We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort to visit!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a great time staying at Belizean Shores. Marianne and all the staff are awesome BEST service ever. From arrival to departure we had excellent service. The condo was great clean and very cozy, pool and bar are great place to relax. Had many great meals at the restaurant, you have to try there Shevachi, (aka ceviche) one of the best on the island. Location is great close enough to every thing but far enough away to just relax. The staff at Tuff E Nuff Tours Provide a excellent service for any tour you want.

Room Tip: Ocean front is great but a little windy at times. But the best view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dale470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
There are newer reviews for Belizean Shores Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 876 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Belizean Shores was a great place to stay in San Pedro, Belize. When we landed, in San Pedro, they met us at the airport with a taxi, and after two short blocks, they dropped us off at the Tuff Enuff Dock for a boat ride to the resort. They loaded our luggage on the boat and whisked us away. Maryanne, the guest services manager was waiting with Rum punch or fruit punch as we approched the dock. The porter put our luggage in a wheelbarrow and carried it to our awaiting room. After a little bit, we went to the office to register and get the golf cart we rented. We made our way to a grocery store about 3/4 of a mile up the rode to the north. The road is very rough and had been washed out a few days before. The resort had a great pool area, and my wife loved the coconut mojito's (Thanks Maryanne for the recomendation). The restuarant at the resort was good, we ate there twice. The resort is not far from some other good restuarants as well. The resort has free kayaks, paddle boards, a floating trampoline, and a slide off the dock, all of which was great to use and try. Tuff Enuff has an office at the dock and it was easy to either catch the water taxi or book a snorkle trip. They even let you bill it to your room if you want. I really like the fact that the room was a condo unit instead of a stuffy hotel room. We were able to eat on the front porch and watch the ocean or the sunrise. One day my wife got tamalles from the guy on his bike with a cooler on the front, filled with yummy food. We even got a good recomendation for a place to eat lunch one day from the staff, the Lazy Croc BBQ. The staff was very friendly, and Marianne, remembered everyone's name when you saw her. For our first time in San Pedro Belize, I booked it by expedia and didn't know a thing about it other than the reviews. We were impressed and will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place beat my expectations for what I thought would be a relatively modest budget-conscious vacation rental. First of all, the units are one-bedroom condos, not hotel rooms. They come complete with a kitchen. living/dining room, and bedroom. Each unit is differently furnished, as they apparently are individually owned, but centrally managed. Speaking of management, I have to give the place very high ratings. We were greeted on the dock by two welcome rum punches (they call ahead to find out your preference - booze or no), and the friendly, smiling face of Marianne, the guest services manager. She gave us a nice tour of the property, and arranged to have us moved to a unit closer to the beach the next day. Every single person you encounter in this place is friendlier than the last. It is rare to find a place where you have nothing bad to say about the service; usually, this happens at very high-end hotels like the Orient Express chain of hotels, but this modest condo complex delivers.

The cons: the beach is, at best, for sitting, only. There is mostly seagrass in the water, so you really don't want to go in. The food is at best, unspectacular. Don't bother eating there other than breakfast (which is pricey, at about US $12 plus drinks). Visit San Pedro town instead, or walk up the beach about ten minutes to the Terrazas resort, which has a good restaurant.

Overall - what a terrific place. It's not a super-lux hotel, but the service makes it seem like it is!

Room Tip: There are only a few oceanfront rooms. The rest are all set back a bit, but the ones closer to the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed an very peaceful 8 day visit at this resort. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean. The pool is very beautiful and is the jewel of the resort. The swim up bar at the pool perfect for a hot afternoon!

The staff help to organize your visit and give great recommendations for outings and dining choices. The staff at the dive shop are very knowledgeable about the area so it makes your diving experience that much better.

You can rent bikes to go into town travelling via the beach. As the hotel is 4 or so miles north of San Pedro, so it is a bit of a ride. Great way to see the sights and discover the town. You can stop at the Palapa Bar and have a refreshment overlooking the sea! A water taxi is available as well on a set schedule so you have to plan a little bit to take it.

Diving and snorkeling is great. Blue Hole trips don't go everyday so plan ahead!

Great value for the money!

Room Tip: Building # 2 is close to the ocean and has an ocean view. Top units are bigger as they have a loft...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kruperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After landing at San Pedro airport then we were driven around the corner by a taxi to the dock where we took the boat taxi to the resort. The ride in the taxi was so short we could have walked it easily, but that just shows the great customer service awaiting us at Belizean Shores resort.

We arrived at the resort dock and waiting for us was a cold rum punch. The staff took our luggage to the suite. The suites were spacious and comfortable. The beds were by far some of the best I have ever slept in. The staff was accommodating and pleasant. The pool is beautiful and was never busy. Even though the pool wasn't busy they kept the swim up bar open. The resort is far from town though but that’s what we like (you don’t have all the traffic and noise, just peace and quite). Take the boat taxi in or rent a golf cart which is fun and a bit of an adventure. We loved ours stay at Belizean Shores and we will return.

Water Taxi - Water taxi's only run every hour and fifteen minutes. Its last run from town back to resort at 10:30pm. Get the 5 day water taxi pass which gives you unlimited journeys to and from town for about $30 US per person. This was definitely preferable to the golf cart; much of the road from San Pedro town to Belizean Shores is potholed sand/dirt track and can be a bit of a challenge! It takes about 30 minutes by Gulf cart, and 10 minutes by boat. You can take a golf cart from the property but only during daylight (not recommended when dark).

Groceries there are 2 stores within walking distance. Captain Morgan's is within 8 minutes’ walk south of the resort and has some basic food and liquor - but not much else. The other grocery is north but is much farther. It took approx. 20 minutes to walk and didn't have much more than the closer store. The best grocery store is new and located at the south end of the airport, prices a bit higher but it is clean and has proper refrigeration for the fresh milk, meats, etc. Burrito Man - rode his bike to our beach every morning at 8 with fresh burritos, tamales and fry jacks. For $2.50 each, we'd stock up for lunch with these.

Produce boat - stops by on Tuesdays.

Restaurants –The restaurant at Belizean Shores has just been turned around and it’s one of the best spots to eat. There are other restaurants very close to the resort - 2-5 minutes’ walk. All were good.

Rooms - each room has a hair dryer and comes with coffee and a jug of water that you can refill for free all vacation long. You are allowed to bring your own beverages to the pool as long as they're not in glass containers, so that can cut down a lot on your bill if you mix your own drinks in your room.

Bikes - One day we rented bikes and rode along the ocean...this is worth doing and inexpensive. The bikes are cruisers with only one gear but a very nice ride on the beach

I highly recommend the coconut mojito at the pool bar or a Dirty Banana at the pool bar.

Customs – When you land in Belize City buy something from the duty free shop before you go through customs. Note, if you buy from the duty free store, you go through a special line on the left for those who purchased. We jumped ahead of about 50 people this way. So buy anything and it’s well worth it.

Room Tip: All room have a nice view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scuba-Breaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I loved the flexible room layout with the separate sleeping loft. There is plenty of space to get comfortable, though with the lovely pool and beach you won't want to spend much time in the room. We had a gorgeous balcony view. The housekeeping service was excellent. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The sleeping loft had a low ceiling and was not as cool as the rest of the unit. It would be excelle...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family, part of a larger group, had a great stay at Belizean Shores.

The water taxi from San Pedro is convenient. Make sure, though, that your luggage makes it from the airport all the way to the boat - some of our group's luggage was left curbside by the taxi about 100 feet from the boat. The arrival process is nice, with a guest services representative taking you directly to your room. Once you have had a chance to relax and unwind from your travels, you can then go to the front desk to complete the check-in process.

The rooms are all spacious suites, with a full kitchen (well-stocked), dining area, and living room. The upper units also have a loft with bedding (varies by unit). Housekeeping was fantastic - the rooms were spotless! Divers would probably do better with an upper unit as their dive gear can be hung-up to dry without the risk of walking off. Laid out in a horseshoe shape around the pool with all units facing the Caribbean, all of the units have a great view. The pool is fantastic with a swim-up bar. A limited menu can be ordered poolside.

The only drawback of Belizean Shores is the restaurant. The food is good, but the structure itself seems to be an after-thought, set-back behind the accommodations on the third floor of a building. So not only are the views poor, two flights of steps are required to get to it - not ideal for anyone with any form of disability. The food is relatively expensive with everything having to be transported in from the mainland. Each unit does have a kitchen, but don't be surprised by the high prices in the grocery stores. Talk to the locals to find out where they go for groceries. Golf carts are available for rent. It is about a 20 minute drive by golf cart down the main road to town. Lots of restaurants are along the road going into town.

The service is outstanding with very friendly staff members. They memorize your names and greet you by name each time they see you. Visit the bar or restaurant enough, and there's no need to order - they know what you want and how you like it.

A wide variety of activities are available from swimming to scuba diving, with paddle boats, sea kayaks, and jet skis also available. The front desk will arrange for spa services either in your room or on the beach.

Room Tip: Buildings 12 and 1 are on the water, but all building have good views of the water. Upper units h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,357 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
646 reviews
1.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $152 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing