We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cons Outweigh Pros - Not Worth Considering”
Review of Ruby's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby's Hotel
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were booked here for 4 nights and left after 1 night. We were in the room on the ground floor next to the patio.

SUMMARY: OVERPRICED for what you get. Does not support relaxing - fine if you are here to party until the wee hours of the night, but avoid at all costs if you are here on a diving trip or with family (or some other reason you value your sleep).

CONS:
1. LOUD. Close to bars - there was bass shaking our walls until 2am (Thursday night/Friday morning) and then drunk people yelling at 5am from the beach to the 2nd floor patio. Then a few older men were on the 1st floor patio at 5:30am to see the sunrise; they were speaking at a normal (if not quiet) voice, but it was as if they were right next to us (thin walls).
2. STINGY. There were 2 bath towels (poor quality) and they would not give us more towels on request for the beach.
3. LOCATION. Not suitable for relaxation - there were people outside trying to sell handmade goods until late in the evening, which was uncomfortable because they were about 30 feet from our door.
4. LIMITED OFFICE HOURS. If you need any help outside of 8am-6pm, you're on your own. By the way, the hours listed are 8am-6:30pm (which is still insufficient).

PROS:
1. Good service. We moved rooms twice - first to avoid what we expected to be a noisy night. Second, to move back to our original room because the other room didn't have wifi.
2. Free wifi - but poor quality. Fine for browsing the internet, but not sufficient for Skype.
3. View. Our room had a great view of the beach, which was maybe 100 feet away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here...stay north of San Pedro downtown for a quieter place. You'll spend a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 152 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is very noisy. They have a restaurant that opens at 330 am and lots of people also come home from the bar and make noise. I had a room on the ground floor and there are also chairs for people to sit and people came home all hours of the night and made noise. It's very simple also. No tv, or anything. It's just too noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at $40B per night. Single room with fan. Free wifi in room and out on deck and surrounds. Friendly helpful staff. Room 20 downstairs fine for a solo traveller but does pick up the breakfast noise from the street and anyone on the deck late at night, including the security guy...so maybe ear plugs would be handy but didn't really notice it after the first night. Bathroom large functional and clean. Very central to everything and a good solid clean safe option. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Rubys Hotel has a great location but it is quiet busy and is more like a backpakers than a hotel, whilst the staff do try to improve things I found the place to be very noisy, mostly because its a wooden building and is near the heart of town but also the security was poor at night in regard to monitoring other guests. I was required to pay on a daily basis to the point that security whom id never met before knocked on my door one night and demanded I paid up for that night. They room is very basic and wooden which is fine because all of this is reflected in the price $35pn however there was a big smarm of snot on one of my walls other than that it was clean and house keeping was good.
I would not stay there again but I would recommend it to the right person.

Room Tip: beach front, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scuba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you are back packing and on a budget this is a great location. It has a nice area to lay on the beach. Very close to the water taxi and night life. Simple rooms biggest down fall no air conditioning but you do get Wifi.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Aubreyrw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Backpacker suited with decent rooms. We stayed here for four nights the price initially was $40USD which dropped to $35USD per night without us asking.
You can hear a faint beat of music & happy tourists at night but with the fan on it drowns out the noise. I'm a light sleeper but it didn't keep me awake at all. It's far enough away from the main spots to not need ear plugs but just a short stroll up the beach.

Some of the best dive schools at the front door. I went with Ecological Divers a bit further up the beach but they are all same price.

It's fine for what you pay. Don't get jealous by all the other lovely hotels on the island. They are at least twice the price. Recommended by lonely planet I would stay here again.

Try get on the top floor for views & much needed breeze!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ruby's for 4 nights. The room was always clean when we came back at the end of the day, which was a nice surprise. The value was not bad; $60 US a night for a room with AC. The service, however, wasn't so good. In my opinion, when you have a hotel there should be someone around most of the time in case customers have problems or questions. This was not the case. There were 2 days that there was absolutely no one around, which wasn't very professional.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriePickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 54 in San Pedro
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,063 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 54 in San Pedro
114 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Hotel

Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $20 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rubys Hotel San Pedro
Ruby's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing