We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Had a fantastic time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Jamestown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a fantastic time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are looking for a Hilton, you're in the wrong place. You may... be in the wrong country.
Very basic facilities enhanced by very helpful staff and some partnerships with local businesses that allow ECBR to have a larger footprint than it is able to have independently.
Stayed here as part of a package that involved two local restaurants (George's Kitchen and Melt)< Crazy Kanuck's and the Fitness Club.
I never cooked there, there was a kitchen though. I would be wary putting more than 2 people in the suite I stayed in; only the bedroom is air conditioned.
Sleep quality was affected by AC unit and Karaoke from bar across the street, but not drastically.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    83
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
122
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took advantage of a seven night offer through Groupon and were so pleased that we did. Having the taxes, transportation, breakfast, and activities included added to the value of our accommodations. The resort is a little older and more rustic but we enjoyed every minute! Reliable internet, a great beach, fantastic staff (we loved Josie), and perfect location added to our enjoyment on our vacation! Our unit was clean, beds were comfortable, and as two younger females on a budget vacation, we felt very safe. The live music at the beach bar provided great entertainment and we loved our daily breakfast at Melt. The walk to town is about 15 min, which made it very easy to tour around San Pedro by foot. We highly recommend this resort for anyone looking to maximize the vacation budget and able to look past a few outdated amenities. If you visit, say 'hi' to Jane the resort cat for us...she kept us company our entire trip, even sleeping at our door.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view. If you are a lighter sleeper, you may want to ask for a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The resort was great, located on a beautiful beach in the center of San Pedro. The people make the place a 5 star, because they are so friendly and always have a smile on their face.

The resort was older, but beautifully situated. The food at MELT made it even better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

When we first got to San Pedro via the water taxi, we knew the hotel was on Coconut Drive. We had a basic map that showed the street on it, but not the hotel. There are no street numbers or signs in San Pedro, so we found the street and started walking. It was about a 15-20 minute walk.

Check in was really easy and the two ladies in the office were really nice and helpful. We stayed in a basic room, 2A, and that turned out to be great for 2-3 people. You enter through a sliding glass door, into a living room area. There's a futon couch, small tv with cable, dining table with a couple of chairs, and a small kitchen with older appliances and mismatched dishes. There is a fan in this room, and with the sliding door open, that was enough most of the time. Then you walk through the kitchen to get to the bedroom and bathroom. There's a double bed, dresser, closet, nightstand, and two chairs. The bathroom is attached and is very small, but functional. No bathtub. The bedroom has a fan and window AC unit, so that was good.

The property of the hotel is nice. There's a breakfast/lunch cafe and a bar, hammocks and beach chairs on the beach, and a tiny (kind of laughable) pool that's about 20'x6'. However, with the hotel key you get admission to the San Pedro Athletic Club two blocks down the street. This is where you go swimming. It has a 250K gallon pool! The club is right next to the airport runway so you watch the planes take off an land about 50' from you. The club also has tennis courts and workout equipment (which we did not use).

Overall, everyone here was really nice, including the groundskeeper and nighttime security guard. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to a family or couple that wants to be a little out of the way. It's not a crazy happening area, but that's what we were looking for.

Also, all the hotels on the beach seem to have happy hours, so check those out. On Sundays, the Crazy Canuk (Exotic's bar), has a live band and a horseshoe tournament.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 and 2 are closest to the beach. Room 2A is literally 28 steps from the water. Random...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned April 24-May1. I would go to this resort again and would recommend it to some-others would find it a little too rustic. The place needs some TLC but then most places inBeleze seem to. It was clean though, and the beds comfortable. I have to give a big shout out to Mateland and I hope I spelled his name right He is a treasure! He knows everyones name and will get you whatever you need-thanks for the coconut water. We felt very comfortable there- like family. The beach bar was always busy (lots of expats) Sunday it's THE place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacagirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overall, I recommend this resort. It is right on the beach (although, the beach is not conducive to swimming). There is a dive shop right next to the resort, which is very convenient.

Be aware that the air conditioning unit only services the bedroom and on hot days/nights, it gets very uncomfortable in the loft and in the front room.

There are also no hairdryers in the rooms.

The food onsite (at the bar and at the Melt) is terrible, bland and greasy. However, when we were there, the free breakfast vouchers we received through our Groupon were valid at George's Kitchen and the food and service there were great!

I would visit again if I were going scuba diving (and I would bring a hairdryer on my next trip).

Also, our friends in the next room had hooks on the porch for drying their scuba gear and we did not. So, really it's a hit or a miss with the amenities that come with the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewerNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake tahoe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We needed a budget hotel to offset our inland splurge. It is conveniently located close to town on a lovely beach that is kept very clean by the awesome staff. We wanted a golf cart for a day to explore and Rhonda at the front desk had a beautiful cart delivered in minutes. Scuba reservations? Dinner reservations? All taken care of for us. The kitchette was very handy for breakfast items and other things that needed a refrigerater. We did not cook, but the microwave was nice to have also. The rooms are all right on the beach. The units need a bit of TLC but as there is a teardown/renovation in the future plans upkeep is kept at a minimum. Nonetheless the staff and location made up for the conditions. I did enjoy the real thatched roof!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmtahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Property: Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#37 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Exotic Caye Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing