We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveler rating
609
300
61
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
609
300
61
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuff e nuff swim up bar water taxi in town ping pong golf cart ambergris caye rum punch upper level pool bartender awesome pool hot tub full kitchen upstairs unit tamales rented bikes sister property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 991 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2017

We spent a week at Ambergris Caye, at the Belizean Shore Resort. It was an amazing week. This is not a luxury spa resort. It's probably more like condo rentals or timeshare. From what I can gather, some units are better than others. We had a one bedroom unit. It was sufficient. Everything worked as expected. Let me break it down.

In our unit, the kitchen was adequately stocked for simple cooking. The bathroom was clean without foul smell. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable and the pullout bed was just ok. We have no complaints with the daily room service. They replenish water in out room too. ( Always use bottled water when in Belize.)

There is a smallish pool in the complex. It is good enough for a cooling dip or for kids to play in. Nothing fancy. The beach is not for swimming. We tried swimming/snorkeling from the dock and it was not worth it. Algae slimy water was a turn off. We also used the free kayaks to get to the reef and jumped off for snorkeling. It was really fun even though getting back on the kayak takes a little practice, and the wind could make it a good workout to get out there. We also used the free paddle boards. But again, in the summer it was very windy, so it was hard work.

Snorkeling/excusions: The tour office is onsite. It's convenient since they take off from the resort dock. The price is a bit more than the tour company in town. More about that later. We did a deep sea fishing/snorkeling/ Beach BBQ lunch. It was really fun. We enjoyed every part of the tour. The staff really tried hard to have us catch lots of fish ( also for the BBQ lunch later), and had us alternate doing other activities. Snorkeling in Belize is a class in itself. This is why you are here. All in all, we had an amazing time.
We also did book another snorkeling trip from a company that we drove by while in town. That tour was much cheaper, and we visited more places. We were picked up at our resort and taken to the dock in town. A minor inconvenience, but it was an A+++ trip. Got to swim with a manatee, sharks, rays, find crabs to feed to the turtles. My son got to try spear fishing, etc. What can I say? It was great.
We also bought a trip to the mainland for cave tubing and visiting a Mayan Ruin. Great trip but not a cost effective way to visit Belize.
*Money saving tip*: The tour company in town offered to give us 10% discount if we had paid cash.

The tamales guy: Yes, if you see the tamales guy, get some tamales, breakfast burritos. They are very good. We did not get sick, if that's something you are worried about.

Golf Cart: We rented ours from the resort because we were already at the resort. We paid more for the golf carts though. It's definitely nice to have it to go to different restaurants. Also to buy tropical fruits / baked goods, to enjoy in our room.

All in all, next Belize trip, we would stay on the mainland for a few night to hike ATM, other Mayan Ruin, caves, jungles, then head to Ambergris Caye. Once you dock or land, send your luggage to the resort if someone is picking you up. Go walk around a little in town (very small), and rent a golf cart to get to the resort.

The tour companies don't pass out flyers. You pretty much need to drive around and take pictures of their boards outside, or go in to talk to them. You could find better tours than what the resort offers.

We loved our stay at the Belizean Shore.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eco4fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirGuestSrv, Guest Relations Manager at Belizean Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Thanks for your review! We are delighted to know that you had such a lovely time while staying with us at Belizean Shores Resort. It sounds as though you were able to take full advantage of your time on Ambergris Caye, and even got a taste of the mainland. As with most tourist destinations, there are many providers offering tour services and golf cart rentals. We provide both onsite for the convenience of our guests. Our tour provider always operates with safety at the very forefront, using only fully licensed guides and boat captains, and following all of the required policies by those licensing institutions. We are happy to read that you plan to return to Belize, and hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

We stay at Captain Morgan's but eat at the Belizean Shores Restaurant!! We found this great restaurant years ago and don't understand why it isn't packed. The food is wonderful and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. I love their conch fritters!! The restaurant is at the rear of the resort and you get a beautiful view of the sun setting. The fish we had was amazing. The portions are large and food is so fresh. If you want great food for a reasonable price this is a place to go. Not fancy but delicious and great service. Truly an unknown place to go. They need to advertise!!!

Room tip: Not sure about the hotel but it looks really nice and well maintained. We go to the restaurant since it is so great. A must to try!!
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirGuestSrv, Guest Relations Manager at Belizean Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

What a lovely review, thanks for sharing your dining experience with us. Our third-floor location with windows on all sides does provide unbeatable sunset viewing over the lagoon.
We hope to host you again in the future on your return trips to Ambergris Caye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

This was our 4th visit to Belizean Shores. If I find another resort with as good a price, service, value I will consider staying there. But until I do I will keep returning to BS. Having the paved road running north as far as BS is a great benefit and makes a trip into town an easy ride on the golf cart. We did not visit the restaurant this trip, but used their service at the pool bar several times. Always good food. Barry at the swim up pool bar did a great job making use feel welcome. Ran into a group from CA that we have seen on three different visits.....they keep coming back too!

Room tip: Ask for a building close to the beach ...1, 2 or 11, 12.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirGuestSrv, Guest Relations Manager at Belizean Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

We loved sharing your review at our weekly staff meeting! Our tagline is "Feel at Home" and we are so pleased to know that it is more than just words. The biggest compliment is a return guest and we look forward to welcoming you back home to Belizean Shores soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

We visited the hotel recently. The hotel is really pleasant, clean, staff are great. Location is amazing. 10 mins drive by a golf car is the Track Stop amazing place to have dinner, watch a movie. 20 mins the other direction is the Secret beach - must visit beach, lovely place. Unfortunately as eating is a major part of people's holiday the restaurant in the hotel just ruins your experience. We waited for breakfast 50 mins day 1. Lunch took about 1 hour and they bought us cold and really bad food. I think the restaurant needs to be closed and changed completely as this puts people of visiting :( apart from that the hotel is lovely. Jose and Morris at reception are amazing

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank silvyz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirGuestSrv, Guest Relations Manager at Belizean Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Thanks for sharing your review. We are glad to know that your experience of our resort and Ambergris Caye was positive, with the exception of your dining experience. We have taken your comments to heart and are working internally towards improvements in order to provide a better overall vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017

The Belizean shores resort is a beautiful place in the midst of a lot of not so beautiful surroundings. The staff is not welcoming or even cordial. I never felt like we were wanted. This attitude carried over to the Belizean community as a whole. The room was beautiful and a short walk to the pool and ocean. There is not much of a beach and a sewage smell was frequent. There were ants in the room which is not a big deal, but it was things like this that made it uncomfortable. Of the four bartenders at the resort and sister resort Coco Beach, one was pleasant, the others were bored! The one very good element was the restaurant at Coco Beach where we had two very good dinners. Overall this is not a place I would go again,

Room tip: Give it 5 more years
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GMunee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirGuestSrv, Guest Relations Manager at Belizean Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We were truly disappointed to read that you felt unwanted, as we feel our staff are truly engaged and welcoming to all of our guests. Belizean's in general, are widely known for their friendliness and hospitality. We are sorry that this was not your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews