We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic BBQ in San Pdero, Belize”
Review of Lazy Croc BBQ - CLOSED

Lazy Croc BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Southern Slow Smoked Barbecue served Tuesdays - Sundays from 11am - 7pm
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ in San Pdero, Belize”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Awesome pulled pork, salads & ribs! Plus, if you like key lime pie you have have to try theirs - it was great! The dinner for two fed us for dinner and lunch the next day. The staff were fantastic and the scenery was great. One of the new owners, Christian, was there and took the time to chat with us. We nicknamed him the "croc whisperer" because he got one of the crocs to come close enough so that we could take a pic. It's a great place. Definitely a must to try if you like BBQ.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    45
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garner, NC
2 reviews
“Fantastic FOOD!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

during our two week stay for a mission trip, we enjoyed the food more than any other food we ate! The BBQ IS FABULOUS! We're from North Carolina and have strong opinions about BBQ, sweet tea and fried okra, they excelled in all of that and then SOME! The new owner is friendly,dedicated and accomodating. Fed our group of 50 people on SHORT notice with rave reviews! You have to eat at this place, worth the time it takes to get there. Thanks Christiano for your hospitality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best BBQ on San Pedro!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stumbled upon this place because we passed a golf cart who said they were looking for it since they heard it was the best BBQ on the island and only open till 3. We were originally going to eat at Palapas, but just stopped by to see the place and continued on our way to the Lazy Croc! The first thing I asked was can you order me some birds to show up so I can take their photos? There is water behind the restaurant that just looked like a great photo op. Christiano, the new owner said, I can get the croc to come out for photos, and he sure did! The BBQ lived up to its reputation and was awesome! The rum cake was amazing! We are so glad we found out about this place and we spread the word to many others to make the trip north over the bridge and check it out! Definitely worth the trip. Thanks Christiano!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great BBQ on Ambergris Caye”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a great surprise. Wonderful pulled pork and other smoked meats. The new owner Christiano will help point out the crocodiles in the lagoon. Also try the sunken rum cake or frozen Caye Lime Pie. Don't expect fast service here or anywhere on the Caye. you are here to relax, talk, soak up the atmosphere, and enjoy great food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stonesdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised Great BBQ”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

With new owners and being from Texas I was not sure what to expect with this place. Let me tell you the BBQ was outstanding, the staff wonderful, and the scenery out this world. Hats off to the new owners outstanding job guys and such a friendly group of people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timmy131970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Croc BBQ also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing