We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Great Family who opens their home and caters to every need. Just ask.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Pedrano Hotel

San Pedrano Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Pedrano Hotel
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Great Family who opens their home and caters to every need. Just ask.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I stayed at the San Pedrano with Florintino Gonzalez and family when no one knew where Belize was on the map! The streets were sand, and everyone knew everyone....including guests who flew to the island. (late 70's-early 80's ) It was a sun-sand-sea-fishing lovers paridise. I was a personal guide to Belize and Guatemala (traveling with only couples) but ended up living on the island for several years before sailing into Guatemala where I remained for 15 years....only to return to San Pedro while sailing. The accomodations are in agreement with the lifestyle one desires...and I didn't want to be pampered...I wanted to "experience". For elegant features, there are other islands in the Easter and Western Caribbean....even in San Pedro if one wants frills, service, and pampering ! The island is one big family. The hotel San Pedrano is your family. Any request would be acknowledged and performed. Prop your feet up, have a "cool one" and enjoy yourself. The nature around you is your "elegant " backdrop.... unexcelled anywhere in the same leisurely manner.. Many small family hotels are not accustomed to catering in "resort" style. Take this into consideration. If you are outgoing and help them know your needs, they will be friendly and helpful. They can be intimidated if you are expecting luxury accommodations or pampering..

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ContikiPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
7
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
268 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Actually used San Pedrano many times over the years that we would do student groups on San Pedro(until coming to the conclusion that San Pedro is not safe for student groups, or conducive for anything but student drinking - hey, the truth shouldn't hurt) They always were able to reserve every room for us with just 3 or so weeks notice. It was nice in that aspect of having the whole hotel to ourselves. It was never expensive, and of course that meant that sevice and amenities were almost non-existent. C'est la vie. You get what you pay for, and we didn't need much. Always had a fun time, and an unhindered stay.

I would recommend this for people on a budget, and who also want to be right in the center of San Pedro's yucky downtown.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrFeelAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel San Pedrano in December 2007. Although it is a fairly clean small hotel with a decent location in the heart of San Pedro, the hotel staff is almost nonexistent. When we arrived at 3-4pm the office was closed and locked. It is a sort of "mom and pop" place, run by a family who lives in the house below. So we essentially had to knock on their living room door to get them to check us in. Each day thereafter, the main office was NEVER open. We couldn't get help with where to go, how to make a phone call or anything. They also did not inform us we could purchase air conditioning for the room at only $10 US extra per night until we asked the cleaning lady the next day. At check-out, of course they were closed. We again had to bang on their house door to get any service.

It is cheap and clean, and a reasonable place to stay for the budget traveler. However do not expect any service and be prepared to pound on their house door to get your room key. And in Belize where everyone is so friendly, they stand out as quite annoyed by tourists.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff, low celing fans
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sassy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

I recently visited san pedro in ambergris caye and stayed at hotel san pedrano. I recommend this hotel for the traveler who doesn't want to spend too much on lodging. The hotel is clean with a decent size bathroom, although the shower water smelled like urine when you first turn it on. Keep in mind that many of the hotels in san pedro are in old buildings and not that spacious. If you want a hotel room with a lot of space and amenities, go with the resorts. I stayed at Lily's hotel as well which is located right next door, and found that it was smaller and costed a little more. I also saw a room at Martha's hotel and found it dark and small. Overall, I think hotel san pedrano is the best one. I paid $65 belize dollars for a triple room with A/C which fits well with my budget. It is located towards the end of the strip and steps away from the beach. don't worry too much about not being in the center of town because san pedro is very small. Everything is within walking distant. However, you can rent out golf carts to get around if you prefer.

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#41 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pedrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pedrano Hotel

Property: San Pedrano Hotel
Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your San Pedrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedrano Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing