We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Pedro
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
128
163
99
32
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
128
163
99
32
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey business massage hut golf cart beach area ambergris caye the staff was friendly and helpful in town central america walk along the beach sea grass explore the island scuba diving other resorts full kitchen pools divino kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed dec 28-Jan 3. Arrived after hours and the manager took care of us. He was very professional and explained the ins and outs of the resort and room. Ate at the restaurant downstairs the first night El Devinos (spelling wrong). Next morning went to the front desk for paperwork. The lady there is so friendly and kind. She always has a smile on her face. The major pros about this hotel is the staff are incredibly friendly and polite. The location is close to town, you can walk the beach to some restaurants (Pepperonis, crazy cunucks, pier 366). The resort is quiet and clean. The negatives are that it is old and run down. We stayed on the third floor and rarely had hot water for showers. A couple of nights the water was freezing which was tough for our young boys. The toilet stopped worked a few times. Water would not fill the tank back up. Staff looked at it but could not figure out the problem. TV, not a huge deal but nice to watch before bed was also hit and mess. Sometimes it worked and other times not. Pools were clean, but water was freezing. Boys didn’t mind it and loved swimming. Too cold for my wife and I. Nice to lay around and relax.
There is a beach, but no water access. To the left of the resort is a really nice beach and water access. You can go there with no problem. Like stated earlier, staff were great but I think we will look at other options when we return.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank scott16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Plenty of pillows, beds were comfy like a cloud, front desk ladies are such a pleasure and professional! Very clean, hot water, and cold AC. Refrigerator, microwave and dishes make it feel like home away from home. Was a pleasure to stay with y’all!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank vanwinkle1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort is run down. That being said, it is clean. Everything needs updating. Wifi is weak. However, you get a good deal for San Pedro which is becoming more and more expensive. Room has kitchen. Friendly staff. Cold A/C.
The issue with the Sargasso has been solved with an offshore barrier, so the odors associated are gone.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelQ6492QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019

I enjoyed my stay here! Super friendly reception staff, free beer on arrival and friendly breakfast staff...which had a good choice and unlimited coffee! The resort is dated, but I think it adds to its charm. Easy to walk along the beach into town and close to some snorkel trips which drop you back off at the resorts pier! The room was OK, but considering the price and how friendly the staff were absolutely no complaints from me.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Stephen_Murray85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019 via mobile

I've been staying at Banana Beach every summer for 15 years. The grounds were lush with birds singing everywhere, the rooms & suites were beautiful and you
couldn't find a nicer or harder working staff anywhere. The
cooks, the servers,the bartenders,housekeeping and
ground keepers always had a smile and pleasant conversation. The
girls in the office were
exceptionally welcoming and
helpful booking anything you would like or need from a tour, golf cart, a cab - you name and they made it happen. I looked
forward to my vacation there
every summer. The employees
became good friends over the
years. I can not praise the staff
enough.
However, the last few years have been more and more disappointing. It breaks my heart to see this
once beautiful property turn into such a dump.
I NEED TO STRESS THAT IT IS NOT
DUE TO THE STAFF. NOT A BIT. IT
IS AT THE FAULT OF THE
MANAGER BECAUSE OF HIS CHOICES AS TO HOW HE THINKS THE PHYSICAL PROPERTY SHOULD BE RUN AND LOOK.
I was there for two weeks. Upon arrival both pools were green. Really green, like green jello and they stayed like that for a
week before they cleared up. Both pool areas have really mismatched, old furniture with badly stained cushions.
The pools are now open to the
public, leaving no place for the paying guests to sit or swim. Its horrific on weekends. Large families come and buy some chips
& salsa and stay for the day. On
my last visit they moved tables
and chairs infront of my door and
I couldn't get out of my room.
It was so loud around the pool
area they couldnt hear me banging
on the door trying to go out.The
manager does not monitor the
area when all these people are there. The condition of the rooms
get worse every year. The walls
were filthy with black scuff marks and some holes were
patched but re-painted with a paint that doesnt match. Some holes were not even patched.The
rattan furniture is literally
falling apart. The couch is so
old you can hardly get up from
it. The bath and kitchen towels
are frayed with holes in them.
The last 3 years in a row there was a problem with the AC not
working. It was July and very
hot. The year before I had to
pack up everything and move to another room 2 nights before I left because they couldn't fix
the AC as hard as they tried.
Most of the beautiful, lush plantings in the grounds have been torn down. Most of potted plants removed. There were no
lounge chairs on the beach. I carried one down for myself only
to find their beach was sinking and caving becausethey are building a new inn next door and dredging. There is no Massage Hut anymore. They made a very small
makeshift bar, that has never
officially opened. It looks really classy. The photos they display on facebook or websites are very old. They are photos of
how it USED to look. Tiles under the archway to the beach are broken. The glass blocks on the
outdoor shower are shattered.
It breaks my heart to see this once beautifully designed and maintained resort turn into such
a dump at the hands of the
manager. I had brought a friend
with me this past trip that has
heard me talk about Ambergris
Caye and Banana Beach for years.
I was so embarrassed for him to
see what terrible condition it
was in. I wait all year to go
there and its not a cheap flight
to get there. It was like my
second home. It started going
downhill about 5 years ago but hoped it was temporary and would be brought back to its original glory. I kept going back because I always felt safe there and looked forward to seeing the
staff but I do not think I can
anymore. It really breaks my heart. It's way too expensive for what it has become.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Departure95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews