We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xanadu, we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Loved it! Six of us stayed in #18. The staff was amazing! Jamil was wonderful and so helpful! Orlando was so friendly and was always checking in to make sure we were enjoying our stay. Pool was great and very relaxing. We booked a cave tubing/zip line tour and snorkeling excursion and loved both. Again, Jamil thank you for being so helpful. We also reserved a golf cart with Carts Belize and it was waiting for us after check in. It was great to have and we used it a lot to go up North to Kama. Great Bar by the way! I would highly recommend this resort. The staff is top notch and we will hopefully be back for a return visit soon! Also Blanca was so helpful, we spoke via e-mail many, many times and any questions I had, she answered quickly and made the reservation process so easy! We requested a few items be waiting in our suite upon arrival, the staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and make your vacation problem free!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyn747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

We traveled to Xanadu to spend time in relaxation and fun on our 3rd marriage anniversary. Thankfully our stay came out to be memorable. Now when back home safe and refreshed, we are missing it already. Our room was magnificent, very much airy and gave nice views of outside. The beach was within a stone’s throw from resort that again was a plus point. It has got a perfect location set in an amazing environment.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennerdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

You can't go wrong staying at Xanadu. Everyone involved there is top-notch. Jamil and Ingrid were so helpful in getting any request taken care of, they had great suggestions as to where to eat, where to dive, who to book our trips with, golf cart rentals, sail boat rentals, everything. They have their own pier, pool and beach. It's a great place for couples, not rowdy and close to town. Perfect place, we got engaged there and will always remember it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chriswrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Recently we stayed at Xanadu we found the hotel clean, quiet and modern. All units have full kitchens and living areas. The grounds are nicely kept sitting right on the ocean overlooking the reef,while still being secluded. All of the staff was helpful and attentive. From Jamal to Orlando. We had happy hour on the beach using the gas grill to grill fresh fish almost every night with other guest joining in. Hotel was a delight to stay at. But it's the staff that sets Xanadu apart while not the cheapest , they pay attention to detail. The attention to detail clearly sets them apart.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank vacati0nrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Xanadu is first class and fun! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Jamal consistently exceeded our expectations in setting up tours, providing local information and making us feel at home. The guests were an eclectic group from all over the world that easily congregated for our self appointed happy hour at the BBQ palapa. The view was astounding. We did not see another hotel with our quality beach front and view which included a pier with Palapa and lounge chairs to relax at the end of it. The rooms were very clean and well stocked. The beds were comfortable. The bikes and golf carts were a nice amenity. I would take a bicycle each morning at 8am down to the pier by the soccer fields to pick up fresh fish. Martin, the manager, gave us a great recipe to saute and BBQ down by the pool. It was delicious. Mango's and Blue Water Grill had great dinner and seafood. Estel's is a must for breakfast. Rico's is a short walk south on the beach. They have the best salsa I have ever tasted - hot! The Rum punch is good too. The nightlife is a $5 US taxi ride into town. I recommend Frido's and Crazy Canuck's for happy hour. Wet Willies should be avoided on Wednesday's. Its "Ladies Night" which mean they charge men a cover. The crowd was a bit aggressive. Palapas is quite a ways north across the bridge. Jaguar's is good for dancing. It has intertubes you can sit in and the bar will lower drinks and food to you. BUT it is really really far. Take a golf cart or taxi. And note that taxis can't get across the bridge after 9pm. The bike ride was exhausting. The Sunset Bar and Grill is ideal. Arrive around 5:30pm and watch the sunset while they feed the tarpoons. The Tackle Box can also be a good place to hang out. We went on the zip line and Xuanatunich ruins tour. Gerson was our guide and was terrific. It was well worth the time and money. Gerson helped build the zip lines and was very knowledgeable. The tour was set up by Jamal and was excellent. There is no restaurant or pool bar, but the market is at the end of the drive to the left. It was not necessary to exchange money from US dollars. On Thursdays the Chicken Drop is fun. In all the people on the island were wonderful and friendly. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lola_Knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We travelled as a family (4 adults + 2 children) and we all loved it! The Condo/House had everything we could possibly need to have a vacation but still have a feel of home. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well-equiped, the verandah was spacious and offered a beautiful view of the blue Caribbean Sea, the overall space was just spotless. We especially liked the garden which gave a feel of the jungle with tall trees and cool shade.
Xanadu's Staff was incredibly helpful and very friendly. They have a way of making you feel like more than just a guest with thier warm smiles and friendly talk.
Some of the family went on tour but my husband & I felt very comfortable that we stayed on the couch to watch t.v. (this was how nice the house was - we didn't want to leave).

Room Tip: Just say what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoeniRequena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Xanadu last march during our honeymoon. We chose it due to the great comments in Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed at all.

Since the very beginning (reservation process) we found out that this was a very special resort as they answered to all our questions in a very friendly and efficient way. They arranged everything, including accommodation, flights (Tropic Air, highly recommended) and diving activities (Amigos del Mar are brilliant, and Diving Adventure), and we were delighted with everything.

Its location it’s simply perfect! 5 minutes driving from the airport and 15 minutes walking from San Pedro’s centre but out of the fuss and traffic noise. An oasis of tranquility but close to everything you may need (supermarket, restaurants, car renting, etc.). Inside, Xanadu is very nice and warm. It keeps the spirit of the island in its construction, the bird’s space, the pool and the condos. Our room (#17) was very nice decorated and full equipped, especially the kitchen, having anything you may need to cook. High speed Internet included!

And last but definitively not least, Xanadu’s staff is the best of all. Blanca, Jesús, Jamal… they are very helpful and take care of every little detail even before you may think of it. They fully understand the client needs and work very focused on that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#4 of 55 in San Pedro
377 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
498 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,398 reviews
6.2 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 55 in San Pedro
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $348 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing