We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check the room before you commit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Check the room before you commit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here over the Christmas holiday. After reading good reviews on TA, we booked 6 nights and paid in advance. I was told if I booked by the end of October, we would get the honeymoon suite for the price of a standard suite. Sounds awesome, right? Upon arrival, the manager was not present (it was a Sunday so I understood) and we were in a standard suite. I showed the employee the email chain showing what I had been promised but I was told it was not available. So be it. We were in Belize and had traveled on a red eye to get there. We checked into suite 2A, a first floor unit that was in serious need of updating. Everything looked really old like from the early 80s. Since I was told this was the unit they had for us, we checked in. Day one, our sliding door kept falling off the track. After two nights we saw our first bug in the bathroom. By the third night after a day of diving, I saw a cockroach larger than a small dog. Since it was after hours, I wrote an email stating the issues we encountered and said I would be at the office first thing to get another room.

The next morning (Christmas Day) I was there at 8am sharp. The manager was present and has apparently read my email from the night before. She told me that she had no other rooms available and that they could not call an exterminator. Basically I had to accept this room as is. That was unacceptable. Knowing that some units were empty, I asked again to get another suite and reminded her of the emails stating we were supposed to have the honeymoon suite. I said if that was not possible to refund me for the previous night and unused nights. At first, she balked stating their refund policy prevented her from doing that. After much back and forth, she "found" a room- suite 3b- another ground level unit next door that was MUCH nicer, updated and most importantly, bug free.

Bottom line was that the location was great, about 1/2 mile outside of town, an easy walk and beach access, although you can't really swim with all of the sea grass. The on site restaurant -Melt- was excellent for breakfast and lunch. Just make sure you view the room in advance and bring any emails as back up.

Rooms in buildings 6-7 are close to the bar which can be noisy. The bar, Crazy Canuck's is very popular with locals and tourists so it's a great place to hang out but be prepared for noise til 11pm or later. Buildings 1-3 were further away and less noisy.

Room Tip: Lower numbered buildings are further away from Crazy Canucks, the beach bar that draws a crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ali_law71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    84
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
123
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a living social deal for 5 nights with daily breakfast and dinner and a snorkeling trip included.

- staff was amazing without exception! From the front desk to the cleaning staff to the general manager... Everyone was amazing
- after 2 nights the manager flagged us down and let us know they would be doing some tile work above our room and offered us a free upgrade to avoid the early and late work noise
- the food with the vouchers (melt cafe and spice it up - both on site) were both GREAT! We were pleasantly surprised and weren't disappointed with one meal
- the snorkeling trip was spectacular. The hotel excursion company didn't have any trips planned the day we wanted to go so the guy at the front desk called around and found us another company to take us and they covered it with the voucher. Hol chan and shark and stingray alley were spectacular. Best snorkeling we have ever done
- as many have mentioned... Do not expect to swim off the beach at the hotel or anywhere in San Pedro really... There is some great swimming off the dock at Ramon's which is less than 10 Knute walk up the beach
- our first room was 3B which was a one bedroom downstairs, our upgrade was 2C which was a 2 bedroom upstairs. The view and privacy from 2C is way better but we actually liked the little 3B room better. The shower was bigger and the thatch roofs in the upstairs unit are cool but make for a little more noise and had a touch of leaking (nothing worth worrying about... Just a few drops)

Overall... Amazing value and I would definitely recommend! N

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PassportStampsWanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Last January my husband and I went to Exotic Caye and San Pedro for the first time. We loved the resort and the town so much that we are going back next month. It was just perfect for what we needed. Friendly helpful staff, clean, comfortable rooms, awesome beach bar and Melts Café. There are restaurants all around and a short walk to right downtown San Pedro. We loved the feel of the cozy resort right on the beach. We are so excited to be able to do it again. We have been planning this for months, and it is not much longer now. I would highly recommend this location !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtournour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just returned from a great vacation on Ambergris Caye. We were fortunate to scoop up a flight deal and the Groupon offer, which was a bit of a leap of faith, but we were not disappointed with anything. The pictures on the resort's website are true to life, it is rustic but in a charming, laid-back way, and within a nice beach's walk to town or many restaurants, bars, dive shops, etc.

We loved our stay at ECBR for so many reasons - amazing staff, beautiful setting, great food and entertainment. Thanks so much and hope to be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frolicksbyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the resort for two weeks with our Groupon. It was a great place to stay the help were really helpful to us and the food at the Melk for Breakfast and Spice it Up for dinner were great. We really had some great food during our two weeks on the island. We went on two snorkeling trips each and rented a golf cart to get around the island. I would go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daanlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We loved staying at the Exotic Caye resort. Excellent value, clean rooms, perfectly seated in San Pedro & on the beach. Great staff & wonderful customer service. The staff was very helpful ensuring we had everything we needed for a perfect stay. The resort also has security guards...not they are needed as we felt very safe in San Pedro.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night ask for a room not close to the road kill bar. But, if you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koethen, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spent 4 nights in the Exotic, is a nice place to stay. The rooms, especialy the furniture requires some make over. The location direct at the busy road makes it to a uncalm place at least for the rooms close. No place for swimming in the sea. Connected Melt café for breakfast serves good food and reasonable portions.

Room Tip: As always, take a room close to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Property: Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#37 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Exotic Caye Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing