We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great snorkeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belize Tradewinds Paradise Villas
arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and great snorkeling”
Reviewed May 22, 2007

Our stay in San Pedro was at Ambergris Condos Paradise Villas, the same condos as Tradewinds Paradise Villa. These condos are rented out by two different companies, the Ambergris Condos are a little bit cheaper, at least in the off-season. Here is the link: [--]. These are older but wonderful condos that have a separate bedroom, two doors to the bathroom, and a fully-furnished kitchen (though small) with dishes, silverware, pots & pans, coffee pot, etc. The living room has cable TV (I watched the basketball playoffs every evening) and a hideabed sofa which is nice if you have children with you. There is also free wi-fi internet access which worked great for us. There is a private balcony with chairs and a hammock. The only negative thing was the saltillo floor needs polishing--it looks old and worn. We had a problem the first day with a musty smell coming from the air conditioner; they sent over a guy to clean it and it was fine after that. The landscape was beautiful, as well as the pool, the place is definitely a nice getaway from the noise and busyness of the town. It is very, very quiet there. The ocean’s edge is about 10 steps from the front gate, and it has its own pier where excursions can pick you up. We are into snorkeling but did not enjoy our first outing which was at Hol Chan reserve because we just had to keep pace with the guide who wore us out. We like to take our time and snorkel at a very leisurely pace. We found a guide the second day whose name is Chocy, (sounds like Chucky only with an o instead of a u) and he took us to several places the next three days and just watched us from the boat ( mexico rocks, ship wreck and other places are all within a 15 to 20 minute boat ride … Chocky estimated 45 minutes so we were pleasantly surprised by how close we actually were to everything.) He only takes 2 to 6 at a time and so is much more relaxed. This was our best snorkeling trip yet and we go once a year for the last 10 years. He does charge about $5 more per person per trip but the freedom he offers is well worth it. You can find him about 3 different ways. He has a sandwich sign next to the Kasbah gift shop. His boat has a slip near Estele’s (if you eat breakfast there, you can usually see him working on his yellow boat around 8:00 a.m. or so. Estele’s is also where you can get a great breakfast for a very reasonable price. Their fry jacks are delicious.) Don’t worry about not knowing where those places are, just ask someone who works in any shop where those places are. You can also reach Chocy through a friend’s e-mail (oh.dannyboy@Belizemail.net). Danny Guerrero will pass on messages to Chocy. Again, Chocy is well worth the effort to find him because he really made our trip a success.

The Chinese food places were very cheap with lots of food which we took home to our refrigerator for other meals. There is a fruit stand right at the back entrance to the condos and we kept stocked up by them. I tried a produce store one day and the fruit was more expensive and not nearly as good. From our condos we did not need any transportation since everything we needed was within a 10 minute walk. That reminds me, the grocery store is a 1 minute walk away but their stuff gets pretty old there. We bought a quart of orange juice twice and they were spoiled both times.

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, view of beach, quietness
  • Disliked — Older flooring
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaSnorkelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    43
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
70
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Two couples on a diving trip (one person not a diver). I researched various options (taking into account the non-diver and access to San Pedro). By far, this appeared to be the best value for the money. As we were diving, luxury accommodations were not a priority. The 2 bedroom units are not large, but enough space so we weren’t on top of each other (see caveat below). The kitchenette was fully equipped, and we were able to cook breakfast everyday. The grounds are lush, and the swimming pool clean and well maintained. It is just on the north end of town so you don't get the town noise, but you only had to walk a couple of blocks to get to everything. We dove with Reef Adventures (a stone’s throw from the villas). They were great! This is a smaller shop, and after going to the Blue Hole with the larger groups, we appreciated that most of our diving was with Reef Adventures (I believe only two dive shops go to the Blue Hole). On most of our dives, it was just us, the dive master, and a captain. Occasionally, another one or two people would join us. As long as you aren't looking for luxury accommodations, this is a great place, and Reef Adventures was top notch.

One caveat: The two bedroom units are marketed as sleeping six people. That puts two in the master bedroom, two in the front bedroom, and two on the living room couch. The units are not that big! Sleeping anyone in the living room will make for a crowded unit. We met one family with a teenage boy and teenage girl. Though they enjoyed the Paradise Villas, they said having one child sleep in the living room did make the unit crowded.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Units aren't large (but you get what you pay for)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wvwc1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Far and away the best place to stay on Ambergris Caye. Spacious, Clean, and safe. Your own little condo on the beach..poolside is great too.
We checked all over the island and found the grounds and pool area to be nicer and larger at P. Villas than anywhere else. Central A/C, Cable TV (which you wont watch).
Emmanuel at the front desk is just great. Helped us with everything. No need for golf carts at this place. You can walk to everything needed and stroll on the beach if you want to explore far north or south of town. Eat breakfast at Lilly's, she has tables in the sand and makes the best french toast on earth .. served with a plate of fresh fruits.
Cant say enough about this place. We will definately go back.
American Airlines lost our luggage on the way. We picked up not-to-cheezy bathing suits in town and had no worries thereafter. We sat in/by the pool with a few Belkins and Emmanuel took care of tracking down and getting our luggage to the Caye. I was paranoid so i walked to airstrip to get it myself, but im sure he would have delivered it if i gave him the chance.

Key to this place is the location. Just on the north end of town. Not loud. Not scary. (like some parts of San Pedro). But, you can walk peacefully on the beach to any of the restaurants, bars, or clubs. They had security at night (one little dude). Our first floor one bedroom had a nice porch right by the pool which was never that crowded or loud at all. Always able to get a chair in the sun. Peaceful, serene, quiet, exciting, and beautiful...paradise.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank bigdiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2005

You can't beat the location. It's just off the main strip so you can walk to breakfast/dinner in 5 minutes. Workers were paving a nice brick pathway behind the building leading up to two grocery stores behing the building. In town you can buy some fruit from a vendor and they can slice the pinneapple up right there for you! Jambel's Jerk was our favorite restraunt.

My boyfriend and I took my mother diving on her 60th birthday. We got a two bedroom second floor unit. A little tight and no balcony for the 2 bdrms. The room grew on us. Eventually we turned the AC off, opened up the screened windows, and let the natural ocean breezes work their magic. If you're a diver you'll improvise when drying you suits and things. Some units are more updated than others.

The grounds are a lovely garden setting, clean and very pretty.

The dive shop right out the gate was so great. Ched and Carl are so relaxed and cool. We had big swells our first day and let me tell ya, those guys can handle their boat. They stored most our gear at night. Ched is a great instructor and Carl was really comfortable around the nurse sharks! No wall drop offs, but the cuts and canyonds were beautiful. I'd bring along some Bonine.

Try taking the water taxi at night by moonlight. 10$ per person. We went to a cool new lounge/restaraunt called Azul. Asian small plates at San Francisco $$.

My only complaint...would liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2005

We stayed at Tradewinds Paradise Villas, because we couldn't get a room at Ramon's....we couldn't have been happier with our luck. It was a great place. The room was clean and comfortable, but not elegant. It is not an all inclusive type of a trip, but then that wasn't what we were looking for. The villa has a full kitchen and a grocery store just down the street.

The only difficulty we had is that our room was on the second floor. We are divers, so carrying our stuff up and down the tile stairs was a bit hairy...even though the dive shop right out our front door kept most of our stuff in the dive shop, there was still stuff we didn't want to leave unattended and carried up each night.


All in all, great place....don't forget to take the walk up and stop by Cannibals for breakfast. Great food.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2005

We (8 of us) just returned from Ambergris Caye staying at Paradise Villas. We booked 3 units. The staff and accomedations were great. My new husband and I got married there and the setting made for some beautiful pictures. The staff was very accomedating. We rented through Nellie's Properties and Nellie even made us a wedding cake and sent us flowers. This was our first trip to Ambergris Caye but I hope not our last.

Helpful?
16 Thank tonnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2004

We spent 5 nights at Paradise Villas on Ambergris Caye. We loved it!
The grounds are beautiful - filled with palm trees and tropical flowers. Each unit has a large porch. The pool is very clean and the deck chairs are comfortable. The only downside are the permanant residents who arrive at the pool by 7 am and claim the chairs for the entire day - They never leave so it is difficult to get a chair. The location is great - right on the beach and just 2 minutes north of town (walking.) Our unit was quite large, bedroom, bath, kitchen and living room. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
32 Thank margiemhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
1,259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belize Tradewinds Paradise Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belize Tradewinds Paradise Villas

Property: Belize Tradewinds Paradise Villas
Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belize Tradewinds Paradise Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Tradewinds Paradise Villas nestled in a beautiful beach front location on the north edge of San Pedro. If you are looking for a place to stay that will offer you personalized service, uniquely decorated rooms in the Belizean style, a freshwater pool with swim up b.y.o. bar on lush grounds with sandy pathways that lead you to your fully equipped villa, Tradewinds Paradise Villas is where you want to spend you vacation. LOCATION-LOCATION-LOCATION On the Quiet North edge of San Pedro. Airport is on opposite side. You can Walk to every thing. Restaurants, Pubs Shops and Grocery stores a block away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Belize Tradewinds Paradise Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Tradewinds Paradise Villas Hotel San Pedro
Belize Tradewinds Paradise Villas San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing