We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Grouper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Orchid Restaurant

Black Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 184 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Island Dining at It's Best....Serving Dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30p-9:00p......Happy Hour Social from 3p-5p......Just 2.5 Miles South of town, a quick Golf Cart Ride beyond the Croc Pond and well before the Marco Gonzales Maya Ruins.....Reservations Recommended.
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Try the Grouper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Orange encrusted grouper is one of the popular dishes. Run by a husband wife team this is the place to go. They have put in sprayers to ensure the sand flies are not a nuisance. the servers are friendly and attentive. As with anywhere on island the wine is expensive ($68 average) but worth it in this fine dining establishment. The stuffed mushroom appy is the way to start your meal. A dinner for 4 is around 325 BZ, with bottle of wine, appys and main dinner. Comparable with a good dinner in Canada. High ceilings and breezy. Located a short cab away (7-10 BZ). Is a good place to wind up your visit to island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizAbbotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello LizAbbotsford....Thank you so much for your tripadvisor report.....We really appreciate you taking the time to see the details and list the facts. And for those viewers who are not aware the monetary exchange rate is 2 to 1......We hope to see you again in a couple of years.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    71
    34
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We had lunch at this beautiful new charming restaurant and it was great !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We unexpectedly came across Black Orchid when we were exploring the south end of the island. We stopped for lunch and the food was great and atmosphere charming. We met the owner Julianna who could not have been friendlier and she even took us into the kitchen which was incredibly clean. I wish we were here for a few more days so we could go for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CFTNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear CFTNM....It was so great to meet a fellow Restauranteur who knows a state of the art kitchen when they see one. You have a great family and all of you lit this place up nicely during your visit....We hope to see you again in the future....We sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your stay on Ambergris Caye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“I was expecting better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our food was not 'hot' when we got it, and it was not all that flavorful. My biggest complaint was that the portions were rather small and my husband was still hungry when we left. I was expecting better. The restaurant itself was beautiful and the service was great. it was not my most favorite spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 300JenniferA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello 300jennifera....So sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience with us. We are a new restaurant and strive daily to make changes to improve. We visit with each and every customer and we apologize that you did not feel comfortable enough to tell us directly that there was an issue. However, we take this information seriously and we will make changes to ensure future visitors enjoy their meals with us. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Tx.
Level Contributor
220 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Call ahead to make sure they're open for dinner...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We made the mistake of relying on old info regarding hours of operation & took a very bumpy 20 min. taxi ride to this restaurant only to find out they were closed due to a private party that night. Make sure you call in advance for a reservation because the drive is very long & VERY bumpy from San Pedro with no other restaurants within 15 min. The American owners/managers Judyann & Tom are quite gracious & wanting the best for their guests. Even tho there are calamari, steak, lobster (sometimes) & pasta on the menu (among other things), it is not very imaginative compared to a few other restaurants we dined in San Pedro. The menu seems to be stuck in the past & echos of what an upscale American steak/seafood/pasta restaurant of 1985 might've featured. The stuffed mushroom caps are wrapped in bacon, stuffed with cheese + herbs, the calamari appetizer was on the tough side & average. My husband's crusted orange rum grouper with spicy orange sauce was very good & served with coconut rice + rather plainly done, slightly overcooked veggies. My Surf 'n Turf was a fairly decent filet mignon + shrimp in a creamy, herbed sauce. I'm not a big fan of shrimp, so it was OK. The filet was not as tender as it should've been & served with garlic mashed potatoes & veggies better than what my husband was served. For dessert I ordered their Black Orchid Signature drink, a combination of what tasted like Kahlua & a bit of vodka drizzled over whipped ice cream & crushed ice. The slow downward movement of the alcohol simulates what a black orchid might look like, but just for a moment when it's first served. The restaurant itself has a wonderful ambience, definitely not a place where small kids would feel comfortable, but I imagine some slightly older kids might tolerate it if they are fairly well behaved. I imagine most of the clientele are people who stay at the very south end of Ambergris Caye because the restaurant is located so far south. The restaurant was nearly empty when we dined on a Thursday nite & we would've expected to see a lot more people on a Thursday than we did. Don't know if it was because they are so far out or because not enough people think the food is worth the long, bumpy trip from town. The taxi ride wasn't cheap when you figure a round trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear cmb2.....we are so sorry to hear that you did not have access to our Restaurant Schedule. We have only been open since November and work diligently to get the word out to our neighbors and colleagues. Therefore for the benefit of other readers I will mention that we close on Sundays at 2pm after Brunch and all day on Mondays. Another item for readers to be aware of that there are 2 other restaurants in the area and again I apologize that your driver was not aware of this. We are a small community working together to make every vacationers experience the best. From the Restaurants perspective it appears you joined us in January and we have made some changes to the menu since then, however we decided long before we opened not to offer Lobster on the regular menu. We can only wish that someday you return and have a better experience with us. Either way we are glad you made it back safe and sound to your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite dining spot in San Pedro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a hidden gem on the south side of San Pedro. The food was excellent and the service was great. We loved this restaurant so much we ate dinner there twice. I highly recommend it...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello Nancy P......Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about the restaurant and our food. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us. Travelers like you make all of our efforts worth every moment.........We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Orchid Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Black Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing