We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
142
55
17
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
142
55
17
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no worries tours in town tranquility bay golf cart fishing rods ambergris caye bring plenty of bug spray bumpy road get away from it all snorkeling adventures water taxi dvd player the beach is nice mata grande boat ride full kitchen every morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 235 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2019 via mobile

So we booked sapphire beach resort based off of reviews..
pros
Rooms are clean and safe
Fair price
Good food
Excellent excellent customer service....

cons: which I feel out weigh the pros
Way too far from town- it’s at the very northern point of the island - took us an hour from town to get to our resort on a golf cart and there’s an endless amount of pot holes on the way
The water was mirky brown color close to the shore- which islanders told us it’s Bc of being closer to the barrier reef so it pushes and stirs the sand more.
The seaweed was pretty bad

** if you want a really private tranquil area and you have a family with kids this would prob be a good spot, but for a couple who wanted to explore and adventure this wasn’t the best pick
As I said amazing customer service and the food: drinks were great

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019

Dear Katie

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your vacation time at Belize. We are glad to see our staff helped make the difference while you were staying with us.

As you point out our resort is geared toward relaxation, fun and watersport activities. We have free use of kayaks, paddle boards, bikes, snorkel gears, and fishing gears. The onsite tour company can organize diving, snorkel and fishing trips, mainland tours to the ruins, zip line, ATV and cave tubing.

Our locations puts the worlds second longest reef just offshore and further north is the Bacalar Chico National Park and Marine Reserve and UNESCO world heritage site. Both amazing areas for diving and snorkeling.

For certain periods of the year recently, Central America, the Carribean and parts of Mexico have been hit by sargassum. We work very hard every day cleaning the beach up for guests. It is something we are continually evaluating to get the best results.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019

This resort is one of the best maintained on the north of the island (we visited others to try various restaurants). The grounds are well kept and the rooms are clean and spacious. The kitchen had everything. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Management kept things interesting with outside movies, sportscasts and dining. The little restaurant was good enough, but not up to par with the prices and rest of the resort. The beach is nice, but the seaweed kept the resort staff busy. We had the place to ourselves, it was really nice.

The internet was reliable until the weekend when guests began to fill the resort. It should be better clarified that though there is a TV and a DVD player in your room, there is no broacast TV. The resort offers free DVD rentals, but it's not quite the same as having a digital menu for the days when it rains. We just used Netflix on my laptop.

The biggest problem is the main road that exists to service the northern resorts looks like a war zone. So if you have pre-rented a golf cart for the week, like we did, you are stuck with it for over 6 miles of potholes and ditches in each direction, every day. Driving that road at night is not advised. I'm shocked we didn't flip the cart or break an axle. If you have a bad back it's better to stay at the resort. The alternative is a water taxi that runs $15 p/p, per trip. I had emailed with the resort to obtain transportation info the week prior, but there was no mention of the road condition. That would help people select the water taxi instead. The resort offered us two round-trip tickets for the inconvenience. I think they should have offered a bit more.

It's worth noting that there are no phones in the room, so if there's an emergency it could get ugly fast. I would reconsider if I had health conditions or there were children or seniors in my party. It also makes guest service requests more inconvenient. Phones were advertised when we booked, but rightly they have since been removed from the listing. Still, easy to miss that there are no phones as phones are standard.

Overall, the place is really nice, but until the roads are fixed it's best suited for a very specific customer: one who wants to disconnect and doesn't want to do much outside the resort. It's better for those who just want to relax at the resort, dive a little, and only make a few trips into San Pedro by water taxi.

Room tip: Stay on the top floor of any of the cabanas. Anyone above can be heard walking around.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dcdavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comment-Relations, Public Relations Manager at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Thank you for your review and we are truly happy that you enjoyed the resort and had such nice comments on the resort, facilities and staff.

Though we do note the road conditions in our arrival information we are sorry you were not given more clearer details when you called. We were happy you provide you the four water taxi passes. If you normally purchase these passes through our front desk, they are only $10 each pass, which is a big savings on purchasing directly from the taxi company.

The in room phone listed on one site was a formatting error and we thank you for pointing it out. Many accomadations in Belize do not have in room phones, but we provide an after hours number for any emergency as we have a manager and staff onsite 24 hours and security at night also.

Any if the many staff around the resort are happy to accommodate any request or question you may have.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018

This was our first trip to Belize so we were planning to stay in Belize City but decided on a whim to spend a night at this resort in San Pedro. Keep in mind that this resort is only 9 miles from San Pedro but feels A LOT FURTHER! I'd highly recommend that you take the Coastal Express boat after arriving in San Pedro as it takes only 15 to 20 minutes.

An alternative would be renting a golf car like we did. The first 3 miles were smooth but the last 6 miles were dirt and riddled with potholes so it took us close to an hour to reach the resort.

One downside of the room was that there was no phone to reach the front desk and since there were only two bath towels in the room I had to walk up to the front to get more. Make sure to bring mosquito repellent as the resort is filled with mosquitos so my fiance and I now have at least 10 bites each.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bmac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

Dear Mac

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your vacation at the beautiful Belizean beaches.

We are so happy to see that everything went well while staying with us. One of our goals is to make the stays of our clients´something special, we can see we succeeded with you. Our location is ideal to rest and enjoy of the beautiful weather of Belize, away from the noise of the city, in a little piece of paradise, where you will always find something to do.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018

Be sure and get all info about road the room was pretty good but watch for scorpions in the room they are huge and the desk doesn’t seem to be to concerned about them. Don’t go barefoot in your room.Service at front desk is a bit slow

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 739lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comment-Relations, Public Relations Manager at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Thank you for your comments. We always take on board all comments to make the guest experience better, which we always continue to work on.

Since we are in a Tropical location there are local insects around. Rarely we find anything more than a Gecko in the rooms and when it happens they are removed immediately.

Our goal is to make guests stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible in our beautiful tropical surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018

Best resort the this type fishing. Was able to rent golf cart on site and was able to head north to find a secluded spot to fish. First day drove to the end of the trai took about 2 hours. Found several awesome spots to wade into the water. First day caught three bone fish next day caught five

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterb-nj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

Dear Peter

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your visit to Belize. We are very happy to see that you had a great stay and that our location was ideal for your travel plans.

We send you the warmest greetings and thank you for rating us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews