We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel for Groups!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel for Groups!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

All of the guests for my wedding stayed at Belizean Shores and it was the Perfect Spot! The hotel was the perfect size (we took 21 rooms) for all of my guests to enjoy the pool in the center and hang out together the entire week.
The price is great and rooms were really nice, the pictures don't do it justice. I have some very picky friends and family and they were very pleased with the cleanliness and size of the rooms! We were also very pleasantly surprised how comfortable the beds were. The staff greets you upon arrival with a rum punch and escorts you to your room. Marianne, that worked with the hotel, went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was great! She and all her staff were INCREDIBLE!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    269
    52
    10
    3
See reviews for
214
394
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The rooms are beautiful, the pool is fantastic, the grounds are immaculate, the staff are amazing, the restaurant is expensive, and the golf carts are fun, but also pricey. The water taxi pass through Tough Enuff Tours was a great deal! Kayaks were always ready to go, and the resident moray eels and fish that live around the dock provide for daily entertainment. I would recommend to families with younger children, and anyone looking for that "condotel" experience.

Room Tip: Request the buildings that are not near the new construction of the hotel going in next door. Reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerCADTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I loved this hotel. Everyone was so welcoming and kind. I wanted to move in ! Marianne was awesome. The food and service was great ! Will at the bar was really cool too. I cannot wait to come back for longer next time!

Room Tip: Bring a lot of mosquito repellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our 5 nights at Belizean Shores! The 2 story upper unit was just right for our family of 4 (ages 7 and 10). Do know that the kitchen comes with only salt and pepper, coffee and filters and sugar. It was nice having a kitchen to prepare a few meals. I actually shopped at a grocery store steps from the San Pedro airport while we were awaiting the taxi to take us to the water taxi upon arrival. The store was very small but had the basics. Kudos to Marianne and all the guys at the dock and around the property who were so pleasant and helpful. We had one dinner (Belizean BBQ) and one breakfast at the resort, and they were quite good!

Trip highlights:
-full day snorkel cruise (plus 2 hours at Caye Caulker) with Lady Leslie. big fun!!
-dinner at Mango's at a resort up north called Matachica. They send a bus at 7 to pick you up, and return you by boat at the end of the evening.
-the pool at Belizean Shores, including the bar!
-buying fruit from the product boat (Tues. AM) and tamales and burritos from the guy on the bike on the beach!

Don't forget
-bug spray (although we only had one dusk dinner when bugs were bad)
-flashlight for after-dinner walks home on the beach
-buy something at the duty free store inside the airport in San Pedro and you'll cut to the front of the line to leave the airport. ASK if this is not offered! Saved us probably an hour of waiting.

I didn't rent a golf cart ahead of time, but we rented one for a few hours and rode into San Pedro one day. I thought the roads were awfully bumpy and the ride was unpleasant. I was surprised to hear a local say that the roads were a 9 out of 10....and that sometimes they are completely impassable. ugh! So glad we didn't spend much money on the golf cart rental.

Enjoy Belizean Shores! We hope to be back one day...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srwilfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just got back from our first vacation to Belize and had a wonderful time! We stayed at the Belizean Shores Resort on Ambergris Caye. The resort was great! Clean, large rooms (they have a bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen, living room, and dining room) with room service who even did your dishes everyday! The resort had tennis courts, a big chess game, a fabulous pool and swim up bar and all types of "adventure gear" such as kayaks, paddleboards, and snorkel equipment. The staff (especially Marianne, the guest service lady) were all incredible helpful, knowledgeable and kind. Having the "tuff e nough" tour guides right on the dock made booking adventures- such as snorkeling, mayan ruins, etc.- so, so, so easy and we we're so happy with all the adventure activities we did! We stayed 6 days and we're so very happy with our experience at Belizean Shores- we'd recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: The rooms come in groups of 4- and the houses are numbered 1-12, so your room can be 1A, 1B, 1C, 1D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just got back from 5 days at the resort and had a great experience. Maryanne the manager is great. The rooms are very nice, stayed in a loft, my daughter thought it was great to have her own area. The rooms are clean, the kitchen has everything you need to make simple meals which we did quite a few times. The rooms are cleaned everyday and they even do the dishes if you have any. The views from our deck were priceless in the morning having coffee and eating our burritos from Mario. Mario would show up between 7 and 9 every morning with breakfast burritos and chicken/steak burritos for lunch it you wanted. $2.50 US a piece. We rented a golf cart twice to go to town, had alot of fun. We ate at Estell's and Elvi's in town both very good and reasonable. Ate at the restaurant at the resort twice, it was good but the menu is very limited. The pool is very nice, and a great place to relax. Ate at Captain Morgans resort one night, great food and a bigger menu to choose from. We used Tuff E Nuff tours for a snorkeling trip, great guys and reasonable.. We also snorkeled out front of the resort, and saw alot of fish. We would stay at the resort again, great place to stay for the money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

When we go on vacation, especially to a new place where we may not have the opportunity to return, I make sure to jam pack our days and experience as much as we can. Belizean Shores is in such a great location, that we were actually able to explore and relax, all in one vacation! Typically, I need a vacation from our vacation, but the amenities, the people, and the staff made this feel like an actual vacation.

We started off our trip in Florida and had a quick flight to Belize City. Since there are five of us, we didn't fly from there to the island, Ambergris Caye/San Pedro, though I wish we could've. If you can afford another $200+/pp, I recommend this route. Instead, we took a $20 cab ride to the ferry. This I didn't mind. It was a great way to see part of the city. If you've never been to a Caribbean island or parts of Central America before, this may seem scary, but believe me, it wasn't. We got to the dock and purchased our tickets while someone tagged our large amounts of luggage for us. We shopped around the open air terminal and drank our first Belikin. It was a good day. While imbibing, we met Austin. He is a local who scouts out tourists and offers them huge discounts on excursions. Having done our own excursions in Hawaii rather than pay tour prices, got me interested. More on him later. Soon, our water taxi arrived and it was a mad dash to get on board. I could see why: you're basically sitting in the bow of a boat, with long benches surrounding the circumference and a long bench in the center. We ended up in the center with nothing to lean back on. After a plane ride, this wasn't the most comfortable trip, especially when you really don't get much air and can't see out the windows very well. If you're the least bit claustrophobic, you will want to avoid this. Regardless, it was the most economical route for us. Finally, we make it to San Pedro after a quick stop at Caye Caulker along the way to drop off and pick up more ferry passengers. In San Pedro, we were greeted by Albert, who whisked away to the resort in an open air boat. The smell of the sea and the warm air hitting your face let us know that we had finally arrived. After about 10 min., a rum punch and Marianne were awaiting us at the Belizean Shores dock. Immediately, we became family. Someone once again, took our luggage while introductions were made and rum punch was distributed. Marianne took us on a leisurly stroll through the lush landscape to our 2nd floor condo- no rush to check in, we could do it later! So, we arrived and were very pleasantly surprised by our accommodations, especially since we literally booked it the night before, having "lost" a previous reservation for a different condo. This 2 bedroom condo is filled with local woods from the beams on the ceiling, to the banister on the staircase, to the floors themselves. Off of the living is a large, covered lanai with comfortable furniture for watching people at the pool or enjoying a meal. Through the palm trees, you could peak at the Caribbean. The upstairs loft was perfect for my boys, though the bed was extremely hard. Since we have 3 children, they were kind enough to bring an aerobed and set it up for us- even though it deflated the first night :) They brought another one for us and it stayed inflated the rest of our stay.

Besides the authentic accommodations, we were once again pleasantly surprised when we came in after breakfast and our dishes had been done! Having a family of five, we brought a large suitcase full of food to take advatage of the kitchen area. Never did we think that our dishes would be done for us! Not only that, but the condo was cleaned everyday. That was a huge bonus.

One day, we decided to venture on the bikes onsite. My daughter's bike ended up with a flat tire. We were able to cal from a bar, and they sent a golf cart to pick her and the bike up. Unfortunately, the boat wasn't available to pick us all up- my boys not used to traveling on that kind of terrain. All-in-all, they didn't charge us for the bike rentals and treated us to some drinks at the Blue Hole- an awesome pool bar that you HAVE to swim up- it's over 6 feet deep! The bartenders there were like everyone else: awesome. Friendly, great storytellers, and amazing service. Even the groundskeepers would machete some coconuts for us. The kids thought that was awesome, as well as the new slide and diving board they just had installed at the end of their dock. We had some fun with that, along with the new paddle boat. They are really trying to make this a family-friendly place, and it certainly felt that way. While there, we saw the lifesized chess game that was being built on the property as well as ping pong tables- next time we'll get to use them :)

Down the beach a few minute's walk is the Captain Morgan's casino- fun for a night out. We also took advantage of Tuff E Nuff begin onsite, taking the Ho Chan and Shark Ray alley tour. A MUST while there.

Believe it or not, I've tried to shorten this. I'll write more about that Austin in Belize City in a different review about Eco Tours when we went to Lamanai for the day. The bottom line: Although Belizean Shores is not as luxurious as its sister property, The Caribe, next door, you can't go wrong. The staff are amazing and the property is so quaint, you do feel like family. Oh- and don't forget to hang out on those hammocks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globettotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
851 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing