We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Belize Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Belize Resort”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a great resort and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious and we had a full kitchen and large living area. Other reviews have commented about the lack of privacy because the upstairs has to walk through the porch area, but that was not an issue for us. We also did not experience any noise issues from those staying above us.

We did have one maintenance issue on the A/C unit, but that was quickly repaired by the resort's maintenance staff.

The pool is excellent with a swim up bar and nice features. A definite plus for the resort.

The beach area is small, but that is standard for resorts in Belize. My one negative for Belizean Shores is the distance from downtown San Pedro. We were in Belize for an event that required us to go to town everyday. The primary means of transportation to town is water taxi that leaves from the pier in front of the resort. This is an additional charge, but a 5 day pass can be purchased for only $30. The frequency of the water taxi makes this means of transportation less than convenient. Unless Belizean Shores (Sandy Point Resorts) increases the frequency of the water taxi, I would recommend staying here only if you don't want to visit San Pedro too frequently.

Room Tip: If you like to sit outside and take in the sights, I would recommend an upstairs room. You can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    264
    51
    10
    3
See reviews for
207
388
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This resort is really nice. It is a little ways away from the town of San Pedro, but you can buy a multi-day ferry pass and they will take you by boat at set times. It was nice to have a kitchen because the town offered some fantastic fruits, vegetables, and seafood that you can make yourself. The pool was nice; I like that it actually had a deep end. The only downside was that the hot tub was set way too hot and made it impossible to sit in there for more than 5 minutes, even at night. The grounds were beautiful and they had kayaks you could borrow that would get you to the coral where the snorkeling was pretty decent. Overall, it was a great trip, which was made better by the fantastic staff. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the proximity to the city of San Pedro.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be in a good location, just some closer to the ocean than others; but all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChutTheGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I went on a spur of the moment trip to Belize in January. We were so pleased with the resort that we extended our stay.
It was perfect from the moment we arrived and were greeted by Marianne with an icy Rum Punch till we regrettably left in the complimentary boat that took us to the airport, Our stay was perfect.
The condo was well appointed with nice furniture and comfortable beds. Rooms were cleaned daily and immaculate.
The location of the resort is on the north side which is free from the hustle bustle and noise of the town, but easy to get to town if desired by boat at a nominal charge. You can also easily bike to town on one of the free beach cruisers. Also free SUP and Kayaks make for fun beach activities
On site excellent dive facilities with TuffEnuff made diving a breeze. Ask for Billy or AC. Very professional.
Can't wait to go back!!!
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirtless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Outstanding little resort, perfect hideaway, undisturbed vacation, good services, spacious apartments, with perfect comfort, central a/c, ceiling fans, kitchen, large fridge, very large terrace.
Fantastic pool, all just a few yards away from the beach.
Good , casual dining, with a nice latin touch, great BBQ, with fresh vegatables and salads, great happy hour , starts at 2pm.

All resort staff are bilingual, some speak german as well.
Easy reach to san pedro by watertaxi, we only went once to san pedro, preferred the safe and pleasant ambiance of the resort.

Room Tip: 5 a all rooms - apartments facing the pool and beach, plenty of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just overall had an amazing trip. All staff was exceptional, especially the front desk and the bartenders. Maryanne and Levi were just perfect! Funny, accomadating, easy to get along with and friendly! Had a great time at the swim up bar and late night swimming where no one bothered you. The beach was very cute and the view was phenomenal. We loved the rooms. We were in Coco beach next door and we prefered the smaller resort and our rooms as it felt more inviting and had better a nicer bathroom. Even some friends from Coco beach next door were also impressed! You must rent a golf cart and you must try resturants up and down the beach. And you must do nothing and lay around and enjoy the resort! We were in Belize for 2 weeks but we spent out best 4 days were here!! We want to say a special thank you to Mike, Deon, Milton, Maryanne and Levi ! You guys made out trip so relaxing, yet so exciting!!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We just spend 5 nights in this resort. Nice room, clean and a good location. The pool are huge and the jacuzzi are nice. The beach also are nice and you can walk easily for a long walk. The problem are the restaurant. The food are really bad and the price are crazy expensive. You can buy a food in the city and cook by yourself. This is the only way to have something good. The water taxi cost 5$US one way and they are really usefull if you wont see something else than the resort. They have a reaaly goog place to eat in asan Pedro.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Espaceselect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Belizean Shores for our friends' destination wedding. This was our first tropical vacation and there were many great things about this place. We stayed in a ground floor room and loved sitting out on our patio every morning. PROS: The rooms are clean,beds are very comfortable, the kitchen had all the supplies you would need to cook, plenty of space, almost all the rooms are very close to the pool, pool area was wonderful, free use of kayaks, paddleboards, paddleboats and water trampoline made the ocean a lot of fun. CONS: Booking was a pain! (Due to booking as a wedding guest, we were forced to call the resort, then email, then wait for an email back, then fax them our credit card info etc.--It took FOREVER!) The WiFi in our unit rarely worked. We were able to get our emails, but there was no way the service would have been good enough to Skype. (I know not everyone is looking to contact home on vacation, but this was our first time away from our young son, so we had been hoping it might work to Skype). The food wasn't that great (although, none of the meals I had in Belize were that great), almost no water pressure in the shower-if you want it hot, you lose what little water pressure you have. The rooms don't have darkening curtains, so we ended up waking up very early every morning. Unlike all the other reviews I read, we did not find the staff to be overly friendly. They weren't unfriendly, but I definitely didn't experience any of them going above and beyond. Also, the bride and groom were told that the wedding guests would be allowed to use the amenities at both Belizean Shores and its' sister resort, Cocoa Beach, but we were harassed by the staff when using the Cocoa Beach pool. Also, when we checked out they tried to charge us $80 in phone charges even though we never used the phone. They did eventually take that charge off our bill.

We ordered groceries from Mata Grande and that worked out really well for us.
Things I wish I had known before we got there---each room has a hair dryer and comes with coffee and a jug of water that you can refill for free all vacation long. You are allowed to bring your own beverages to the pool as long as they're not in glass containers, so that can cut down a lot on your bill if you mix your own drinks in your room. I would definitely avoid taking the water taxi from Belize City to San Pedro. It might be cheaper, but it adds a significant amount of travel time on to your vacation and it is NOT a comfortable, leisurely ride. Definitely avoid it if you are pregnant or have any back problems!

We ate at Capricorn restaurant one night and it was excellent! Beautiful atmosphere and fantastic food! We also did 2 excursions with Lady Leslie Catamaran tours and I can't say enough good things about them!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing