We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Westminster, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly people”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I recently took my students on a study abroad trip to Belize. After various stays and tours inland we arrived in Ambergris Caye at the Exotic Caye Resort and immediately greated by friendly staff. The rooms were very comfortable and accommodating. Located on a great section of beach and only a short walk from town made the resort a peaceful place to relax and a safe place for my students. I look forward to returning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rtmelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    84
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
32
124
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and well worth the money as I got a deal on Groupon. My room was upstairs which got a daily breeze which helped with the temp and flow. Has a fridge and stove so you can cook if you want to as there are many local spots to buy fresh produce and other items from the store across the street. Half a block down the street on the left hand side is Maria's where you can buy fresh juices with the watermelon juice the best that I have ever tasted. The resort also set me up with a couple of snorkeling and dive trips which you have to do while in Ambergris Cayes. They also have a on site restaurant called the Melt that is great and convenient for both breakfast and lunch. Ate there 3 times for breakfast which was good and one lunch which was excellent as I had the ham melt which was so oozing with cheese and flavorful that it was like eating a Croque Monsieur. Will go back in a heart beat as it is a good stopping point for me as I like to spend half of my time in AC and then Corozal. Oh, almost forgot to thank house keeping for their work o my room.

With respect

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 419flora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week and were pleased with our choice. The location is great. Right on the beach and within walking distance of town. The 2 restaurants on site had very good food and were reasonable priced. The unit has a kitchen, so we saved $ by buying some of our food at the grocery store across the street. The unit was clean although somewhat weathered which you should expect from a beach-side bungalow. The AC worked great. The staff was very pleasant. I thought it was a great value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowdy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I got married on the beach at this resort for our destination wedding in April! They were so helpful in all the preparation before we arrived. We enjoyed our stay very much. The bedroom stayed cool and the bed was comfy. The food was great also. I would recommend to everyone! I got this on Groupon and wasn't disappointed. To me the room is just somewhere that I sleep when I go on vacation so amenities and fluffy extras were not needed. We had a cute balcony that overlooked the ocean. This trip was unforgettable something I will remember for the rest of my life. Thank you Exotic Caye Beach Resort!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were well kept as opposed to some of the reviews I have read. So convenient to everything and right on the white sand beach. The staff was pleasant and the maids did an excellent job and were accommodating to when they cleaned so as not to disturb our day. The Management was absolutely responsive to our every concern and comfort. I would not hesitate to stay again and had a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2A and 2B first floor. Excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antiqueron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I booked 3 nights here with my husband May 9-12 this year and was 100% satisfied with our stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. We arrived a bit early and Brenda, in the office, was nice enough to give us a brief tour of the site and information about where to go around town. All the huts face the ocean, so whichever one you get assigned you get a good view. There is one hut by the bar, so the only problem would be the noise, but even at the hut farthest from the bar (which we stayed at ) we could still hear so that's just something you'll have to deal with. We were so tired by the end of the day that the noise didn't even bother us. They speak of remodeling this hotel but I loved the classic island feel to it. It's definitely not a 4-star resort but it's quite the hotel that has character to it. Yes the buildings are older. It's close enough to the tropic air airport and the water taxi. It's about half a mile, easy walk. You can walk along the beach from the taxi port to the hotel front. There is a golf cart rental across the street that we went to for 2 days out of our stay. Also a market for groceries -- rooms have fridges and ovens and silverware. VERY convenient!!! But they are very clean. I can't express how happy we were to book this place and we talk about coming back to Belize -- and so if and when we do, I would definitely book this place again.

To the staff at exotic caye -- thank you so much for your hospitality. I've only been home one day and want to go back!

Room Tip: All buildings you will hear the noise from the bar. Buildings 1 and 2 are "farthest" away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gabrielle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Smaller resort with everything you need to relax and have a good time in San Pedro. Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing beach! 2 restaurants and a bar on site and the location on San Pedro can't be beat. It does not have a huge pool but I never needed the pool during my stay! I really liked that smaller aspect of this resort, I enjoyed my stay here more than I have a larger resort with fancy pools. Not to mention the value! Such a great price for a place to stay in beautiful Belize! So glad my husband made me come here!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRCJtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mata Rocks Resort
Mata Rocks Resort
#26 of 53 in San Pedro
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
#8 of 31 in San Pedro
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Property: Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#39 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Exotic Caye Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing