We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Licks has some lickin good Tamales!”

Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill
Ranked #9 of 185 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Whether you're looking for a delicious meal or a cold beer or cocktail, we've got it! We serve a variety of dishes including Belizean cuisine, chicken, locally-caught seafood, and our favorite, Texas BBQ! You're sure to enjoy an incredible view of the ocean from our upstairs patio. We are located right on the beach, across from Ambergris Divers.
CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Licks has some lickin good Tamales!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had brunch here one day. Owner is very accommodating and friendly. Their tamales is off the hook! Price is also reasonable! Their menu changes daily. It all depends on what the catch of the day is.. Definitely one of the restaurants you need to check out if you are in san pedro!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank iSpitzfiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanx for the awesome review of Licks.
Our tamales are made fresh daily, actually, everything is made fresh daily and I am glad you enjoyed it.
Thanx again,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    165
    57
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They won my heart and tummy”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend and I were first timers in San Pedro and decided to eat at Licks Beachside cafe. From the moment we walked in everyone was very friendly. I love the tuna empanadas and the smoothies. The owner was very friendly and suggested a few places to see and things to do. We had lots of laughs and a great time that we went back a few times. Certainly a place to visit and specially kind to your pocket. We'll be visiting again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanx for the awesome review.
Of course we would be friendly, we treat you how you want to be treated.
The tuna empanadas are made with fresh tuna, and made to order. The smoothies are made with fresh fruit every time they are ordered.
Thanx for the awesome review.
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Skip the breakfast, go straight for the tuna”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had breakfast which was edible but not particularly flavorful - not sure how you can have pancakes and syrup that flat, but there was general agreement on this point in my group. HOWEVER - when they have it, the Poke Tuna is worth walking the length of town. We had it twice, and I wouldn't have minded it again. Melts in your mouth. BTW, staff is very pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanx for the awesome review.
Sorry you found our breakfast not very flavourful. We try our best to make sure every dish has enough flavour as we can and I apologize once again.
The Poke tuna is an amazing dish. The recipe is from Hawaii. The only thing we change is that we don't add Macadamia Nuts. Yes, It melts in your mouth.
Thanx for the review.
Hope to see you again for more of that Poke Tuna.
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'll have an old friend by the time you finish your meal!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stopped to pet Mario's dog patch and 6 hours later still sitting and eating and drinking great food and making new friends. Had the Conch Fingers for lunch and came back for dinner for amazing Poke Tuna and friends had the shrimp and blackened snapper and everyone loved their meals. Mario has a lot of personality and loves to talk to everyone and just makes you feel at home. You make new friends sitting down stairs on the community bench tables or have a great view and nice breeze on the upstairs balcony. Make sure at least one of your meal stops is at Licks in San Pedro!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scalgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanx for the spectacular review!
Patch will get you in the door but the food and service will make you come back for more.
I'm so glad you and your friends enjoyed all of your meals.
That's how I would like to feel in a restaurant; at home.
Both patios are excellent, though I prefer upstairs because it has a prettier view, but downstairs is excellent for people watching.
Thanx for the review
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Really god food and a nice visit with the owner Mario! First Fry Jacks of the trip, delicious! The coffee was excellent too, very important to us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanx for the great review.
Yes, we do have really good food. Thanx for dining with us and having some good food that we serve.
The cofffee is the best on the island so I'm glad it was excellent.
Thanx again for the great review.
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing