We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant go wrong with it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great location, close to Bars, restaurants, grocery stores and dive shops. A nice walk to downtown.
Generally quiet, but can get a bit loud during the weekend.
Helpful and friendly staff. the rooms were clean. Only issue was the stove, which wasn't working.
The foods were delicious and the bar by the beach is a great place to hang out.
The pool is very small and the beach is only good for tanning and hanging out. cant really swim because of the sea grass. but there is like a 10-15min walk to nice beach.
Overall its a chill place to stay, you cant go wrong with it

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahbod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Exotic Caye Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

We extensively read these reviews and this really helped to know what we were getting and ask for the right room..We stayed in 3C, 2nd floor this past week for 7 days..

-Lovely beach setting overlooking palm trees and ocean
-Staff was very nice, friendly, attentive, responsive and do a great job with what they have to work with keeping the room clean and responding to things you need..
-great patio with great breeze the week were there
-5 minute walk to San Pedro and very close to super market
-internet worked fine but not in the bedroom
-excellent new AC in the bedroom with remote control not in the window
-Good food at The Melt..kind of expensive but we were on the Groupon where we got 30$/day to spend at the restaurants
-The Spice is expensive, food was ok..you are better off finding restaurants in town unless you get daily groupon stipends you need to use
-pitted bathroom faucets, patched walls, cracked floor tile, rust in the tub and elsewhere
-kitchen had everything advertised
-recommend getting room in building 1,2 or 3 away from the bar, 2nd floor..read other reviews about other rooms..
-Monday night there was a loud Reggae band that the whole island could hear..played till 11:45pm..otherwise bar noise was not too bad..bring earplugs
-Golf cart tour of island was really fun..see Abdul at Mermaid Supermarket a block away for $45 rental for 24 hours..good to shop there too
-keep in mind, the main room area is covered by a thatch roof so there will be bugs and a friendly gecko..bedroom has a regular ceiling
-Two full day catamaran snorkeling trips with SEAduced company..Excellent fun! ask Manuel to take you to the deep part of Hol Chan if currents permit
-One 1/2 day trip snorkeling with Belize Pro Divers..Excellent!..Emiliano Rivero is very nice and runs a professional operation
-the reef wall at Hol Chan in the channel is excellent snorkeling!(I'm a diver but didn't dive this trip so I've seen some great reef)
-Wild Mango restaurant in San Pedro..fantastic drinks and Buffalo Chicken wrap
-My Secret Deli-where the locals go..excellent local food and cheap..
-Estels-great beach bar..
-ask locals where to go..they are very friendly and helpful
-Fantastic massage on the beach $40 for an hour part of Holiday Hotel
-Maya and Tropic air..very organized operations..leave lots of time coming back to Belize City to go through customs and immigrations before your flight to the states..
-Caye Caulker, nice walk if you turn left when you get off the boat..
-There is a lot of grass and murk close to shore in Ambergris Caye so you need to walk to the end of Ramon Village dock to swim in clear water or take a snorkeling trip..not like clear blue water off the beach in St John or the Caymans
-bring lots of singles and small bills for tips
-All in all, we had a GREAT time but our strategy was to spend less on lodging and more on day trips and that's what we did
-room was a bit rough
-bring lots of shorts, bathing suits and t shirts, forget the night life..
-drink Belikan beer and Coconut Rum!

Room Tip: Building 1, 2, 3 2nd floor..away from bar and street-building 2 is prob the best..building 3 is a bi...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank atlsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. They arranged tours and offered suggestions for activities. The location was good, not close to all the downtown noise and not too far away from downtown. The rooms were kept clean but no office staff available in the evenings. The service at the Melt restaurant was quite slow but there are many other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time! The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. Our only "complaints" was that there was no tv in the bedroom (we are the type that have it on when we go to sleep), wifi was good but not strong enough to reach the bedroom, the bed was a bit hard for our liking.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we had a Groupon deal. The room was basic and no-frills, but it was clean and just what we needed. The two restaurants at the resort, Melt and Spice It Up, were both great places to eat. Try the watermelon juice at Melt and the stuffed peppers appetizer at Spice It Up! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We would love to return someday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Exotic Caye for 7 days on a whim and based on some reviews that we read in multiple places. It was what we had expected- basic, friendly, convenient and VERY well priced. A few major drawbacks- 1) the pool needs to be a bit bigger (it is the size of my bath tub) to be able to really call it a pool, 2) the wifi needs to be able to reach inside the rooms (granted our room was the furthest away from the office. Everything else about our stay was fantastic. The attendants were very nice and accommodating, the front desk helped us book and looked into all the tours we wanted to go on, they rented us a golf cart and the grounds staff even got us a coconut and cut it to have with our breakfast. Some of the major positives: 1) price, unbeatable on the island, 2) location- walking distance to restaurants, main bars are a few minutes away and there are two bars that are 20 seconds away, grocery store across the street, there is a dock where charters will pick you up on, 3) most of the rooms have their own mini kitchens so you can cook and save money by eating ‘in’ rather than out, 4) entire staff was extremely helpful and accommodating, 5) you HAVE to eat at Melt Café (our favorite lunch and breakfast spot by far), 6) we felt very safe there, 7) it is super relaxing and the view is unbeatable.
You cannot go to Exotic Caye expecting a 5 star accommodation that is not to say that the helpfulness of the entire staff is 5 star quality. The rooms themselves are basic and I am sure will be updated sometime soon. The rooms reminded me of a beach bungalow- it had what you needed and nothing more. As I mentioned earlier the wifi could definitely used a boost and in this day and age that is very important to have.
We were in room 1a (the honeymoon suite) and the location was just perfect- literally feet from the water and a wonderful view from our bed or Jacuzzi. Our issue with it was that we were supposed to get a kitchenette but were ‘upgraded’ to the honeymoon suite that did not have a kitchenette (only had a mini fridge). In the end, it worked out well enough since we ate out almost every night since the island has so many restaurants and bars and we brought snacks and alcohol with us which we kept cool in the mini fridge. Our room was extremely quite (no noise from any bars or outside visitors). The only noise we heard was in the morning when our upstairs neighbors stomped and danced around (too early for vacation). It was hard to tell if we were able to hear them because of their ‘heavy’ feet, if the insulation wasn’t great or a little of both.
All in all we were happy with our stay at Exotic Caye and would recommend it for those who do not require posh accommodations and are looking for a clean, friendly, convenient and affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water...make sure to get a kitchenette room preferably on the second floor (any b...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aho682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I'm told this property is being earmarked for demolition and rebuilding -- that would be a good idea. It is very basic, old and not well-taken care of -- the hotel staff is marginal -- not unfriendly, but not particularly helpful either -- cleaning staff were friendlier than office staff. Reading their adverts, you think this was a real resort, when in essence it is just a collection of dilapidated buildings with sketchy restaurants. Our bedroom window backed to the main street, so we heard traffic noise almost 24/7. We used a Groupon and this was the first poor experience we've had with that. Have to let them know as well, not to pub this spot. Our last night here a group of young people arrived -- 20 somethings -- this is just their kind of spot, as they don't expect much, but for seasoned travelers who are accustomed to a quality property, this is NOT the place.

Room Tip: We got the standard thru Groupon -- apparently the deluxe is a better choice -- all have oceanview...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelChild94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#26 of 53 in San Pedro
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mata Rocks Resort
Mata Rocks Resort
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#33 of 53 in San Pedro
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#39 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $85 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exotic Caye Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing