We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food Outstanding Atmosphere”
Review of Capricorn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capricorn Resort
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food Outstanding Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently visited Capricorn with three friends on an annual Scuba diving trip. We were all very impressed with the atmosphere and quality of food. The first thing you will notice is the big smile from Maggie when you are greeted to be seated. She has a wonderful laid back Belize-an spirit that makes you instantly feel both welcomed and comfortable. We ordered "off" menu slightly and were fully accomondated on our request. The wine list is only surpassed by the excellent fish quality cooked to perfection. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great meal with friends or a romantic ocean side dinner.

Room Tip: Don't forget to try the home made hot sauce!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    18
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
8
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch at the restaurant here. The setting was perfect, some outdoor seating, some indoor, both were very beautiful and very tropical.
The service was great, they were about to close for lunch, but they sat us and got us our food quickly but not too quickly.
The food was wonderful. We had a salad with lobster that was amazing, then the rice and beanns and stone crabs. All the food was fanastic, tasty and fresh. Would definitely not miss this place if going to San Pedro!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I have dined at the restaurant at least 4 times in the past few months. The setting is gorgeous - open air dining, right on the water. The food is always perfect - try their crab claws...so fresh, sweet and well priced! Every time we have had Maggie as our waitress - she always does a great job!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DooleyDog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Take a wonderful restaurant, add in only three (a little rustic) cabanas, a full-service spa, and the privacy/seclusion away from San Pedro - a great combination. Kit has put together a great combination of good food, cozy ambience, accompanied by sun and sea - hard to beat.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank png14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My kindergarten friends and I chose the Capricorn Resort to celebrate turning 65. We liked the idea of the Capricorn because we would have all 3 cabanas to ourselves - it would be very intimate.
First the best things about it:
Great people working there - especially Clive, Jose, and Deserae. The owner Kit was very helpful and responsive to all our questions. We also had a local tour guide working for the Capricorn named Adam that took us out on several snorkeling and fishing excursions. He was very funny and a great guide. There is a fabulous restaurant connected to this resort and we ate there often. People come from all up and down the beach to eat dinner there. The cabanas were what I would call shabby chic - comfortable beds, right on the beach, clean, and quiet even with the restaurant close by. The weather was very warm and there is always a good breeze that keeps you cool.
Now the cons:
You can't swim in the sea right off the beach - too much sea grass and the bottom is a sticky clay. But there is a resort just steps down from the beach called the Captain Morgan that has 3 lovely pools that you can use. You can also swim when going out to the reef by kayak or by boat to snorkel. The water was warm and comfortable. The bathrooms had a smell of sulphur from the toilet water - they depend upon rain water for much of their resources. The shower didn't have much pressure but the water did not smell and it made your skin and hair feel soft.
All in all we had a great relaxing time and it was pretty inexpensive.

Room Tip: The 3 cabanas have 3 different bed arrangements - one is a king, one is a queen, and one has twin be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshafransky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scobey, MT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

nice place, the staff were excellant, helpul, courteous, prompt, The food was very good. the facility in general was very good. We did have a problem with the sulfur stink from the toilet. It was explained to us that sea water was used to flush the toilets. We kept the toilet lid closed, burned a candle we got from Kit, and kept the bathroom door closed, and it was livable. The private snorkeling tour with adam was great. Our pickup and delivery to airport was on time and appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I just came back form Belize and Capricorn. I was ready to do a post for them when I just read the last write up and was shocked!! We stayed right next door to these miserable people. I saw the staff bending over backwards to satisfy these people to no success. These are the type of people that should just stay in there miserable home and never come out, and especially travel. I think there goal is to ruin everyone's day. My husband and I tried to have some conversation with this couple but after 2 minutes of talking we could'nt run fast enough. Capricorn is a wonderful resort. The rooms are not granite or marble. They are beach cottages with lots of charm. They are exactly what we thought they would be and better. The staff is amazing!! And the food is out of this world. I highly reccommend the spa with Vanessa. She is wonderful!! Also there private tour company with tours just for my husband and I were wonderful. We really don't like going on tours with a bunch of other people so it was great. I would definately stay at Capricorn again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siomara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
147 reviews
10.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
956 reviews
5.8 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Resort

Property: Capricorn Resort
Address: Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Capricorn Hotel San Pedro
Capricorn Resort San Pedro
Capricorn Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing