needbeachtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Xanadu for 6 nights from 10/30/11-11/04/11. Not only were the grounds the most serene and lovely of all the other resorts we walked around, but the price was great and the staff was perfect.

The room has hot showers, super comfy beds and a well equipped kitchen. Only down size - the blender was moldy smelling. We didn't notice toward the end of the stay, but I had been looking forward to a pina colada that evening. No worries though, just walk 5 minutes north and hit Crazy Canucks! We love to walk, so we didn't use a golf cart or the bikes. It was a 20 minute walk on the beach to any restaurant we wanted to go to and the tours picked us up at the Xanadu pier. We liked the location - quiet but close enough to the action.

The cleaning staff did an impeccable job, but I do wish since they are an eco-friendly resort, I would have liked to see something other than antibacterial soap in the kitchen and bath (not so great for your water supply). But our room was spotless each and every day and they cleaning staff was quite friendly as well.

Now for Orlando. Years from now, when we talk about our vacation, Orlando's experience, friendliness, smile and work ethic will be the first thing we recall. That man is amazing. He showed us so much wildlife, got us a coconut, and pretty much helped us when we needed it or just took a few minutes to chitchat. On our 10th anniversary, we mentioned it to him while we waited for our cab. He was genuinely happy for us and we talked about marriage making it work. It was like talking to a friend. You can tell this man loves meeting new people and takes pride in his job. Kudos Orlando!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Xanadu again - loved the kayaks and the pool too. Would have liked a bar on the property more than I thought, but doesn't change my opinion - Xanadu is the place to stay in San Pedro!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GreenKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We are spending 9 days on Ambergris at Xanadu, and I am writing this on day 6.
The staff at the Xanadu are simply amazing. Blanca is like an angel! On our way here (we were coming from Playa del Carmen on a bus, which gave us an overnight in Chetumal - not recommended) we arrived at the Water Taxi pier in Chetumal at 1pm for our boat to AC. Thanks to hurricane Rina, not only were the boats not running to the island, but they had in fact evacuated thousands on a voluntary basis. The guy at the office said it might be three days before the ban was lifted. We were heartbroken. We sat on the pier in full sun with no wind (I had been watching the sat data for Rina for days, and by all accounts it was 185 miles from AC, moving north, and set to be downgraded back to a tropical storm) and called Blanca at Xanadu to ask for her help.
Within one hour and ten minutes, we had taken two taxis, crossed the border into Belize, gone through customs, and were on a Cessna 172 (4 seats) bound for AC under clear skies! She called me about five times telling us what to do next, that she had arranged this or that - it was like we were part of a cliffhanger movie, and each call gave us the next mission. She was amazing - her organizing and logistics skills are highly recommended.
Speaking of hurricanes, the resort is built like a bunker, but hidden under traditional teak and palm palapa's. The rooms are actually made of concrete and steel, with layers of polyurethane overlying that. The R factor is 60! We had a wedding party right over our room and we could not even hear footsteps - not to mention the laughing and drinking - just dead silence. From the beach, Xanadu looks like one of the most traditional resorts around. It is not flashy, or tall, or wildly painted - it is surrounded by palms, and seems to disappear into the forest. We love the small resorts that try to blend in. The rooms are clean, and huge! We stayed in the studio #4 and had more than enough room. The AC was great, and the kitchen has everything you need for a full complex meal.
The staff is wonderful - one and all. They are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the town. The resort is set up for diving (which is what we came for) and has lockers to dry your gear, water tanks to rinse, and the dive boats pick you up, and drop you off, right from their pier.
We have nothing but good things to say about Xanadu, and would recommend it to anyone who didn't need on-site dining. The street vendors, and small stores are everywhere - and doing your own cooking is no problem at all...at least once a day.

We will post pictures when we get home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hartimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing