We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great price, great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great price, great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nothing fancy, but big, clean rooms. Huge, firm beds, decent bathrooms, showers. Good location, close to many of the San Pedro's hot spots, but just outside the noisy zone. Great amenities for divers, the family that runs The Tides was attentive and helpful, I felt they were genuinely dedicated to giving their guests the best experience possible for their buck. Patojo was very free with the use of his snorkeling gear for us non-diver guests while he was was out guiding those who were. The long dock and easy water access at the end provided a good opportunity to see small rays!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have the top floor South end unit, which gave us big windows on two sides, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    89
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
30
119
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a wonderful 11 nights at The Tides. Rooms very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The owner takes pride in this family fun business and this shows with the diving and the hotel. We would come back here in an instant. The views from the top floor are a joy to wake up to. Patojo is very professional dive operator with lots of experience. Hotel close to town, walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms at top have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKFORD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I travel a lot and do not want to spend all our money on lodging. I have been to San Pedro before and paid 5 times as much as lodging costs here. The tides is for the budget to mid range traveler who wants a real clean place to stay that is safe. This hotel's location is excellent. It is in San Pedro - walking distance to everything..right down the beach. If you stay north or south you need wheels....here you can rent a cart for a day to explore those places yet have everything else to walk to. The tides has a small pool, balcony to sit and look at the ocean, dock right out the front and the best dive instruction. I did not take lessons but talked with him every day. Rays right under the dock..walk to wet willy's and snorkle under that dock..fish, fish, fish. Most important the owners were very very nick

Room Tip: The high school is next door so some people say you should ask to be away from them..I did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank terryw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Tides and Patojo's Dive Shop are owned and operated by a wonderful Belizean family who really care about their customers. On dive trips, Patojo and his staff do everything except breathe for you. He asks divers what they want to see, and then he delivers. This trip we swam with the ever elusive whale shark(once in a lifetime) and also saw a hammerhead in the deep waters. If you are a new diver or inexperienced, Patojo is the person to dive with. He's an excellent instructor and very patient and helpful. The hotel is close to town and right on the beach. Easy walking distance to anything you need. It's well kept and the rooms have a beautiful view of the Caribbean. I am sure we will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasshouseinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at the Tides for 5 days in August while working in the needy community of San Mateo. The location was perfect and the hotel was comfortable and very clean. It was amazing to wake every morning to greet the sun over the beautiful sea. I stayed on the third floor and the view was amazing. No need to request a view though. All the rooms face the sea! After a hot day of working in the community a swim was lovely!! A nice little pool ...cool and refreshing awaits with a gorgeous view of the sea once again. The family was welcoming, genuine and truly care about their community and fellow Belizeans. Thank you so much for your support and caring towards the kids!! We had a very successful week teaching the children the importance of clean water...and doing water testing directly in the community! A truly caring family in a truly welcoming hotel in a truly beautiful place!!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor...the better the view..however you get a great view no matter...first second or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CathyP315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed there for 9 nights and felt our stay couldn't have been better. We stayed in the Blue Hole room on the 3rd story. The room is a great value and much more than we expected based on some of the other reviews. We found it to be: very comfortable (including the bed), amazing view, spotlessly clean, hard wood floors, A/C, mini-fridge, plenty of hot water and location.

Also, the staff (mostly the family) was always present, working hard and willing to do anything to make your stay better. They made you feel at home and very welcome.

The prices on Trip Advisor are wrong...they are anywhere from $55 - $75 per night (tax included; low season). Considering the amenities (pool, king bed, ocean view, location, cleanliness & pier) it's the best value on the island, especially since you're really not in your room much while there.

We also dove with Patojo & did the blue hole trip (Amigos Del Mar). While we enjoyed the Blue Hole trip we liked the local diving with much Patojo better.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcclain072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday in San Pedro with no reservations, wandering the beach like homeless people with luggage. That was our bad, not knowing that everything shuts down early (like, SUPER early) in the afternoon. Thankfully, the family that owns the Tides were out having a dinner around their back deck/pool area.

They were so gracious to take us in without reservations. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable. I felt safe at all times, and it was easy to find. Close to everything we needed. And the price during low season could NOT be beat.

The only problem, though, when we settled up at the end, is that their credit card machine was down. And they don't accept PayPal, which didn't surprise me. Wish I had known this beforehand, I had not prepared to pay for our stay in cash, but we had enough on hand between everyone to make it happen. Was VERY relieved their rate was low enough that this wasn't a serious problem, because they are listed as accepting credit cards.

They also own the dock across the "beach", which was great for sightseeing and meeting locals. We swam with needlefish and were scared out of the water by giant rays, later to find out these are local stingray "pets" that have been de-barbed and harmless.

Was greatful that they were able to take us in, our saviors!

Room Tip: Recommendations for nearby restaurants: you must have breakfast at Estel's, you must catch your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ac8924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.8 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#38 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Tide Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Address: 57 Boca Del Rio Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye SP-00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Tide Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the town San Pedro, on the island of Ambergris Caye, you will find our beachfront resort with unobstructed reef views. Enjoy snorkeling, diving, fishing, along with free wi-fi all walking distance to downtown.Ocean Tide Beach Resort is Different from Other Belize Vacation Resorts: * Ocean Tides is a property offering an outdoor pool and is located in the beautiful beaches of San Pedro. * We serve breakfast and lunch poolside from the beachside Bar / Lounge, The Lazy Pelican. * Free Wi-Fi access is available in this property. * These functional rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, coffee maker, and a small fridge. The bathrooms feature a bath and a shower. These rooms overlook the great barrier reef. * Other facilities offered include a tour desk and a laundry. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including snorkeling. * San Pedro Airport can be reached in a 5-minute golf cart drive. The property offers free parking and is located right on Boca del Rio Beach.* Every room has an ocean view: Whether you stay in our charming 2nd floor Beachfront suites or the 3rd floor Reefview suites, you'll treasure the views from your windows. * We're small enough to offer you the best: You'll get individual attention, and won't be over crowded. Our resort is modern and charming. We make people feel like long missed family. * We have our own dive shop, snorkel/fishing guide and massage therapist: We're give you all that a Belize vacation has to offer: mysterious Mayan ruins, world class fishing, spa treatments, boating, jungle exploring, snorkeling, some of the best scuba in the world and plain old beach bumming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Tide Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Beach Hotel San Pedro
Tides Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing