We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and wonderful owners, would stay...”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Mayflower Casita!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Mayflower Casita!
Living room Mayflower Casita
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Welcome to Mayflower Casita!
Living room
Mayflower Casita
Mayflower Casita
Living room
living room
Living room
doors to bathroom and bedroom
Bedroom
Casita Kitchen
Kitchen window
Casita Bathroom
Casita bathroom
Casita bathroom
Casita patio
Beach loungers
outdoor seating and hammock
view of yard
more outdoor seating
relax in a lounger
Access to 2 pools/Beach loungers a two minute walk away - pool #1
Pool #2
Access to 2 pools/Beach loungers a two minute walk away - Pool #2
Pool Bar
looking from pool bar to beach loungers
Indoor/outdoor restaurant two minute walk
Book your tours here!
Beach 2 minutes from Casita
Beach two minutes from Casita
Beach two minutes from Mayflower Casita
Beach Bar 2 minutes from Casita
Beach Bar 2 minutes from Casita
7 minute walk to shopping area with grocery stores, bakery, pharmacy, etc
7 minute walk to grocery store
7 minute walk to Bakery
7 minute walk to grocery store
Resaurant and grocery store
Mayflower tree in bloom in Garden
Mayflower Casita birds
Mayflower Casita birds
Birds, Birds, Birds even on the deck
Humming birds at Mayflower Casita
Flowers in bloom at Mayflower Casita
Flowers in bloom at Mayflower Casita
Flowers in Bloom at Mayflower Casita
Casita Flowers in Bloom
Flowers in Bloom Mayflower Casita
Mayflowers
Black orchid
Mayflower tree in bloom
Mayflower Tree in bloom
Mayflower Casita grounds
Mayflower Casita grounds
Mayflower Casita grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kim E
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful owners, would stay again”
Reviewed February 9, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Thr casita was clean and quiet and had everything we needed for our 3 week stay. The owners Carol and Brian were perfect hosts from the moment they picked us up at the ferry to the time they gave us a ride back. Helpful ,but not intrusive .they gave us recommendations for our golf cart, snorkeling and even grocery stores. They even took my husband to the store for a Belkin run! You must rent a golf cart, they are so much fun. They have the use of a pool and beach across the street. It is the best beach for swimming in San Pedro. We would definately stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, yard, A/C and price!”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Communication was very good, even with change in ownership almost a year ago- new owners keeping all the great service: golf cart pickup and return to airport, even on a delayed flight (thanks so much); friendly tour of town by Brian the next day on where to shop, even waited and extended their discount in the store to us (food is EXPENSIVE and selection is just so-so - pack snacks and anything non-perishable that you can). The casita had all the basic tools needed to cook meals plus full size refrigerator. The blender was amazing (pina coladas with local rum and mixer, plus fresh pineapple, YUM!) The AC in the bedroom was heavenly, fans throughout the house made it comfortable most of the time in the kitchen and living room. The cable TV was a very nice treat, great internet connection most of the time (occasionally it would cut out but that is normal for Belize, not more than a few minutes without.) We have a business so internet connection was key for us and we were aware that Belize and Mexico have issues. It worked fine, better than we expected actually.

The yard is BEAUTIFUL with flowers, plants, geckos and iguanas (who kept the mosquitos at bay- did not get bit once, though they had repellent for us and encouraged us to take it with us on outings), Regarding mosquitos, it seems to be seasonal, so check before you book and use repellent in rainy months, like October. There is also a clothes line to hang out suits and wet clothes, nice for us after diving.

We completed our dive training with Pro Belize Divers (excellent, patient, professional), recommend for diving and snorkeling). They are also within walking distance, but they picked us up daily for our snorkeling and dives in a golf cart. We walked back the 5 minutes on the beach because is was so beautiful.

The Banana Bay Resort is affiliated with this casita so you can use their amenities. It was only 3 minutes walk away with 2 pools and an EXCELLENT restaurant, decent prices, too ( sea food and meat kabab was amazing, so much food we had leftovers the next day as an entire 2nd meal). The beach there is nice and you can swim, lots of sandy area to enter, unlike many of the resorts with just sea grass. Swimming off the dock is also refreshing and a bit deeper.

We highly recommend renting a bicycle instead of a golf cart. We went with Joe's ( also has good ice cream and waffle cones - coconut and coffee were my favorite), just north of the airport (double check location since Google maps had it wrong). For almost a week it was $44 US for an easy riding beach cruiser with a basket and lock (very important). It made shopping easy because you NEED to plan on buying LOTS of drinking water (we went through more than a gallon a day). We rode bikes on the beach most of the way North and South. It was so much nicer than dealing with traffic (yes golf cart TRAFFIC, especially in the center of town). Golf carts are not allowed on the beach and the bikes made exploring more of the island faster and more comfortable than walking. Plus the savings over a golf cart at $50+ daily was a bonus!

NOTE on Christmas: most restaurants and shops are open Christmas Eve, most are CLOSED Christmas Day AND (surprisingly) the day AFTER Christmas, considered BOXING Day?! Our favorite restaurants were open all 3 days: Robins kitchen ( excellent BBQ chicken and fresh snapper grilled in a coconut sauce for $7-8 US plate with rice.beans and cole slaw) and the restaurant at Banana Bay resort (El Devinos).

Thanks Brian and Carole for a GREAT 11-night stay in your beautiful casita!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
We are thrilled that you had such a great vacation in Belize and are very grateful for your detailed review and your kind words about your stay at Mayflower Casita, It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again if you are back this way. Warmest regards, Carole and Brian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyD89
Doniphan, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Casita exactly as promised”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My husband and I have always stayed at resorts. We wanted the opportunity to live a little more like a local and this was the perfect way for us to experience that. We came to the island to dive and the location worked well for that because the dive boat picked us up at the pier at the banana boat resort. The casita is exactly as promised and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. Carole picked us up on a golf cart and gave us a tour of town. We stopped to get a few things at the grocery store, however it was our experience it was less expensive to eat out. Food in the grocery store was very expensive. We ate delicious banana pancakes every morning at the banana beach resort for $5 US each. The casita is very clean and has all the basic needs and more. It is really the perfect size for a couple. The outdoor space is beautifully maintained. The beach at the nearby resort is beautiful and very quiet. There are just a few reasons I didn't give it 5 stars and those reasons are honestly out of the control of the owners. The first is the location. I would prefer to be a little closer to town. My husband and I are really trying to be healthier so we opted to skip the pricey golf cart rental and walk. We enjoyed the walks very much. We walked everyday into town. It is about 2 miles one way into town. There just wasn't a lot of places close to the casita to run in and get a quick bite. The mosquitos are terrible after dark. We went down and ate at Robins Kitchen one night and literally about got carried away. Be prepared for that. The owners had bug spray in the bathroom cabinet, I just forgot to put it on before we left. Again the owners do a fabulous job of supplying the casita. The main reason I am not giving 5 stars is because of the noise. The neighbors (not the owners) are very noisy with crying kids and barking dogs that start early in the morning and go late into the night. Again this is out of the control of the owners. I just think its important to be as informative as possible with a review and want to include the positives and negatives. This casita is a wonderful place to stay, especially for the price. You couldn't ask for better hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review and we are happy the casita lived up to your expectations. We find that most of our guests enjoy the peace and quiet our location provides by being at the south end of town, while still being close enough to walk to the centre of town as often as you want. We wish you had asked us for more local restaurant recommendations as there are at least 25 within a short walk of the casita. The mosquitos, however, are a fact of life anywhere you may go in Central America during the rainy season, and we always recommend using bug spray after dark. We have certainly never had any previous complaints about noise - in fact, usually, it is the tranquility that guests comment upon. Unfortunately, during your stay, there was a neighbouring dog who was barking because she had a new litter of puppies to protect, but happily, that issue has since been resolved. We are grateful for your kind comments about the casita and will always endeavour to address any issues that are within our control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very peacfull”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed every minute. It is an easy walk to stores and places to eat, and a $5 us taxi ride to town.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancykim
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cottage in a tropical garden”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Mayflower Casita for 3 week, and it was perfect for a couple. Karen the owner is lovely and takes wonderful care of the beautiful tropical garden the Casita is located in. The Casita was very clean and unlike many rentals had abundant hot water and towels, a very comfortable bed, 2 flat screen TV,s, even HBO. It is located in a quiet area a 20 minute walk to downtown San Pedro, which is noisy and hectic and a 5 minute walk to restaurants, a bakery and a grocery store. The access to the beach is only 1 block away ad 2 pools at a nearby hotel are available to those who stay at the Casita. It was a perfect tropical retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
670kirste...
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“our little oasis”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We just returned from Belize after spending our honeymoon at the casita. I am so happy we ended up choosing this as our getaway for the trip. Karen is the best! Her care and passion for her property, her guests and the island go above and beyond. The casita is close enough, yet secluded enough to give you a true sense of "living like a local". We were the first guests to stay after hurricane Earl, and it was like she hadn't missed a beat! Let the pictures entice you, but let my review and all the rest here convince you-GO! BOOK IT! You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asciughin...
roma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful casita!”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

My flowercasita is very nice place to spend your hollyday... The house is confortable and beatiful and the honour Karen is a very kind and lovely person. Is just little far from the center of San Pedro, but you can rent a bike from Karen and reach the town in 10 minuts cycling. The garden around casita is a kind of paradise, very relaxing place. And you can use the facilities of the closer resort. The beach is just about 5 minuts walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing