We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Tides!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the Tides!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful, week long vacation at the Tides Beach Resort. It is a simple, clean hotel that really understands scuba divers and fishermen. Megan, Carolina, Joe and all of the staff made us feel like family. We stayed in the "Blue Hole" room and loved the view. The hotel is located in a great spot on the island; not in the middle of town, but close to good places to eat and shop. If you dive or fish, go to Patojo's Scuba Center at the end of the pier out front. Don't worry if you cannot make reservations to dive over his website as you can do it there, no problem. Patojo and Alex are excellent dive masters and made our dives very comfortable. See Patojo if you want to fish as he is well connected and will set you up with a good outfit at a great price. We had a hotel-wide potluck and fish BBQ one night that was lots of fun, where we grilled the fish we caught that day. We plan on returning ASAP for another great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    99
    41
    14
    11
See reviews for
45
147
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I just got back from a week at the Tides with a small group of friends. Perfect location, ocean front room with great view, just on the edge of town, at a great price. Those are obvious. What makes it special (five stars versus three) is the care and warmth of the La Paz family and the rest of the staff. I hope the new owners continue to keep them involved in the operation. Without them, it is a nice budget hotel in paradise. With them, it is like visiting your family home in paradise. Megan, Sabrina and Eden took great care of us while we were there. And the rest of the staff is just like family, too. Joe seemed to magically appear whenever we needed anything. I'll talk about Patojo and the guys in the dive shop in a review of that, but in brief, Anthony, Alex and especially Patojo were patient, knowledgeable, safety conscious and just plain fun to dive with. We are already planning our return visit.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the north side for cross breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K4112HTchrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Real Nice! The perfect adjective to describe the location, people, food, and the view. Throw in the beautiful water, the white sands. Not to mention the snorkeling and the pool. "M" was great. Looking forward to going back. The bar will be a nice touch. Fall in either direction and you'll hit water. Pool or Caribbean. You don't have to go far. Rooms are simple and very clean. Did I mention the view. Outstanding.

"So much to go for. A lot more to go back for."

Room Tip: Second Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Booked 10 days. Great location. Nice beach. Good dive, fishing and snorkeling service at adjacent pier. Patojo, the dive master, used to own the hotel and the dive business on the pier, but he sold the hotel. His lovely daughter, Megan, works the office. The place is nice and getting nicer with a full remodel. They're being very courteous about not starting early or working late. I imagine the prices will increase when more work is done, but they're VERY good in the meantime. The pool is wonderfully refreshing, and clean as bottled water. The bar is under construction, so you have to walk a block to Wayo's to get a drink for another week or so. I will definitely come back here, and will dive with Patojo. Google Earth does NOT show this hotel in the right location. It's right on the beach, not midtown.

Room Tip: Third floor is quietest, and has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senioreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Really got lucky finding this place, all rooms are ocean view. Simple, clean, relaxed and comfortable. People working there were fantastic which only upon our departure we discovered were the owners. The beautiful young lady that checked us in was totally concerned about making sure all our questions and needs were addressed. Turned out her father was our dive master, just walk down the pier out front of the property. Really nice guy, sharp, knows the waters inside out and was genuinely interested in getting equipment to fit and make sure I had a great experience.
NOTE if your looking for a fancy resort this is NOT your place.
If your looking for value and great low key Belizian family operation to relax with this is a winner

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexzander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvguru
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We always try to stay at The Tides whenever we stay in San Pedro for several reasons: it's a Belizean family owned and run hotel by native San Pedroans; it's classic colonial timber construction; and it's right on the beach with fantastic views and a dive shop to boot.

Plus, it's just on the edge of town, so far enough away to be really quiet yet close enough to walk to all of the action. Sabrina, Patojo and the girls (and boy) are always fantastic and like family to my wife and me after visiting there for well over 10 years now. And for $75 US dollars a night you will not get anything as good as this in that price range and certainly not right on the beach, nor with any of the charm.

For similar properties nearby that are not as good, in my opinion, you would need to add $100 to that price, so really you can't go wrong. Thanks again guys for another great stay and we'll be back in September to celebrate my 50th!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor as the views of the reef and sea are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cvguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here and had a great time. The hotel is family run and they do everything to make your stay enjoyable. Right on the beach and is quiet and close to everything. A good value for your money. They also offer diving on the great coral reef. Although they do not have a resturant, there is an excellent one a short distant from hotel out on the water.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank TWAClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
174 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Tide Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Address: 57 Boca Del Rio Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye SP-00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Tide Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the town San Pedro, on the island of Ambergris Caye, you will find our beachfront resort with unobstructed reef views. Enjoy snorkeling, diving, fishing, along with free wi-fi all walking distance to downtown.Ocean Tide Beach Resort is Different from Other Belize Vacation Resorts: * Ocean Tides is a property offering an outdoor pool and is located in the beautiful beaches of San Pedro. * We serve breakfast and lunch poolside from the beachside Bar / Lounge, The Lazy Pelican. * Free Wi-Fi access is available in this property. * These functional rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, coffee maker, and a small fridge. The bathrooms feature a bath and a shower. These rooms overlook the great barrier reef. * Other facilities offered include a tour desk and a laundry. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including snorkeling. * San Pedro Airport can be reached in a 5-minute golf cart drive. The property offers free parking and is located right on Boca del Rio Beach.* Every room has an ocean view: Whether you stay in our charming 2nd floor Beachfront suites or the 3rd floor Reefview suites, you'll treasure the views from your windows. * We're small enough to offer you the best: You'll get individual attention, and won't be over crowded. Our resort is modern and charming. We make people feel like long missed family. * We have our own dive shop, snorkel/fishing guide and massage therapist: We're give you all that a Belize vacation has to offer: mysterious Mayan ruins, world class fishing, spa treatments, boating, jungle exploring, snorkeling, some of the best scuba in the world and plain old beach bumming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Tide Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Beach Hotel San Pedro
Tides Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing