We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Central American hotel on the Caribbean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby's Hotel
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Central American hotel on the Caribbean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

I've been staying at Ruby's for a long time now. The older section of the hotel is rickety and cheap, but on the beach and walking distance to anywhere. For the price, you can't beat it. I usually stay in the beach front airconditioned rooms. They're more expensive at US$60, but a great deal for a room on the Caribbean.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Niose from Front Street
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danimal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    55
    34
    14
    14
See reviews for
7
57
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2007

Had the greatest vacation of my life in Belize in 2004.

Ruby's is the only way to see San Pedro. We had an ocean view room with a fan. The price is right. My girlfriend (now wife) and I just loved it. Most of the resorts in San Pedro are far from the town's center. Ruby's is right in the middle and it's exactly where you want to be to get the most out of the vacation. We loved Belize so much that we accidentally stayed an extra day. Ruby thought that was funny.

Don't expect to be pampered. The rooms are hot if you don't splurge for the AC and the plumbing is old. But you'll never forget this experience. A place like Ruby's is a gem, and it's what real traveling is all about.

Stayed March 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank dorko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

I have just returned from a two-week holiday in Belize, travelling alone. I spent my second week San Pedro staying at Rubys (first week in San Igancio) and cannot recommend the place highly enough. Like the other reviews say, its not the Four Seasons, but for the price its a great choice. I had a double room with ocean views, and its was comfortable, clean, had a good shower and in a great location; basically everything I needed. I also got to meet lots of other people travelling alone which you probably wouldn't get if you stayed at a higher-end resort. I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, comfort
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sologlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

The advantage of this hotel is that it was located only a block south of the Caye Caulker boat pier. It is definitely within the "get what you pay for" category but the room was clean and large enough. The bathroom had a shower with adequate hot water and space for accessories. On the down side the room was dimly lit at night and which made it difficult to read. Also the room was on the first floor outside the cafe..the drapes covering the window were virtually transparent leaving little privacy. I would recommend staying here if you are visiting San Pedro and on a budget. If you are looking for an upmarket location then stay away.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lower Quality
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

After reading the reviews decided to stay at Ruby's.
It is very practical and provides the basics. Very easy to e-mail hotel and make a reservation and also the staff is very friendly and helpful.
It is in a perfect location. About 300 feet from the airport, so you walk to the hotel from San Pedro Airport. Close to Aqua Dives and other dive shops and right in the center of town.
Right down the beach in The Mango Restaurant for great food and also right next to Sunbreeze hotel and their great restaurant Bluewater Grill & Bar.
I had a double room with a fan 3rd floor room with a ocean view. $40/night. I recommend the 2nd and 3rd floors facing the ocean, not the street side of the hotel. There is quite a bit of noise on the first floor from foot traffic and the main street. Ruby's has a little breakfast cafe with Pastries, Coffee and Johnnie Cake (like a bread bagel w/ eggs, bacon or other options).
Many people hang out of their hotel room doors on the balcony areas and mingle.

  • Liked — Cost
  • Disliked — Nothing due to reviews
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

We stayed in one of the newer, concrete, A/C capable rooms, with a private balcony facing the beach. To respond to some earlier reviews, I can see where rooms facing the street or being on the first floor would be a lot noisier, as the decks there are used by patrons of Ruby's cafe every morning. In other words, consider shelling out a few extra dollars for a better room if noise is a concern for you.

The hotel has a great location, at the south end of Barrier Reef Dr. in the heart of San Pedro town. Easy walks along the beach to all the dive shops and tour operators, or along the beach or town roads for lots of great restaurants. It was fun to wake up in the morning and sit and read on the balcony.

Ruby'[s has some beach chairs in the sand on the beach side, but no easy swimming (like much of San Pedro). Also, the beach is a pretty main walking thoroughfare, so don't expect to have a whole lot of privacy if you want to catch some rays.

Our service on check-in was extremely friendly, our service on check-out was pretty rude.

The room was clean, a more-than-adequate bed and bathroom with a huge shower with lots of hot water.

All in all, Ruby's is a good value for people who want a very nice "home base" for exploring all that Ambergris Caye has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chriskebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

We had a room on 3rd floor facing on a terrace with a spectacular view on the beach and the ocean (we keep making our friends jealous with photos we took there).
Location is next to the beach, right in the middle of the town - perfect for scubadiving and snorkeling (3-4 scuba rentals/boat trip organizers in the range of 3-4 blocks) and for evenings (out of town beaches are nicer but there is nothing else).
Beach right at the front of Ruby's is nice for tanning; for swimming it is better to walk a few blocks and get in front of Ramon resort.
Room was very clean, at a very good price (40 USD for a double)

  • Liked — View, location, comfort
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Giulietta81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#25 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#8 of 31 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambergris Beach House
Ambergris Beach House
#24 of 31 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Hotel

Property: Ruby's Hotel
Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rubys Hotel San Pedro
Ruby's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing