We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little south of main San Pedro - great food and people”

Black Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 196 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Island Dining at It's Best....Serving Dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30p-9:00p......Happy Hour Social from 3p-5p......Just 2.5 Miles South of town, a quick Golf Cart Ride beyond the Croc Pond and well before the Marco Gonzales Maya Ruins.....Reservations Recommended.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife, Mary, found out about this place before our first trip to San Pedro the second week of April 2013. Open air atmosphere, but it is new and interior remined me of restuarants in Napa (maybe because the hospitable owners came from California). Felt very at home and welcome, and the food was excellent. Just about a 10 minute drive south from the main part of town. I highly recommend it to anyone going to San Pedro.

Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello Rob & Mary...Thank you so much for visiting with us, we are flattered that you would consider us as well designed as some of the California venues.....And we are just as happy you enjoyed the food....We'll look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 469 of 510 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a pretty outdoor restaurant near our hotel. Very convenient and good italian food! Kids loved the fish and chips and spaghetti and meatballs!

Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hello Jill J.....Thank you for joining us....We are glad to hear when the young ones approve of the menu we designed especially for them........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A warm and wonderful restaurant with great service and attention to detail! The Blue Hole is perfection, Rastafarian roast beef huge and delicious, meatballs are soo tasty and Sunday Brunch with free Sangria a must before a Sunday walk on the nearby beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ET A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello ET A....Thank you so much for sharing your part of your Sunday with us.....And yes I agree whole heatedly; a walk on the beach is a great finish to our Sangria Sunday Brunch. We hope to see you again ......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Orange encrusted grouper is one of the popular dishes. Run by a husband wife team this is the place to go. They have put in sprayers to ensure the sand flies are not a nuisance. the servers are friendly and attentive. As with anywhere on island the wine is expensive ($68 average) but worth it in this fine dining establishment. The stuffed mushroom appy is the way to start your meal. A dinner for 4 is around 325 BZ, with bottle of wine, appys and main dinner. Comparable with a good dinner in Canada. High ceilings and breezy. Located a short cab away (7-10 BZ). Is a good place to wind up your visit to island.

Thank LizAbbotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Hello LizAbbotsford....Thank you so much for your tripadvisor report.....We really appreciate you taking the time to see the details and list the facts. And for those viewers who are not aware the monetary exchange rate is 2 to 1......We hope to see you again in a couple of years.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We unexpectedly came across Black Orchid when we were exploring the south end of the island. We stopped for lunch and the food was great and atmosphere charming. We met the owner Julianna who could not have been friendlier and she even took us into the kitchen which was incredibly clean. I wish we were here for a few more days so we could go for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CFTNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear CFTNM....It was so great to meet a fellow Restauranteur who knows a state of the art kitchen when they see one. You have a great family and all of you lit this place up nicely during your visit....We hope to see you again in the future....We sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your stay on Ambergris Caye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Orchid Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Black Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing