We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was one of our favorite stops”

Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar
Ranked #46 of 188 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Only restaurant that specializes in wonderful recipes of the famous invasive lionfish! Other seafood & meats served as well in a rustic outdoor island setting (Walk Ins). Try our Chef's Table Option for the ultimate dining experience where you watch your meals prepared in front of you by Belize's Taste Of Belize Master Chef Competition 2016 Top Finalist, Chef Mar.(Reservations Required.) Fun Bar Atmosphere
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was one of our favorite stops”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Found this place going back and forth into town, stopped for a beer and a snack and found a place that specializes in lionfish recipes, we liked it so much we stopped two more times during our adventures.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbtays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We love to be one of peoples favorite places as we welcome everyone and give them a great experience hanging out with us and other locals and tourists alike with excellent Lionfish appetizers, snacks and signature dishes! Come back again for a fun time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    41
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dauphin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the food and great presentation!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This place specializes in Lion Fish, a dish apparently not served anyplace else on Ambergris Caye. Three of our group tried it and all agreed it was great. I had the smoked pork chop and it was great! The presentation was perfect with flowers on every plate.
My wife ordered a mohito and it was too sweet. Ask for a bit less sugar. And the furniture. You sit on boards on stumps. I would recommend a few tables and chairs, but that is just my taste! Just remember, the food is great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dauphindave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Excellent food is one of top priorities so it great to hear you all enjoyed it! The entire restaurant was built ground up by us the owners and done to our island taste which is rustic. As time goes by, upgrades will take place, maybe some cushions, we appreciate your insights, thanks. Some have watched us grown from a grill in an empty lot, to one table, then another etc..then by demand came a full kitchen and a bar!

Our newest upgrade is a Chef's table with a bar built around a huge coral rock grill where you will be able to watch your food being cooked by reservations only, seating limited to fifteen persons...

Be sure to come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My group did not have dinner here but stopped on our way back to our resort for a few drinks. The bartender was very attentive and we got to meet the owners that were there that evening. We enjoyed their Lionfish shot! If you are on the north side of the bridge I definitely recommend stopping for a drink or two.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeviTexasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Let the party begin! First I apologize that you didn't get to try our excellent food and we are happy to know you had a great time at our bar. we are the only bar open until midnight north of the bridge and we make sure everyone has fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequannock, New Jersey
1 review
“A must!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The best fritters in San Pedro!
The staff are friendly and wonderful!
Going back in 2 weeks- this wil lbe our first stop!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Plenty of your meat of choice, freshly chopped onions, peppers, tomatoes and cilantro mixed in our very own Belikin beer batter, we are glad you think they are the best on the island because that is what we strive for! Excellent food made with love..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pirates treasure a northern island delight.”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice place to have a drink & a snack, share some laughs. All outdoor seating. Right next to the road(which is bloody rutty these days from the rain) so you just park your golf cart & step right into the bar.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Well thank God the rain is over, the road is better! it is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed what we offer! See you next time for some more laughter, food and drinks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing