We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sangria” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Orchid Restaurant

Black Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 184 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Island Dining at It's Best....Serving Dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30p-9:00p......Happy Hour Social from 3p-5p......Just 2.5 Miles South of town, a quick Golf Cart Ride beyond the Croc Pond and well before the Marco Gonzales Maya Ruins.....Reservations Recommended.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sangria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by Black Orchid while visiting San Pedro. Beautiful restaurant. The owner showed us around. We weren't ready to eat so we had a drink at the bar. Bartender was really friendly. The sangria was wonderful. Refreshing and not too sweet. Loved the thinly sliced apples. Didn't make it back for dinner but will go the next time we are in town

Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Mary Jo D.....So sorry you folks did not get a chance to eat with us.....However, super glad to hear you enjoyed the Sangria.....We import the best wines to make this Sunday treat.....along with our fresh fruit it's a refreshing cooler......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    71
    34
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Do not miss this gem of a restaurant if you come to San Pedro, and do not be deterred by the potholed state of the road. We went there by chance, and came back three more times during our four day stay in San Pedro. The service is friendly and efficient, and the food really, really good. Between the four of us we tried all their seafood dishes, and my favorite was the Crusted Orange Rum Grouper with coconut rice, the perfect combination. The Seafood Alfredo was also in a class by itself. The portions are generous. None of us had room for dessert at the end of the meal, but that was perhaps because we did have seconds of the freshly made bread which was irresistible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GaviotaGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Gaviotagull....Thank you for taking the time to write this review......We are happy to hear you tried most of our Seafood dishes....We are very fortunate in Belize to have the Caribbean Ocean so full of delicious choices for entrees.....It makes our jobs a little easier.....Thank you for joining us..... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service, atmosphere, good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We ate here twice, once for dinner on our first night in San Pedro, and again for Sunday brunch on our last day. The atmosphere is great and the service is very good. Everyone is very nice! The portion size of the food is great for the price. My husband and I split a shrimp cocktail, salad, and ribeye and shrimp for dinner and were plenty satisfied with room for cheesecake for dessert. We were a little disappointed with the brunch, if only because the entrees didn't seem very inspired or very Belizian - we just expected more. The white wine sangria was great, though! We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lysstwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
lysstwrt.....We are pleased to hear you were able to find value in sharing a dinner entree with us. And yes our Sangria Sunday Brunch is a North American/European menu.....There are great 'local food' eateries throughout the island.....We made a conscience decision to serve more traditional meals with a vacation flair. All fresh, all hand made all locally grown and harvested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A-Ma-ZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were the friends that went with Kari S. The staff was helpful and the food was so great. It is a very cute place with a wonderful menu. The sangaria is the best on the island, so try it! Their bathrooms are lovely and so it the whole place. Apparently the fresh bread is amazing (sadly I can't eat it) but people rave about it. A must try if you want to eat a great meal with some great staff on the south end. I highly recommend this place for multiple reasons. It was the largest piece of fresh fish and cooked to perfection. The coconut rice is also yummy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VCowlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello VCowlen......Thank you for joining us and Kari S for a meal in Paradise. We appreciate you taking the time to write an excellent review.....And noticing the details. We make efforts daily to keep the restaurant in excellent order and we love to hear when someone notices....And yes the Coconut Rice is to die for.....Thanks again for joining and we hope to see you again on Isla Bonita......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing food and people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had Sunday Brunch, lunch and a wonderful dinner at this restaurant, 3 different times. The food was amazing and the people are so friendly. We met Tom and Judyann Horton on our first visit. They made us feel at home and were very gracious, and helpful and made our stay monumental. We will be back soon and will visit The Black Orchid more than once .Rain won't keep us away. Your friends Phil and Misty Herzer from Montana!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Misty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
So very nice to hear from you Misty & Phil........Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review....We are so happy you tried us out for breakfast, lunch & dinner....It was a great week of wet weather and you did a super job of enjoying Paradise. We'll be looking for you to walk up those steps again any day..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Orchid Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Black Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing