We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay at Belizean Shores!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
468 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“A Great Stay at Belizean Shores!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a great vacation in Belize. This was our first time in Belize and we learned a few things on this trip that we thought we would share with everyone. If you haven't been here before it might be nice to know.......
1. Arriving in Belize City --- Buy your liquor at the Duty Free - you will save a ton of money. We purchased several bottles of wine for $6 and $8. We didn't really have high hopes for them -- but they turned out to be very good. Comparable wines on the Caye are a min. of $25 and they go up from there;
2. Tropic Air is a great airline to fly over to the Caye. Everyone was helpful and friendly and the flights are quick and convenient;
3. Once you land in San Pedro - it is a quick 1 1/2 blocks to the dock where you take the boat to the Belizean Shore Resort. Unless you have a ton of luggage there is not much point in waiting for the taxi;
4. Once you arrive by boat to the resort you are greeted and given a very refreshing rum punch and cool towel, shown to your room, and left to unpack -- it was great after travelling for over 15 hours;
5. Our 'room' was actually a very nice 1 bedroom with loft 2nd floor condo. As people have mentioned the Condos are somewhat dated -- but it was very comfortable and had all the necessities - including a full kitchen. The bathrooms are supplied with numerous toiletries including soap, shampoo, lotion;
6. We had dinner the first night at the resort - as we got in after 7:00pm. The food was okay, but not great. The wine was terrible. Breakfast - on the other hand -- was great. We had the full meal deal with eggs, bacon, potatoes, coffee. Very good.
7. The location of the resort is a bit isolated so if you are looking for a major party place this is probably not where you want to be. You can take a golf cart or bikes into San Pedro during the day. At night you would need to take the water taxi.
8. For groceries there are 2 stores within walking distance. Captain Morgan's is within 5 minutes walk south of the resort and has some basic food and liquor - but not much else. The other grocery is north but is much farther. It took approx. 20 minutes to walk and didn't have much more than the closer store. There is supposed to be a grocery that you can order online with - but when I checked for our trip they were out of most items that we needed.
9. Restaurants -- there are 3 that we tried very close to the resort - 2-5 minutes walk. All were very good. The two locally run ones that I would recommend are Rendezvous and Capricorn. The 3rd one is 'O' which is in the resort just a few minutes north of Belizean Shores. This one had great food -- but it is definitely a 'formula' restaurant -- typical of the big Mexican resort restaurants.
10. Finally I have to say that the staff here are amazing. They will try to accommodate any request that you might have. Marianne - the Guest Service Manager - is fabulous. It is easy to see that the staff are one of the many reasons that people come back to Belizean Shores!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    235
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
176
346
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The staff was very nice and tried to be very helpful. My complaints consist of being told there was wifi which didn't work very well and the food was not very good. You have to pay to go to town either by boat or by cart each and every time you want to go I thought everything was very much over priced.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whtever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Marianne, Deon, Milton, Cesar, Michael and everyone else thanks so much for making our trip to Belize perfect! Whatever we asked for, and didn't ask for, the staff made happen for us. The hotel is beautifully maintained, the suite we stayed in was perfect for the week, and there were so many things to do!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sishoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Belizean Shores in July 2012 for our honeymoon. This was our third stop in Belize and it was a great way to end our honeymoon. The first two hotels had no A/C so Belizean Shores felt like a luxury resort! We stayed in an upstairs room facing the ocean. It is a very big space and we were spoiled with the A/C and TV! Ha, the Olympics were on and we did not have TV in our two previous hotels, so it was a treat. The room was great, the bed was so comfortable, there was a little kitchen which was nice, the staff was nice also. The resort is actually a bunch of privately owned condos whose owners rent out as a resort, so it was funny to meet some of the owners in the pool and hear about their life in Belize! The pool was very nice and the swim up bar was fun. We are not really lounge at the pool or beach people though so we did not spend too much time there. The restaurant is not that nice, but was convenient when we needed a snack. We bought the water taxi pass and went into town for all our meals. For breakfast there was a vendor riding by on a bicycle every morning selling breakfast tacos! (Or go into town to Estelle's!) There are not a lot of restaurants in close walking distance so we definitely made use of the water taxi. But going into town was a lot of fun and part of the experience. Overall we really liked the resort and we liked that Tuff E Nuff tours was right there at the Belizean Shores dock!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneCowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dime City, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I were completely blown away at the level of service we received at the Belziean Shores resort on our recent stay. The staff was extremely friendly and took care of our every need. While in the restaurant we met the woman who owns it who was on her way the door after a long hard day yet she still stopped to ask us how our food was and give us some notes on things to do/see while on the Island. It is apparent that everyone who works here is proud of the establish and takes great pride in their part of making guests feel right at home. Would we stay here again? Absolutely, without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fiance' and I had stayed at this resort for 7 days in March of this year (2012). It was cool having to ride the small plane, then a taxi, then a boat to the Shores.

The place was nice and quiet. The furniture was a bit old-school but it gives a true island feel. (Reminds of the Philippines). The staff was always helpful and Tuff E Nuff staff was awesome. Shout out to Raul!

We had an upstairs villa closest to the sea with the balcony facing the ocean. We left the balcony doors open all day and just layed there. Great breeze, great weather.

The food at the restaurant could be a bit better and not too expensive, but we ended up grocery shopping in San Pedro and just cooked breakfast daily and ate in the balcony.

We didn't do too many adventures as I wanted to relax, but next time will do for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16Diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Belizean shores consists of privately owned condos that are operated as a hotel. We had a three bedroom right on the beach. This is not a Ritz-Carlton, but if you want lots of space, be on the beach, have a pool and restaurant, and have it be relatively cheap and very clean, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 128Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
6.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
3.8 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing