We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle Island Jewel”
Review of Aurora's Grill

Aurora's Grill
Ranked #108 of 191 Restaurants in San Pedro
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean
Restaurant details
San Pedro, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Middle Island Jewel”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Now this has got to be one of the coolest spots on the island. Located next to Mata Grande store just past Indigo Resort. A true neighborhood hang out with great food and prices. Aurora and her husband serve up first class meals in a friendly casual environment. Want to find out what is going on with the locals, meet fellow travelers and explorers, or just have a great breakfast or lunch while exploring the northern part of the island on your golf cart or bike, then this is the place. 4.5 miles from town it is a good destination to shoot for, or a half way point if you want to attempt the next stretch of the island and brave the northern road. You get the added benefit of being able to stock up on supplies at Jason and Mandies Mata Grande store. They have everything from first class fresh baked artisan bread to fantastic ice cream. On top of that their prices are down right fantastic and they will deliver to your house or condo. Take that Safeway!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidG916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Amazing local food!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was one of our favourite places to eat on the island. It is about 4.5 miles north of San Pedro. It is right beside the Mata Grande Grocery (which is an amazingly well stocked little store with all of the basics you need!!). We ate there several times for breakfast and lunch. My 11 year old son had an omelette which he says is the best he has ever had in his life and the waffles were huge (with fresh honey). For lunch, we basically tried everything on the menu and loved it all! For value and the relaxed atmosphere, this was easily our favourite place to eat! Plus, there is nothing like lying on the hammocks under the palm trees waiting for your meal to arrive!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem! Our best meals on San Pedro and great value”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We discovered this hidden gem of a restaurant during one of our many visits to the Mata Grande Grocery Store (about 4.5 miles north of San Pedro). Aurora's Grill opened in October 2012 and serves breakfast and lunch from a cute little shack next to the grocery store. The lunches we had here were very reasonably priced (cost about 76 USD total for 4 adults, including 2 beer per person) and the quality of the food was exceptional and better than meals we've paid twice this for in other restaurants in San Pedro.

We ate here twice for lunch. The Salbutes (deep fried tortilla with chicken) were delicious, the fish tacos (made with fresh homeade tortillas) were great for sharing and the chicken nachos were also good for sharing. Chicken fajitas were delicious too. Our favorite (including our 18 month old) was the conch fritters and the ceviche, but everything we've tried has been delicious. I am looking forward to returning to try some other menu items.

They also offer BBQ specials on the weekends, and the same owners do the dinner at the Sundiver resort in the evenings (reservation recommended by calling Aurora's Grill directly).

While not on the beach like some of its higher priced competitors, the atmosphere is very laid back and a great place to chill out under the palm trees, lay in a hammock, listen to some reggae music and chat with other travelers.

Follow the signs to Mata Grande grocery when walking along the beach north of San Pedro or arrive by golf cart or bike along the road (it is not on the beach). It is located directly behind the Sundiver resort. The grocery store is well-equipped with the basics and the prices compare with the larger stores in San Pedro. The owner, Mandy provides exceptional service to her customers and delivery of the groceries is free if you spend over $45 USD (which is especially handy for the cases of beer).

This hidden gem will become very popular once word gets out....and a must stop to anyone visiting the north part of the island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaBudgetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wonderful little outdoor place, beside Mata Grande store.
Fabulous food at reasonable prices, good service.
The people who run it are really nice and eager to please.
Best place to eat on the island.
They serve breakfast and lunch, Dir dinner the same folks cook at Sundiver Beach resort.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dec0rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora's Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Aurora's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing