We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

- PROS: Friendly staff, large and bright room, beautiful view of the ocean (Island Room, third floor) and good value for the price.
- CONS: The wardrobe could be too small for two people in a long stay. Some hangers in the room and in the bathroom could be useful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VeroAnausta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Greetings VeroAnausta,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate that all our guests share there experiences at our resort. Sending us good feedback, so that we can make future guests more comfortable on there stay here. I will pass your along your praises to my staff. Thank you again for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Tide Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 352 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stood in the room with a king bed. Much better than the two doubles. There is a new poolside bar. It just opened so there are limited drinks but the bartender assured us there is more to come. Right on the beach and in walking distance to food. The DJ has an awesome playlist. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay in though this is not the island to stay in. Anywhere you stay you will hear construction from nieghbors. The staff is very friendly. I would recommend to anyone staying in San pedro. Great price too!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Greetings Karina R,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I will make sure to pass your review to my staff and thank you again for an amazing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent one week at the tides. The representation in pictures is what we got. The best way to review this hotel being fair is giving all the Pros and Cons.

Pros:
Large rooms, ocean front, awesome view, staff very attentive and caring.
Rooms have small frig and small coffee maker as advertised
Pool is clean, bar has big screen tv, and music plays all day. Seating around pool sufficient.
Area to park golf carts if needed. Close to grocery store and restaurants. Dive Pro on site.
Third floor was the best, no noise and best view.
Mattress and air conditioning were fine( very important to us)
Feeling of good security, cameras installed in all the common areas.

Cons:
No coffee or mugs in rooms, no glasses or cups either
No shampoo, ( hotels, motels, resorts offer these)
Pool chairs do not have cushions.
Construction and painting still going on at tides. I complained about the noise and the electric saw stopped.

New bar brings many locals to tides. My concern is that the hotel cater to its registered guest, and pool area and pool not become the local community recreation center. The first three days the pool area and pool was so full of locals we decided to go else where. Some one must have complained because by the 4th day, it had cleared out and was finally able to use a pool chair and take a dip. My concern was because the hotel was sold out.

The tides is a very clean and reasonable choice on the water in a great location. It is an Inn not resort.

Room Tip: Top floor room has best view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tikibartobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Greetings tikibartobe,

Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kinds words about our resort. We have been upgrading the rooms as well for amenities for our guests. My apologies that you stayed here during our renovation time, the renovation of the exterior of the building has ended. We will start the renovation for the rooms which will be more amenities for our guests than they had when you were here. Thank you again for your feed back and we will ensure that we add those needed amenities. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I pick up this hotel using the reviews I saw in the Trip Advisor.
I is what I was expecting acoording to the reviews, good vaule for the price.
The room is what I was expecting and they were like was writen in the booking. Room in the second floor, with fans and air cond., etc. THe hotel has three floor, first is in the street level, and the pool is in front, could be noise during day time. Second and third floor has better view to the sea, and less noise.I believe that the hotel has only 11 rooms only.
They are remodeling and i could be noise during day, I was luke because it was Easter.
They do not have breakfest avaliable. The distance to the San Pedro "downtown" is 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Request rooms in the second or third floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsnishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Greetings nsnishi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. Your input and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want our guest expectations to meet upon arrival.
We have been renovating the resort and it is taking a good turn on the update. We have restaurants and deli's just walking distance which have very good food and reasonable prices.
Thank you again for the review, hope you come stay with us again to see the update.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

When we booked at the Tides we knew we would be staying at a more simple accommodation, and we were happy with that. When we got to the room the furnishings were as advertised and there were not many amenities. No glasses for water by the sink, for example. But everything was clean and fine for the price range.
Outside the room was a different story. The pool bar was under major construction so power tools were being used all day and the cords were running all around the pool. My foot even caught in one once. This made the pool area very uninviting and not the peaceful simple stay we were looking for. When we asked about the construction, they said they were giving one night free to anyone who complained. They said nothing about it up front, did not even apologize for the noise or the unexpected construction. When I told them I wanted to move hotels they refused to refund me more than half of each night we would not be staying with them, and then proceeded to complain about how they were going to be taking a loss from their online booking company.
The location is very good and the view is beautiful. When the construction is complete I'm sure it will be a lovely place to stay. The service under these circumstances left much to be desired, though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KiraShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was a pretty good hotel. It was really close to the beach, and my kids really loved to splash in the ocean. We originally booked this hotel, because we wanted something on the water, where we didn't have to walk a long way to go to the beach. The ocean was very nice. Just in front of the property is the beach road. The noise from this road wasn't bad, since it is foot traffic and golf carts, and it is not paved, just on the sand. Many people use gold carts to get around the town, and I would recommend getting one if you want to go about the rest of the town- you can take golf carts on the roads of the city also.

Alex, the dive master at the on site dive shop was really nice and personable. My kids forgot their goggles, and he let them use a mask for a few hours for free. When I asked how much to rent for the next 3-4 days while we were there, he said it was $5. Really reasonable.

The pool was smallish, but clean and very well maintained. The water was a good temperature, and it was nice. One of the people who worked there-I can't remember his name, but he was super nice and helpful. He would talk to us, gave great recommendations about places to eat, and sat and talked with me in the afternoons. He even took us to the water taxi for free, and was very helpful with our luggage.

The poolside bar was still under construction, but that was no bother, since there are a lot of places to buy alcohol, and there is a fridge in every room. The rooms were comfortable and clean, but housekeeping only came by every other day to sweep the sand out,and empty garbage, and change the towels. They also didn't have swim towels, and would not give us any extra for our snorkeling trip.

Other than that. The air conditioning worked well, no problems. The television had cable, and the wireless internet was fast enough to be able to watch a movie on netflix. The fridge was cold enough, and did not have any odor like some other places I've stayed. There was also a little construction, but the noise wasn't bad.

If you are going to purchase a golf cart, I would recommend that you do it online when you book the room, and not when you get there, as I was quoted a price of $50/day online, and it was more than $70 for 8 hours if you do it in person.

It was a great place, and you can not beat the $100/night price for being right on the beach, but don't expect it to be a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bldr_Mtn_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Greetings Bldr_Mtn_Gir,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate that all our guests share there experiences at our resort. Sending us good feedback, so that we can make future guests more comfortable on there stay here. I will pass your along your praises to my staff. Thank you again for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

there are less than 10 places to stay in San Pedro found on Trip Advisor for less than a 100 per night. we are very glad that we booked with The Tides when we saw what saving that extra 10 per night would have landed us in. while the rooms are undoubtedly charming funky, they are genuinely large. The tides seemed on the online map of the city to be more distant for the town center than it turned out to be. it was a 12 minute stroll to the "heart" of the town, but by no means as distant as Pedro's inn and hotel was. in addition being north of the airport turn out to be a major blessing. the maps do not show how the area south is much more messed up than the north even though they seem so close. i was not comfortable walking at night on the lonely road that travels south to the scatterings of hotels that direction.

The tides in ON the beach and is where the town begins to change into more expensive places to stay. actually, other than The Tides there were no inexpensive rooms that were ocean view. they have 11 rooms and a wonderful pool fully exposed the sea horizon. the A/C was very so so in the first room we had, we needed to move to another room mid stay and that A/C was far better. currently there is a lot of pool and pools deck for 11 rooms but that is changing. they have built and will soon be operating an poolside bar and have converted a large number of square feet of the deck to a structure that will shade new seating and lounging furniture for those coming to enjoy the new bar. as it was on our stay, the pool area did not serve those not guests at the hotel but this is about to change. there were several hotels we encountered that had also taken this method to drive up their revenue. good for them. but at each and every one there was a multitude of people drunk and yelling to talk over each other. i anticipate the incredible tranquility that we found there will not be available anymore.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank taoish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Greetings taoish,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Your input, and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. All of our guests reviews are very important to us, we are aiming to make everyone who stays here feel at home. Thank you again for a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
114 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Tide Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Address: 57 Boca Del Rio Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye SP-00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Tide Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the town San Pedro, on the island of Ambergris Caye, you will find our beachfront resort with unobstructed reef views. Enjoy snorkeling, diving, fishing, along with free wi-fi all walking distance to downtown.Ocean Tide Beach Resort is Different from Other Belize Vacation Resorts: * Ocean Tides is a property offering an outdoor pool and is located in the beautiful beaches of San Pedro. * We serve breakfast and lunch poolside from the beachside Bar / Lounge, The Lazy Pelican. * Free Wi-Fi access is available in this property. * These functional rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, coffee maker, and a small fridge. The bathrooms feature a bath and a shower. These rooms overlook the great barrier reef. * Other facilities offered include a tour desk and a laundry. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including snorkeling. * San Pedro Airport can be reached in a 5-minute golf cart drive. The property offers free parking and is located right on Boca del Rio Beach.* Every room has an ocean view: Whether you stay in our charming 2nd floor Beachfront suites or the 3rd floor Reefview suites, you'll treasure the views from your windows. * We're small enough to offer you the best: You'll get individual attention, and won't be over crowded. Our resort is modern and charming. We make people feel like long missed family. * We have our own dive shop, snorkel/fishing guide and massage therapist: We're give you all that a Belize vacation has to offer: mysterious Mayan ruins, world class fishing, spa treatments, boating, jungle exploring, snorkeling, some of the best scuba in the world and plain old beach bumming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Tide Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Beach Hotel San Pedro
Tides Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing