We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stop for dinning.”

Black Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 210 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Island Dining at It's Best....Serving Dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30p-9:00p......Happy Hour Social from 3p-5p......Just 2.5 Miles South of town, a quick Golf Cart Ride beyond the Croc Pond and well before the Marco Gonzales Maya Ruins.....Reservations Recommended.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first time to the island and staying South of town, we wanted something close so we chose the Black Orchid. It was a wonderful experience! Our waitress was so sweet and took care of us very well. I had the lobster which was not only delicious, but more than I could finish (but of course I did)! My husband had the grouper and that was great too. We met Tom and Judyann and we could tell that they put their heart and soul into their restaurant and the cuisine. Judyann even showed me the kitchen and introduced me to her staff. I was very impressed. My husband is a retired carpenter and he even said that the building was very well made!
Our last night we went back for more lobster. Once again, we were not disappointed. We will definitely be back next year. Thanks to both of you and your staff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jerome4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Hello Jerome4.....Wow! Thank you for such an excellent review.....When our staff read your words they were all so very proud......They work hard to bring the best meals with the best smiles they can create....and it all comes from their hearts.....Thank you again, we appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 579 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went out golf carting and was surprised to see this beautiful restaurant along the dirt road. Owners were very friendly and the food was good. They made their own bread and pasta.

Thank Comment-Relations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Travelbug 261....Great to hear you enjoyed your stop with us....Thank you for taking the time to share with other readers.......Maybe you'll take another golf cart ride down our dirt road again and we'll be able to visit more in the future.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hortons are great hosts with Judyann exploiting her culinary skills in the kitchen and Tom overseeing the front while sometimes tending bar. Never a disappointing visit with unique twists on many island favorites and introduction of other soon to be popular choices. Always enjoy their Eggs Benedict. Can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CrystalCoasBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello CrystalCoasBroker......So glad to hear you enjoy our Restaurant....We really appreciate you taking the time to write an Excellent Review........Our staff has done a great job using Local Culinary Techniques & ingredients while combining some traditional styles we have all learned.......Yes, the Island Eggs Benedict is one of our creations using exactly that methodology.... Thank you for noticing and we'll look forward to seeing your smiling face again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were touring the island by golf cart and stopped here for a bite to eat. Food was fresh, hot and delicious! Especially the gourmet grilled cheese and awesome fish and chips. Great atmosphere and creative cocktails. Our kids enjoyed it too. We will definitely be back next year during our annual trip to San Pedro.

Thank natkoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

natkoehler.....So glad you took the time to write a review about your lunch stop with us....We truly appreciate that you noticed the freshness in our food.....We work hard to make that happen and we enjoy hearing when our guests notice....We'll look forward to seeing you again next year....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

South of San Pedro there aren't a ton of restaurant options, so the Black Orchid was well situated for us to grab a quick bite. We met the owner, who was very friendly and helpful. We had a wave from his wife, but as the exec chef she was pretty busy. We started with strawberry daiquiri and their signature Blooming Black Orchid -- both really delicious! We laid hands on three different menus which was a little confusing, but they were so gracious about accommodating whatever we wanted to order that it hardly mattered. They did a big take-out order for us in record (for Belize) time. The shrimp dip and spicy shrimp apps were great! The red snapper burger was really good, too. I personally thought the orange rum grouper with coconut rice was just too sweet, but our party liked it. The margherita pizza was good, but here as well the group liked it better than I did (too much garlic for me). I was dying to try their homemade pasta! But we had just had seafood alfredo the night before. Belizean food is generally really really delicious, but we were in San Pedro for two weeks and it was nice to have a more American type option one night, without having to eat a hamburger. I did think it was a bit spendy (cocktails were $20BZ, most entrees were $50BZ), but I think they're trying to go for something a bit upscale and frankly it was worth it one night to not have to drive all the way back into San Pedro. The restaurant, which they designed and built themselves, was lovely. Worth a try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hello babylizzie....Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience with us.....Our staff remembers when you visited and requested a variety of food....It sounds like they did a great job of offering you choices from all of our menus....Mixing and matching both lunch & dinner choices gave you a chance to experience a variety of our cuisine. We are not always able to do that.....We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our Signature Black Orchid Drink along with our Strawberry Daiquiri both made with fresh ingredients including Fresh Strawberries and real Coconut Cream........Our price on a Strawberry Daiquiri is less than $9 US....However, we do have a local Sales Tax of 12.5% that can make it sound a bit pricey....Not sure what fresh strawberry Daiquiri's go for in the US......Thank you again for taking the time to write....We hope to see you again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Orchid Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Black Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing