We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayan Princess Hotel
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2005

Not a bad little hotel. Price was reasonable. Room was clean. Air Conditioning worked. Restaurant and bar right next door, good for the convenience, but gets a little noisy on Friday night. San Pedro is very nice, but be prepared for the timeshare, weed, and souvenir salesmen.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tres_Juevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 182 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Glendale California
1
Reviewed October 13, 2005

My Boyfriend (who was visiting from the US) and I spent an overnight at this Awesome hotel. Everything was perfect....(he had alot to do with that..hint hint) The room was very clean and cozy ...and the service was great! The view from the balcony was spectacular especially at night... We had a grand time and definitely will be back to make hotter memories....

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2005

This is a small, low keyed, three story hotel, right on the beach in the heart of San Pedro. The location is amazing. All the rooms have balconies facing the water, which was heavenly. While I wish the AC were a bit more quiet, it was otherwise quite perfect. I agree with the previous review - Fido's is a stone's throw away & the food there was great. A little bit further down the beach is Estel's which also has great breakfasts. Also, the water taxi & the dive shops are steps away. This is not for you if you want glitz, but if you are okay with simplicity & laid back charm, this is a great choice.

12  Thank Virginiawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
111
Reviewed July 16, 2005

This is the perfect choice for a place to stay in San Pedro. You could spend twice as much at a resort, and would get a smaller room without a kitchenette, without an ocean view, without a pullout couch, and would be much farther out of town. This hotel has the best location of ANY on the island: to one side is Lily's Restaurant (the best breakfast on the island-cinnamon french toast and huge fresh pinapple juice for $6.75 US), to another side is Fido's (rated best bar in the Carribean and drafts are $2.50 US with great food), and at the pier right there is the island ferry AND the best dive shop on the island. An easy stroll takes you to any shop or restaurant in town. Why stay at a resort when you can have your own beachfront condo with a great view, great lcoation, great cable TV, and an easy stroll to a different great local restaurant for every meal? I won't stay anywhere else in San Pedro!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2005

Just returned from my third visit to San Pedro. On the two previous visits, I stayed at Ramon's. While Ramon's is nice, I really prefered the Mayan Princess. All suites are oceanfront with great balconies to watch the water and island life. While the rooms may not be the most elegant, (if you need a fancy, upscale resort, pick a different island!) they are roomy and very comfortable. I liked having the abilitiy to make coffee in the morning or have a drink on the balcony in the afternoon. Ramon's does not have any kitchen facilities so everything (including coffee) must be purchased from the restaurant. The Mayan Princess has a good location in town within walking distance to everything and I would stay there again. The staff is friendly and helped with any questions. Aqua Divers is a great dive operation and the Blue Water Grill is the best food on the island.

22  Thank hutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2004

The Mayan Princess is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are very, very clean and the decor is very bright and islandee. The people are so friendly and accomodating. The hotel location is great. It is right in the center of town and you can walk everywhere. There are plenty of places to eat right on the beach. I have been back to this hotel twice and I will go again. For divers it is wonderful because the dive shop (Amigos del Mar (best)) is right outside the front door. This hotel is well worth the money. This hotel is alot better than most of those expensive hotels along the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank michele c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viramo Gilberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 54 in San Pedro
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Hotel

Address: Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $119 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayan Princess Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayan Princess Hotel is located on the finest beach in San Pedro, Belize - as a result all rooms afford panoramic ocean views from their very own private balcony. No other hotel on Ambergris Caye offers quite the same atmosphere or friendly service. Rooms are furnished with a wide range of practical amenities, and all include a well equipped kitchenette. We offer many complimentary hotel services as well, including free airport pick up, complimentary WiFi, and a private dock use for all guests. We are also less than 100ft away from both of Ambergris Caye's water taxi services. We take pride in the value that we offer to guests, and in addition to great rates, all children under 12 stay for free. Numerous activities and tours such as scuba diving, snorkeling, cultural and jungle tours can also be arranged through Mayan Princess Hotel. Our staff are here to help make your Belize vacation as relaxing (or as exciting) as you desire. If diving is part of your vacation plans, we are conveniently located steps away from Amigos Del Mar dive center, located on the Dock right across from the Hotel. Enjoy the best of both worlds - stay with Mayan Princess Hotel, dive with Amigos Del Mar! The many dive sites dotted around Ambergris Caye are renowned for offering some of the best diving in the Caribbean. The incredible Blue Hole is also a popular option with our diving guests. The nearby Belize Barrier Reef harbors over 500 species of exotic fish and a whole host of other marine wildlife, including some of the world's most impressive corals. We look forward to welcoming you to Mayan Princess Hotel and Ambergris Caye! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess San Pedro
Hotel Mayan Princess
Mayan Princess Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing