We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Diving and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This was my third time staying in "The Tides" and I will come back again for sure !
Of course the main reason to stay there is the diving. The dive operation that Patojo runs is impeccable. His knowledge and professionalism is next to nothing I have seen before ! He and his dive crew make the trips outstanding.
The Hotel is small, cozy and located a little walk (5 minutes) north of the town centre, It's clean and really doesn't leave any wishes unless you need pampering, concierge service and catering. Then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a friendly, down-to-earth, clean and family run hotel where everybody will know you by name after day 1 then this is the place for you !
Oh, and did I mention the diving ????

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 363 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon in November. We got an incredible deal for 5 nights and 3 days of diving with owner/dive master Patojo and his trusty assistant Dorian, who were a lot of fun and very knowledgeable about the reef and its marine life. The hotel is not the fanciest place, very simple, but very clean with cable TV and king size beds- perfect for couples like us who don't need a 5 star accommodation to have a fantastic time. The hotel is not located in the center of town, so it is a bit quieter which we liked, but a short walk/bike ride into town. The owners Patojo & Sabrina were very accommodating, and were always there as they live on the property. Bartender Butch was also a lot of fun, and very friendly. He was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and bars. For travelers who don't need a lot of amenities, are on a budget, want a genuine Belizean experience, and enjoy supporting family operations, I highly recommend the Tides Resort.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPro97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I have to say, my wife & i have been all over the caribbean at all inclusive 5 star resorts.When we heard about this place through our local dive center we said what the heck,we went.When we arrive the resort was cute,nothing over the top but unlike the other resorts the owners are always there & they made us feel like family.Mr pat one of the owners was raised there & has been diving for 30 years,his knowledge of the good scuba spots is endless,if you are lucky he might take you to his favorite spot like he did us.He was showing us all kinds of sea life,& his wife Sabrina was absolutly woderful she cooked lobster for us on our aniversary,they make you fell like you are a visiting family member.My wife & I have found our vacation spot for life.One of the things i love & this is only 1 & a small one no matter where we went on our golf cart even a hour down a dirt road we never felt like we were in danger or shouldn't be there.The belizianz are so nice & helpful.WE LOVE BELIZE.The patojo's (pronounced pa-toe-hoe)are a very close family oriented group w/ 5 daughters who are a delight to talk to & one son,the whole family can tell you anything about the island.We love the Patojo's (they alwasys had a smile for ya.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUMROTTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We selected and booked this little hotel just north of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye online and via email. No deposit was requested, which was nice. We got exactly what we expected: a basic but adequate, clean room with a view on the beach and the ocean. There is a pool on the ground floor but who needs that when the dive shop is right in front of the hotel? As we were there in low season we had the whole place to ourselves. Patojo and Sabrina were very nice and friendly, as were all the staff. They are happy to arrange hotel and diving separate or as packages, which is nice. We had a minibar size fridge in the room, perfect for the water and beer we kept stocked, and there's a store a few steps away. Main restaurants maybe 5 mins walk away and San Pedro centre is maybe 10 mins. We walked there from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter42France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Unreliable. I hope others who read about this place and stayed there had a better experience than we did. The rooms aren't bad...if you're roughing it. My wife and I explored Belize on our honeymoon. We enjoy spending our money on good food, drinks, and adventure rather than a room we spend little time in. We would have lived with the broken toilet seat and rock hard bed had the incompetent receptionist (Eden) not screwed us. We spent one night and planned for two more nights later the same week. We confirmed and re-confirmed our room for the weekend on three separate occasions with Eden (including the afternoon before). When we arrived on the day we were supposed to check in, we were told no rooms were available and were forced to find other accommodations. I honestly do not believe anything we would have done would have assured us a room. Their reservation system (and receptionist) is unorganized and unreliable. At this point, it's not much more than an upscale hostel. I feel bad bashing a place with nice people (Sabrina, Butch) but felt the need to let people know what to expect.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

After a terrible stay at Costa Maya on Caye Caulker this was like a 5 star resort to us.

We are early risers so the school was never a issue for us. The Snorkling trip was excellent very educational & enjoyable. This is not a 5 star location more like a motel 6 but we are only in the room to sleep & relax a little anyway. The whole family was excellent & very nice. One night we were soaked by the rain & they even offered to do our laundry for us (no charge at all).

We will defiantely stay again whenever we can make it back there

If you get a chance to get to bars in town - recommend the bartender Butch @ jungle jacks.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I stayed at this small resort with a group of dive buddies. The resort has thier own dive shop which made it really easy to get to on the boat every morning. The place reminded me of a souther style plantation on an island. This place works great for famlies and for a group. While they are on the beach, and every room will have a view of the ocean its not the typical "pretty" beach. Don't get me wrong white sand is present but Belize, specifically Ambergris Caye arent know for their beaches the way say Playa MX is know for white sand beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtate20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
822 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
407 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Tide Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Address: 57 Boca Del Rio Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye SP-00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $106 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Tide Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the town San Pedro, on the island of Ambergris Caye, you will find our beachfront resort with unobstructed reef views. Enjoy snorkeling, diving, fishing, along with free wi-fi all walking distance to downtown.Ocean Tide Beach Resort is Different from Other Belize Vacation Resorts: * Ocean Tides is a property offering an outdoor pool and is located in the beautiful beaches of San Pedro. * We serve breakfast and lunch poolside from the beachside Bar / Lounge, The Lazy Pelican. * Free Wi-Fi access is available in this property. * These functional rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, coffee maker, and a small fridge. The bathrooms feature a bath and a shower. These rooms overlook the great barrier reef. * Other facilities offered include a tour desk and a laundry. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including snorkeling. * San Pedro Airport can be reached in a 5-minute golf cart drive. The property offers free parking and is located right on Boca del Rio Beach.* Every room has an ocean view: Whether you stay in our charming 2nd floor Beachfront suites or the 3rd floor Reefview suites, you'll treasure the views from your windows. * We're small enough to offer you the best: You'll get individual attention, and won't be over crowded. Our resort is modern and charming. We make people feel like long missed family. * We have our own dive shop, snorkel/fishing guide and massage therapist: We're give you all that a Belize vacation has to offer: mysterious Mayan ruins, world class fishing, spa treatments, boating, jungle exploring, snorkeling, some of the best scuba in the world and plain old beach bumming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Ocean Tide Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Beach Hotel San Pedro
Tides Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing