We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Resort-Off the Beaten Path-Close Proximity to Pier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Resort-Off the Beaten Path-Close Proximity to Pier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our tenth anniversary with another couple at Banana Beach Resort. Breakfast was included in the price and was nice since they gave you an option between "American-Style" and "Belizian-Style" entrees. We mostly picked Belizian. Coffee is very strong in Belize and the butter was always frozen, but fit perfectly beneath the coffee cup and was thawed by the time the meal arrived!

Our room was part of a three bedroom suite where the long shotgun-style hallway had two rooms off of it as well as the main living area/kitchen. Our suite was off of the kitchen within the main room. We had an ocean view from the balcony off the kitchen area. A full size fridge plus oven/stove and dishes provided us with everything we needed to cook many of our dinner meals. We typically ate on our dive boat for lunch and took turns cooking dinner. We had spaghetti, lobster and fresh fish, salad, fruit and even made some Belizian style Pico de Gallo (not a single jalapano was to be found on the island...we looked!). So we made it with habanero, or scotch bonnet as they called it. Fresh fruit and veggies can be purchased from many road side stands and is delicious! There are also numerous grocery stores in the downtown area that have tons of fresh fruit/veggies and some unique items such as mole` and fresh ground cocco.

Speaking of downtown, we found a marvolous ice cream shop (Manellies on the road closest to the water, after the open square) and had our pick of 20 or so different flavors every day. There is also a wonderful Jamacian Jerk restaurant on the beach in this same area. We also ate at an upscale restaurant (The Tree House?) on our first night and out at the Plantation(?) House on our last. We also ate at the place where you can feed the tarpon and that was cool.

A golf cart is a must! Don't even think about not renting one as you will need it and use it! We spent too much time at the Road Kill Bar (owned by a lovely Canuck and her Scottish husband) and enjoyed karaoke there very much. A trip to the north end of the island will allow you to take some amazing photos and ends at the glorious Palapas Bar.

We dove with Amigos del Mar and they were fab. We saw tons of large groupers, barracudas, nurse sharks, sea turtles and schools of fish. We had two dives scratched due to weather/seas but felt the time we did spend in the water was quality! Go to the conch grave yard for a snorkle and see the huge logger head turtles and sting rays. The locals have brought conchs and lobster to this spot for years and these creatures are local residents. We did this during an off-gas period between dives.

The water around the island is full of sea grass so don't expect clean beaches like in the DR or Jamacia. This environment provides for all the wonderful sights underwater but does not bode well for ocean shore swimming. BB Resort has an on-site massage and mani/pedi option. I got a sugar scrub, deep tissue massage and pedicure and all were wonderful. The pools (2) onsite are not amazing, but served their purpose of cooling us off. There is an outdoor shower near the beach that allows you to rinse off the sand from diving or beach time. Tons of plants surround the property and there were always huge iguanas sunning themselves on top of the buildings. Cart rental is available on site and was hit or miss on the power/speed of the different carts we used. Tours were also available. Security was good and the night guard (Rasta man, can't remember his name) was very friendly and accessable.

All in all it was a great trip! I highly recommend Banana Beach as a lower-cost option and found the off-the-beaten path aspect a plus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXscubabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    144
    83
    26
    18
See reviews for
70
162
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Sask.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

We had the pleasure of returning to Banana Beach this year. I can't say enough! Rooms are clean and very comfortable. The management and staff at the hotel are absolutely wonderful. They go above and beyond to ensure that guests have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GizzmoRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We (a group of 11 from Washington, DC, Virginia, and California) spent a terrific time at the Banana Beach Resort from December 30, 2010 to January 6, 2011.
Banana Beach is conveniently located at about a 15 minutes walk south of San Pedro Town. The owners, Crystal and Jimmy, are wonderful and easy going people who manage the resort with lots of enthusiasm. I had been in contact with Crystal for several months per email organizing the trip and she was the most helpful, patient, and accommodating person to deal with.
All staff at the hotel were very professional and dedicated to make our stay an unforgettable experience...and it was!! The rooms are big and clean and hotel and travel agency staff provided outstanding services. Our breakfasts and dinners at El Divino restaurant were delicious…and the waiters were welcoming us with big smiles already early in the morning.
I look forward going back soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susmansim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Jimmy and Crystal and the entire staff at Banana Beach were friendly and accomodating. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well-maintained. Location is quiet but town centre easily accessible by beach walk or roadway or taxi. Beach is clean and beach chairs plentiful and comfortable. Il Divino restaurant has great food and an excellent daily breakfast. On-site travel shop and dive shop available for all amenities in area. Not a high end facility but great value for price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronccalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

A group of 11 of us, mostly divers, descended on this hotel a week ago, with dive/breakfast/lodging packages. The dive shop, right in the hotel, is staffed by friendly and efficient professionals, and the hotel is run just as well. The rooms are simple but clean (exception was a little mildew in showers, but I don't know how you avoid that in a tropical climate), and the few problems we had were fixed immediately. A broken hair dryer, for example, was completely replaced, after hours, 5 minutes after we noted the problem. There are two pools with ample amounts of both shade and sun. The dive boat operation is downright luxurious. After the first day, they assemble, disassemble, and clean your gear each day. Our divemaster, Ernest, was an expert on all things Belize, and had his 737th dive into the Blue Hole with our group.
Location-wise, the hotel is about a 20 minute walk to town, but we got used to the quickly, and taxis are plentiful and cheap. We also rented golf carts to explore, and had a grand time with those.
There are more decadent places on Ambergris to stay, but this was affordable, pretty, comfortable, relaxing - everything we wanted in a vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ooonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

This hotel was fine for our family, 2 adults, a 10-year-old and a 15-year-old. It is not a "resort" really, but it does have an (unheated) pool, a travel desk, and is beachfront.

Our room was one of the basic ones, near the pool but not facing the water. It was fine for us, but then again we are not too demanding. The room had a kitchen which we did not use and a pull-out bed in the living room area.

PROS:
1) Not actually in the city of San Pedro, so it's quiet. BTW, San Pedro feels safe and we never felt in any danger.
2) Not far from town. but a $US 5 taxi ride, or 25 minute beachfront walk, away. This is a "PRO" because some hotels are very far away or on the "north/far" side of the island. IMO, this is the one thing you really need to check before booking a place here: where is it located?
3) Nice beach to sit by.
4) Daily happy hour at the bar

CONS:
1) Not a lot of choices to eat at night. The hotel restaurant is ok but it and the neighboring hotels are not cheap. I recommend going into town for better variety and prices.
2) Sofa bed in the front room was aka "the torture bed". 'nuff said.
3) Tours that are booked through the onsite agency were higher than in town. If you like shopping around, you can probably save about 25% fairly easily.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We just returned from a week long stay at Banana Beach Resort. After reading alot of the reviews we were sure we picked a winner. Upon arrival we were somewhat disappointed. The room we booked had a terrible musty smell and there was no way we would last a week as the odor was affecting some of our allergies. We did get moved to another room but lost our room with an oven. The rooms are a little outdated but relatively clean. The kitchens are very basically stocked with utensils and dinner ware, no can opener, no bowls to make a salad in, 2 mugs for 3 people not much more than some dishes, a few pots and pans and cutlery. With booking the room with the kitchen facilities we had planned to cook alot of our meals and it was very difficult with what was there. We did make the best with what we had. The beach and pool area was nice although the pool water was a little on the cold side. The rooms were cleaned daily, the food at the restaurant was very good and overall we enjoyed our stay. I have travelled alot and don't consider myself a " travel snob". I enjoyed my stay but would probably not return. I did check out the Mata Rocks resort next door and would probably book there next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyq13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing