We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belizean Shores Resort
Nearby Hotels
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$360
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$214
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
576
287
56
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
287
56
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuff e nuffswim up barwater taxiin towngolf cartbasketball courtambergris cayeping pongrum punchawesome poolbelize cityfull kitchenpool bartendersister propertytuff enuff toursrented bikeswater trampoline
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 937 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent five nights at Belizean Shores and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations and staff. Upon arrival, we were greeted with rum punch and a warm towel and our luggage was carried to our room for us. Penny, the manager, was wonderful. She knew our names by the first day and was such a help with all of our questions. Both Denis and Levi at the front desk were awesome. They helped us out with our water taxis on a daily basis, as well as all of the rentals we used. We only ate at the restaurant once, as we prefer more local food, but the quesadilla was great for a snack! The pool was ridiculous! So fun with the swim up bar and if the temperature is too chilly for you, don't worry, the spa is connected so you can still hand out with everyone! I highly recommend Belizean Shores! The only downside (and I wouldn't say its a deal breaker), is that the hotel is a ways from downtown so you will either need to use the water taxi, golf cart, or bike. Not a bad thing, but if you are wanting to go to and from downtown multiple times a day, you might want to think about getting a hotel closer to San Pedro.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We LOVED this resort. As a retired travel agent I have traveled the world and stayed in MANY great resorts. Belizean Shores was by far the best place I have ever stayed based soley on the wonderful people that work at this resort. Yes the accommodations were perfect, yes the grounds were beautiful, yes the pool was awesome with the swim up bar, the food was yummy....but by far it was the folks! Penny in guest services was wonderful. Levi and Dennis at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful. Magic Mike at the pool bar was tons of fun for both the adults and kids...very entertaining-hence the name Magic Mike!!! We booked all our excursions with Tuff E Nuff- All the folks with Tuff E Nuff where great too. EVERYTHING we arranged was executed with perfection. The guides were all knowledgable and extremely helpful. Tuff E Nuff is located at the resort which was a plus for sure. I simply can not say enough about what a perfect vacation this was from start to finish. I can't wait to go back.
BTW-I chose Ambergris Caye because I knew it was a great place for our children ages 18-15 and 11....plenty of fun for all ages!

Room Tip: We were in 6A and B...upstairs and down at back of resort. Perfect for us...beautiful pool view and water view. Great for family of 5..parents down, kids up...upstairs unit had a loft as well with 2 twin beds...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mablemaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our first trip to Belize so we did a lot of research before booking. We looked at more expensive options but Belizean Shores seemed like a great value and we could not be happier about our decision. The Staff is extremely helpful. They coordinated our arrival and departure (boat taxi and Tropic Air) before the trip and assisted with massage appointments and dinner reservations during our stay.

Location
We were a little concerned about staying outside of San Pedro and having limited options but that was not an issue at all. BS has a number of resorts/restaurants/bars within easy walking distance and was quiet enough at night that we could leave our bedroom windows open. We walked into San Pedro once (just for the experience) but took the water taxi the rest of the trip and didn’t feel like we missed anything because we weren’t staying in the city.

The Resort Grounds
We were very pleased with the condition of the resort. The pool and beach areas are great and we never had issues finding chairs regardless of what time we arrived. The tennis/basketball court area looks brand new and the outdoor ping pong, chess board, water trampoline and slide at the end of the pier provide other fun options. The grounds staff is out early every day cleaning up with beach and maintaining the landscaping. The pictures on the BS website really don't do the resort justice - the resort is beautiful.

The Rooms
The rooms are very nice (we were in and upper level beachfront suite) and include kitchen basics for those that choose to make their own meals. We also had a coffee maker (coffee grounds and fixings included), blender, and ice cube trays. The water pressure isn't great but was more than sufficient for showering and we always had hot water. Others have mentioned but I wanted to add that the resort discourages drinking the tap water in the rooms. They provide a couple of water bottles for each room and have a drinking water tap on the west side of the pool to fill your bottles. We brought two of our own water bottles (also convenient for mixing our own drinks) and used the pitcher provided in the room which limited our drinking water trips to 1-2 per day.

Pool Bar
The pool bar has a nice selection but is fairly expensive. They have daily happy hour specials that are decent deals but if you're idea of vacation is poolside drinks all day, I'd encourage you to bring a plastic drink cup, buy some bottles and mixers, and mix your own drinks. You're not supposed to bring your own drinks to the pool but it was not strictly enforced.

Restaurant
We had read the negative reviews about the resort restaurant but we were really impressed. We ate two lunches (one poolside and one up in the restaurant) and were very pleased with the quality and amount of food we received. The apps are very good and comparable in price to standard restaurants. The main dishes are also very good. They might be a little expensive but seem to be in line with what the other resorts are charging. The happy hours specials in the restaurant are very good, especially when compared to the pool bar. (The restaurant and pool bar are run by different companies so their prices and happy hour schedules differ.) I’m really glad that we tried the restaurant and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick/good meal.

Breakfast Burritos
There are two breakfast burrito vendors that ride bike along the beach every day (a young couple that arrived around 7:30 and a man that arrived around 7:45). We bought from both of them throughout the week and everything that we had was very good. Both had a variety of burritos on different days (egg/breakfast, chicken, steak) but the young couple had beef empanadas that we really enjoyed. The food from the young couple was usually a little cheaper too but did seem to vary throughout the week which makes me wonder if they aren’t just starting and developing their pricing strategy?

Tuff E Nuff
I will be writing a more thorough review of Tuff E Nuff under their TA page but wanted to include a quick review here. We did two 2-tank dives with AC, did a sunset catamaran cruise, and bought the 5 day water taxi pass. Having Tuff E Nuff right at the BS pier was so easy. It was really nice to roll out of bed, grab a quick breakfast and walk 100’ to the dive boat. AC was great and the diving was as good as we’ve ever had. The sunset cruise is also a must do. They provide rum punch, beer and ceviche that was as good as anything that we ate all week. The water taxi drivers are also very good and maintain a tight schedule. It’s been said before but it would be really nice to have a few more trips back and forth but we were able to make the schedule work.

We ate meals at several resorts during our stay. There are newer and/or nicer resorts on the island but for the price, Belizean Shores is a great value and we will definitely stay there again when we return.

Room Tip: The lower level beachfront suite units have a better view of the water than the upper level due to the palm trees.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRK_JJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is our favorite resort in Belize, this was our forth trip, this resort has always made us feel like we are family and they have always gone above and beyond to make each stay memorable. The staff is warm and friendly, from the gentlemen who brings your bags from the dock to the ladies who clean our room everyone is great. If you have never been to Belize you are missing an adventure of a lifetime. The resort itself is a smaller family oriented place, twelve buildings 4 units in each.Nothing better to sink into the pool after a tough day of diving snorkeling ruin climbing or just plain relaxing get massage on the beach or drinks in the pool, polite vendors come by with all kinds of things from the incredible weaving to food vendors who ride their bicycles up the beach. One rule you can go by here is if it smells good go ahead and try it we have never had a bad experience with any of the food if you want more info about this resort check out of YouTube channel under DrMucker all one word you will find many Belize videos we have made while in country We will be returning next year for our fifth visit to this resort and island it's just great, please look is up feel free to ask us anything about this resort or anything else about this great country

Room Tip: Buildings near the beach have constant breeze from the blue Caribbean and they do have the best views all the rooms do have AC bit we prefer to open the windows and let the breeze blow through buildings 7 through 12 have construction going on but it's not a big deal as you will be off on any number of adventures
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We loved spending two weeks at belizean shores. Spacious and clean!!!! Right on beach. Staff were amazing ! Tuff nuff tour group is right on pier. Great tour operators! Location of hotel perfect. Water taxi steps away. Beach steps away. Tuff nuff tour group steps away. Amazing views. 25 minutes to town by golf cart. 15 min to town by water taxi. Either way it's an adventure. You can walk to town too. Takes about 1.5 hours but great way to explore island. Or better yet ride your bike. The island is safe and locals super friendly. Beaches are never crowded. This was one of our favorite things about belizean shores. Private beach. Pristine and amazing! We loved belize. The people. The food. The weather. The snorkeling. The accommodations. Couldn't have asked for anything more except wished we could have stayed longer!!!!! We will certainly be back next year or even sooner!!!

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic. Closer to beach the better
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews