We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must stop”
Review of Sandbar

Sandbar
Ranked #43 of 191 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sandbar Restaurant, Bar and Hostel is a thrifty traveler's/backpacker's dream come true. Located in San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, we are on the water and priced for even the most budget conscious. Our bar and restaurant conveniently offer you an all inclusive option for food or rum or both! We have free beach loungers and day beds, free WiFi, a common room with TV and game room and free Kayaks. We even offer laundry service for an additional fee. A San Pedro Hostel for everyone!
Reviewed December 10, 2012

go buy a lemon and have them make a coco loco with the lemon they are the best. Great bartenders and great food thanks so much

Thank paulajane6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodyo, Public Relations Manager at Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We really appreciate your review and favorable comments .
It's always fun to hear such praise from a customer that has visited with us
during our opening month.
There have been some changes and additions to make ,Sandbar, the best place
to eat ,drink and play.
Please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Sandbar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 244 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Sandbar is by far the best restaurant on the island! The pizza is to die for, and lets not ever talk about their pina colodas! Yumm =] The staff and management is great and accommodating to all guests.
If you are looking for a place to lounge on the beach, this is the place! There are plenty of lounge chairs with side tables to enjoy a cold drink with a beautiful ocean view!
Sandbar is a perfect place to relax by the sea , have a few (or a lot)drinks, and enjoy delicious food! GO HERE!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tw7912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodyo, Public Relations Manager at Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our loungers and beach service
it was our pleasure and we hope you will come back many times
thanks again for your time and business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I visited Ambergris Caye from October 22nd to November 7th and had the pleasure of spending time at the Sand Bar in San Pedro. The atmosphere was great and the service outstanding. They have fabulous pizza and the cheapest beer on the beach. The owner goes out of her way to welcome everyone and chat with those who wish to become friends. I become a regular after my first visit.

Cynthia Connors, Nova Scotia, Canada

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodyo, Public Relations Manager at Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

you were one of our first customers
and we thank you for taking the time to write a review
please come back on your next trip, we are striving to be the best on the beach .
and welcome your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am 56 years old, and when I tell you I have eaten a lot of pizza, I mean a mountain of pizza! By far the Sandbar serves not just the best Pizza on the island, but the best pizza I have ever had the pleasure of eating.

The Pina Coladas are special, when I asked the bartender how he made them he asked "can you keep a secret..."

I replied that I "could keep a secret".

He replied that "he too, could keep a secret". Fun atmosphere, terrific owner/managers, and delightful setting. Try it, you'll like it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 5905stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodyo, Public Relations Manager at Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

It's so good to hear from you, thanks for taking the the time to comment on our
little bit of paradise.
The pina 's are one of our bar favorites and we love that you enjoyed your time here.
please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This bar has an awesome vibe and a very welcoming feel to it. On top of that, the service here is top notch! Some bars take forever to get an ice cold beer, but that is not what I have experienced here. The staff at Sandbar are the best, and makes for an all around better bar. David, the strikingly distinguished gentleman with the eyes bluer than the water you are overlooking is always a blast to hang with, and is guaranteed to make you crack a smile and laugh.

So drop by, grab a cold one, and don't forget to chow down on some pizza!

Thank CBillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodyo, Public Relations Manager at Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Sandbar on the beach .
your comments and praise are most appreciated
Please come again and check out some of the new specials we have added to the menu .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing